We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a huge fan” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a huge fan”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've stayed at many hostels all around the world, and I can say that this was one of the worst hostel experiences for me (and my friend).

When you stay at a hostel, lets face it, you don't pay for nice beach views and personalised name tages...you pay for somewhere to sleep with a clean bathroom. I surely didn't get this this time around!

When we arrived, the building and our room had an unwelcoming smell. Not sure if we we're just the unluckiest people who got the worst room?! But after our long flight and touring for half the day, I couldn't wait to have a shower. My friend had a shower first (lucky duck) which clogged up (as the shower was in the bath) and wouldn't filter down which meant I couldn't have a shower and refused to for the duration of our stay (ewwww). After crossing our fingers in the hope that the water would drain, we we're left with a bath filled with 'floaty bits' which I didn't even want to know what they were.

There was a sign in the bathroom that said if the toilet clogs up, to not flush and just use the plunger that was provided (not sure if it has ever been cleaned). It made me question our bed and the sheets! Everyone looks for different things when booking accommodation and I'm not at all the pretentious sort. We just came off a camping trip and as I quoted to my friend "I preferred sleeping in a wet tent on a log than here"

On the flip side, the location was quite reasonable and the staff weren't too bad, but I wouldn't stay here again! We stayed for two nights in total. Our Wifi didn't work in the bedroom, but in the common area it did - not a huge deal on the wifi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Less14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    133
    49
    23
    27
See reviews for
10
71
100
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Cute hostel, good location. In LA it's always better if you have a car! Only complaint is that the wifi didn't work in the room!!! :( you had to go down to the common area to use it. They had three computers that you could use which was nice and a little garden. They also had a couple of free BBQ nights which is great for who is travelling on a budget

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in a private room. Hostel is very clean and staff friendly.breakfast is basic (porridge and toast) but considering it's included in accommodation price we were happy with it. The hostel is nice and secure and we found the location fantastic. It is easy to explore west hollywood by foot from here or catch the bus. There is a whole foods grocery store nearby as well as the 24hr Canters diner. Would recommend if looking for budget accommodation near hollywood.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed in a 16 share dorm room. The bed was very uncomfortable. On my second night I couldn’t sleep, so I went to the basement in the hope of getting some rest. When I got there, the air was filled with marijuana smoke which was very annoying.

Another annoyance was the small number of bathrooms. Each morning there was always a line, and everyone was very annoyed with this.

The hostel is located near Santa Monica Blvd, making it convenient for exploring West Hollywood. The hostel has free wi-fi, and the staff were friendly and welcoming during my stay.

Unfortunately I wouldn't stay here again though.

Room Tip: Choose a smaller room, not the 16 share dorm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greggysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradera, null, Aruba
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

+enough space in the room
+sharing with 6 people in Total but got our own restroom and kitchen
+Nice people working here
- Wifi is most of the time not working well
- not a really good location.
- the bed is shaking with every little move you make.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daphne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

this was the first hostel my friend and i stayed in when we embarked on our around the world trip. the location was fantastic, right next to Melrose Av and walking distance from Hollywood Walk of Fame (lovely walk). we paid for a twin room which was equipped with air con, a balcony with a table and 2 chairs, a tv and a fridge which came in very handy. there is a whole foods supermarket just down the road. service was excellent,there were new activities to do every day which included a free beer and taco night, as well as getting you free entry to all the exclusive clubs of LA. you can sign up for activities such as universal and disney parks, beverly hills and LA celebrity home tour which includes Santa Monica pier, Bel Air & other famous sites. the hostel was clean, safe, free tea and coffee all day, free breakfast, kitchen and vending machine. We had an excellent time and would definitely stay again. Very friendly and i would highly recommend this whether travelling alone or in a group.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megs_bowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place was recommended to me by my travel agent and I am so happy I took his advice!
I stayed 3 nights in late May/early June.
The hostel is in a good location and is within walking distance to bus services, grocery stores, The Grove, Beverly Centre and various eateries and small stores. I stayed in a private room which was a great size and had my own contained bathroom and storage space.
The room was nothing fancy but was definitely clean, had a tv, microwave, fridge towels and hangers/space for storing clothing.
Downstairs the staff are friendly, helpful and keen to get everyone involved in the nightly activities which include comedy nights, barbecues and various nightlife tours.
I'd absolutely recommend this place to those travelling on a budget and anyone who's young and out to have a bit of fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#98 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Central L.A
Palihotel
Palihotel
#106 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Property: Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Address: 603 N Fairfax Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90036-1714
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow West Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood is one of the most popular hostels in the country. We are located in a central location right in the hottest spot of the "Melrose Strip." The Melrose area is a very special part of Los Angeles. It is located on the West side of Hollywood and borders Beverly Hills, you can walk to many of the great experiences that Hollywood has to offer plus you will be centrally located to access all the sights and sounds of LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bungalow West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing