We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“could be better”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed in a 16 share dorm room. The bed was very uncomfortable. On my second night I couldn’t sleep, so I went to the basement in the hope of getting some rest. When I got there, the air was filled with marijuana smoke which was very annoying.

Another annoyance was the small number of bathrooms. Each morning there was always a line, and everyone was very annoyed with this.

The hostel is located near Santa Monica Blvd, making it convenient for exploring West Hollywood. The hostel has free wi-fi, and the staff were friendly and welcoming during my stay.

Unfortunately I wouldn't stay here again though.

Room Tip: Choose a smaller room, not the 16 share dorm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greggysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    133
    49
    23
    28
See reviews for
10
71
101
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paradera, null, Aruba
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

+enough space in the room
+sharing with 6 people in Total but got our own restroom and kitchen
+Nice people working here
- Wifi is most of the time not working well
- not a really good location.
- the bed is shaking with every little move you make.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daphne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

this was the first hostel my friend and i stayed in when we embarked on our around the world trip. the location was fantastic, right next to Melrose Av and walking distance from Hollywood Walk of Fame (lovely walk). we paid for a twin room which was equipped with air con, a balcony with a table and 2 chairs, a tv and a fridge which came in very handy. there is a whole foods supermarket just down the road. service was excellent,there were new activities to do every day which included a free beer and taco night, as well as getting you free entry to all the exclusive clubs of LA. you can sign up for activities such as universal and disney parks, beverly hills and LA celebrity home tour which includes Santa Monica pier, Bel Air & other famous sites. the hostel was clean, safe, free tea and coffee all day, free breakfast, kitchen and vending machine. We had an excellent time and would definitely stay again. Very friendly and i would highly recommend this whether travelling alone or in a group.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megs_bowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place was recommended to me by my travel agent and I am so happy I took his advice!
I stayed 3 nights in late May/early June.
The hostel is in a good location and is within walking distance to bus services, grocery stores, The Grove, Beverly Centre and various eateries and small stores. I stayed in a private room which was a great size and had my own contained bathroom and storage space.
The room was nothing fancy but was definitely clean, had a tv, microwave, fridge towels and hangers/space for storing clothing.
Downstairs the staff are friendly, helpful and keen to get everyone involved in the nightly activities which include comedy nights, barbecues and various nightlife tours.
I'd absolutely recommend this place to those travelling on a budget and anyone who's young and out to have a bit of fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights at the Banana Bungalow while travelling and were quite happy. The staff and other travellers were all friendly and the location is convenient for sightseeing. The free parking is limited but useful and while the breakfast is undeniably basic it was very welcome!

The (dorm) rooms are by no means palace-like but the ensuite bathroom was handy and was cleaned daily. Bedding and towels are provided and there are lockers available in the rooms. It was really noisy throughout our stay as our room looked out onto the always busy bar but this is expected in any hostel and was part of the friendly atmosphere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JSW390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If I had known when I was making the booking that this is the same place that used to be known as Orbit Hotel, I would not have made the booking. This stay was just as bad as the first one. The staff on check-in were very rude and then later in the evening when I came back the two staff on ignored me at the front door (which they have to unlock!) for at least 5 minutes. The only nice one I spoke to was Caitlin prior to making a booking via telephone. The rooms are very small. The bathrooms are incredibly basic. There is no sound proofing between the rooms. I ended up sleeping with a movie playing to block out the noise of the rooms either side (a couple having fun on one side & some guys speaking incredibly loud on the other). The location is a fair walk from Hollywood Blvd - however it is a 15-20 minute walk to the Farmer's Market. There is no convenience store close by but some $$ restaurants a couple of blocks away.

Based on the staff's attitudes, the location & the $$ - I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghost_of_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in May and we thoroughly enjoyed it! The room and bathroom were clean and pleasant! The staff were very helpful too and the nights out they organise are brilliant-You get so much for your money! A really nice hostel!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmcharJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#98 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Palihotel
Palihotel
#112 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Property: Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Address: 603 N Fairfax Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90036-1714
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow West Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood is one of the most popular hostels in the country. We are located in a central location right in the hottest spot of the "Melrose Strip." The Melrose area is a very special part of Los Angeles. It is located on the West side of Hollywood and borders Beverly Hills, you can walk to many of the great experiences that Hollywood has to offer plus you will be centrally located to access all the sights and sounds of LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Banana Bungalow West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing