We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location in LA!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“The best location in LA!”
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I stayed at the Banana Bungalow for a week in May '09 with my partner. It was my third time staying there and I will recommend it to everyone! The room we stayed in was really big and had it's own balcony, an abundance of towels were supplied as well as toiletries. You won't find anywhere else in LA with better value for money.
The tours are the best part! They have different tours running each day leaving right from the hotel - the Hollywood tour was fantastic, you get to see absolutely everything. We wanted to go to disneyland on a specific day when the disneyland tour wasn't on, but the tour director, Boogie, called up and arranged for us to be picked up on our preferred day!
There was free breakfast provided, party nights with free beer and wine as well as night's out for everyone staying at the hostel.
I highly recommend staying at the Banana Bungalows if you love to have fun!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    134
    49
    23
    28
See reviews for
10
71
102
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire, england
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayed at the banana bunaglow hollywood on recommendation of a friend who had been there the year previously. On first seeing it we were not all that keen, getting used to a 12 bed mixed dorm and all... but we couldnt have been more wrong, we had so much fun, made loads of friends and its really cheap, great accomodation.
One of the beds did break on one guy we were sharing with so its now standing with the help of a wooden block and a brick!! but that just added to the comedy value!
Beds very comfortable, The staff were amazing, great to have fun with and brilliant to get local info off, Boogie got us into some fab clubs including Les Deux and Area, (and for that im forever grateful!)
Sometimes noisy but what do you expect in a youth hostel?!
Rooms cleaned daily and you can use the launderette for free ;)
internet access is free (for 10 mins if you use the shared computer, there is only one so be prepared to line up)
breakfast is free, and free tea and coffee all day (great for hangovers!) also there are vending machines for when you cant be bothered going to the shops (10 mins away)
shopping centres, theme parks & beaches very close by.
The party room is great fun especially as the clubs in LA close at around 2pm .....BOO! so carry the party on back there...
Would definitely recommend to anyone over 18 under 30. xx

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotteb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Convenient Location, but nearly everyone got bitten by Bed Bugs! Some girls were even advised to go to the hospital to get them checked out! Really noisy, rooms not that clean but bathrooms were. Toilets got blocked often.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SparklingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2009

I had a great time at this place! Not only is the prices reasonable for travelers on a budget, but they offer so much extra such as internet, breakfast, shuttles and dinners for free. Their location is central and close to everything. The staff was friendly and helpful. The building is older but they do a good job of cleaning every single day. Our rooms were fine especially for the price. They have a party room in the basement which could be better. But hey,we had fun anyway. I recomend this place for anyone who is on a budget and looking for a fun, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KThomasUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wollongong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

This hostel is not clean. I stayed for a week and my room wasnt cleaned once. The shower blocks and the place is riddled with bed bugs. If u have stayed here make sure you clean all travel items absolutly everything. I have welts from the bed bug bites. And the internet is crap.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Stayed here last year with a friend. Initially they had someone still inb our room who had not checked out. Had to spend the first night in a different room when we were very jet lagged. Moved into our proper room the next day. It wasnt very clean and the patio door opened onto the social area which is great for socialising but not so great when at night it doesn't lock and I woke up one night to see someone i didnt know in our room. Turned out it was a room mates friend but thats how easy it was to get in. In hind sight we should have asked to move rooms to somewhere which locked. While we were there some people had important documents stolen but there are lockers so use them. The kitchen was large but nothing worked so was pointless. The social aspets there were great and made lots of friends. Close to The Grove in LA but tends not to be in backpackers budget anyway.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stecky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

This hostel was ok... except for the bed bugs! My husband was covered in bites, even on his face!! The management were very quick to give us a refund when we mentioned the bed bugs.

The breakfast was ok though.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Bed bugs
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsbury_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,663 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#98 of 351 in Los Angeles
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Palihotel
Palihotel
#111 of 351 in Los Angeles
282 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
366 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Property: Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Address: 603 N Fairfax Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90036-1714
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow West Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood is one of the most popular hostels in the country. We are located in a central location right in the hottest spot of the "Melrose Strip." The Melrose area is a very special part of Los Angeles. It is located on the West side of Hollywood and borders Beverly Hills, you can walk to many of the great experiences that Hollywood has to offer plus you will be centrally located to access all the sights and sounds of LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Banana Bungalow West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing