We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service. Great Food, Very Nice Atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gracias Madre

Gracias Madre
Reserve with OpenTable
Gracias Madre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: West Hollywood
Ship Bottom, New Jersey
Level Contributor
595 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Great Service. Great Food, Very Nice Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great, authentic, delicious Mexican food with a vegetarian flair. The dishes were absolutely delicious, the atmosphere excellent. The service top shelf. Everyone loved their food. The roasted vegetable dish with peanut sauce was a dish to savor.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkO95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    110
    30
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great vegan Mexican restaurant even if you're not a vegan!bu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The restaurant was beautiful, fun, and the food was delicious! We enjoyed the margaritas during our meal and they gave us a free appetizer because we waited a ling time to get in! It is a very popular place even during a week night which is when we went. The only draw back is that we waited an hour and a half to be seated! It was worth the wait but I would definitely recommend reservations which we didn't have!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank puffy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh la la”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have always been a fan of the sister restaurant Cafe Gratitude and the healthfulness of the food, which is very important to me. Gracias Madre's interior and atmosphere is delightful and mostly I loved their food. A few dishes lacked a bit of flavor but that would never stop me from going there, over and over. The bar is wonderful and their drinks amazingly delicious. The staff is very friendly and cares about you. Two enthusiastic thumbs UP.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank beagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
341 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We went her just for drinks as we read in Zagat's that they had the best margaritas in L.A.

The setting is spectacular with a vast open dining area in the bag and cool and relaxed vibe in the main dining room. Place was very busy and the margaritas were small but good.

We didn't eat here, but the guacamole looked delicious.

This is a vegan Mexican restaurant so make sure this is what you are looking for before you go!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfc9258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Patio and Delicious Mexican Vegan Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had lunch today with three other friends today. The location is Melrose and it's a stone throw away from Cecconi's. The place is beautiful - spacious, white walls, dark woods, wood tables with nothing garish in sight. The best place is the huge patio with a lot of umbrellas for shading. We ordered mostly small plates to share (though the tortas are a good size). I'm not a vegan by any means but the food was delicious and filling. Though we were told the bread (for the tortas) and most of the dessert was non-vegan. We had the tortilla/guac/chorizo to start with a bunch of sodas (lemonade, ginger ale, celery which sounded unusual but was really tasty). We shared spinach salad, prickly cactus salad, potato quesdilla, a taco and two tortas. My Mexican friend did not like the coconut in one of the tortas but being Asian and loving coconut, I thought it was tasty. Overall, the food was delicious and I did not miss the meat. For dessert, we had a brownie (topped with ice cream and toasted coconut flakes) - which was vegan - and a peach cobbler topped with ice cream. Peach cobbler seems to be an unusual item on a Mexican menu but it was great. Total came out to USD $ 125 (not including tips). I would definitely come back.

Goods: beautiful decor, great outdoor space, friendly and efficient staff, tasty drinks and food
Bads: not much really; if I have to nit pick, I would say the prickly cactus salad seemed to be drowning a the dressing a little too much

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gracias Madre also viewed

 
West Hollywood, CA
 

Been to Gracias Madre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing