We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel, but may have bed bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Pros: Location. Walking distance to the Grove, short bus ride to Hollywood. Interesting neighbourhood to wander through (Fairfax, along Melrose). Very private room and bathroom is nice in a hostel. Free breakfast. Lots of hostel activites going on if you're interested.
Cons: After reading other reviews, I realize we probably had bed bugs as well, since I woke up with itchy bites on me. Also we had a very drunk teenager knock on our door at 3 am asking if we had hot girls in our room. I guess that's a peril of staying at a hostel when you're in your late 20s.
Stay here if you're on a budget and are tired of being totally isolated from other travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mg1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2010

Myself and boyfriend stayed here whilst traveling around the states in August. The Pros of this hostel is that it is nicely laid out, lots of things to do, able to book excursions through the hostel, cheap food cooked on site and a large kitchen area. The cons of the hostel is that the room that we stayed in which was a private room wasn't very clean and had Bed Bugs, the staff at the front desk didn't have a clue what was going on 90% of the time, we were never able to do our laundry even at 2am due to the hostel staff using all the machines. This is a good place to meet people and get to know Holllywood.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goomjella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I stayed in a private room with a friend in March 2010. Arrived from OS flight early and were not able to check in but staff stored luggage and offered that we hang in the lounge. Once checked in I was happy with the room size, balcony and private bath but the room and bedding was shabby and rundown - definitely not as advertised on the website! One thing I can say - it was CLEAN....if you don't like inhaling hospital grade disinfectant all day then you may have an issue!! TV didn't work but - who needs it - particularly with this location. Walk or bus anywhere or jump on one of the tours with the fab Michael. Plenty of bar activities at night too. Being thirty I reckon we were the oldest there but still had a great time. The courtyard and kitchen is a great addition. Was about to book again but seeing bed bug reports (Sept 2010) not too keen. No issue when we were there however.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

My sister and I had a private room. It was a good size, the bed was comfy, there was a big fridge and the tv had alot of channels. Down points about the room is that it was on the ground floor and the windows were extremely thin so there was alot of traffic noise aswell as pedestrian noise when it came time to going to sleep.
The rest of our group stayed in a dorm. Initially they were in a room around the courtyard but they asked to be moved because people used to go in through the patio doors into connecting rooms via their room at all hours. The other members of the group complained about the water in the shower being cold however we didn't have this problem in the private room.
From the second day of staying there I had a rash and I heard a number of people complaining about bed bugs. There were also a number of people complaining about having their things stolen, and being disatisfied by the staff's response.
The staff are very mixed. A couple are completely rude, more are clueless however the more regular ones are friendly and helpful.
The free breakfast and $5 dinners are really good though. We went on the universal studios trip which we thought was really good value however some of the other trips seemed a little too pricey!
Overall the stay was fine. Its not the worst place to stay but there are definitely areas that could be improved on. I would warn possible guests though that the pictures on their website are a little deceiving, its a little shabbier in person.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planepaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

as a traveller under 21 i hadnt planned on spending too much time in the states... this hostel was as good as any other but seemed to cater for 21+ as all activites etc include being over 21!

i would recomend to over 21,.... but then again if your younger your a bit limited in the states anyway!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

DON’T GO THERE, THEY HAVE BED BUGS AND ARE NOT DOING MUCH ABOUT IT! I booked the hostel for ten nights.I only ended up saying for three night as the rooms where not cleaned properly and the bathrooms weren't properly cleaned at all. This was my first time in a hostel and it was the worst experience ever. Staff are too laid back and don't care at all.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrcool32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

I took a private room in this hostel, because I was travelling with a lot of luggages and had no safety issues.
Even though some of the staff members could use some friendliness, the hostel had a young, fresh and good atmoshphere.
It's easy to meet people there in the courtyard if you want to.
Plus, the hostel is very well located, even if you don't have a car (yes, it is possible to visit LA without a car :)).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#14 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,000 reviews
West Hollywood
The Standard, Hollywood
The Standard, Hollywood
#16 of 19 in West Hollywood
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
426 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,728 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Address: 603 N Fairfax Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90036-1714
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in West Hollywood
Price Range: £26 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow West Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood is one of the most popular hostels in the country. We are located in a central location right in the hottest spot of the "Melrose Strip." The Melrose area is a very special part of Los Angeles. It is located on the West side of Hollywood and borders Beverly Hills, you can walk to many of the great experiences that Hollywood has to offer plus you will be centrally located to access all the sights and sounds of LA. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing