We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, okay room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

During our recent 3-city trip in California, this was our least favorite hotel. Upon check in, we were told we were upgraded to a larger room, but found ourselves in this downstairs area (sort of basement like, with no elevator access for luggage) despite booking a pool view room. When this was brought to their attention, they did offer to move us to pool view, but by that time I had unpacked two out of three kids so opted to stay. During our 2 night stay, three times the room key cards didn't work. It isn't a huge deal, but rather irritating after a long day (and the aforementioned odd downstairs location). One benefit of this spot was that it was nice and quiet, but I wasn't thrilled with the room. It was just dark and gloomy and does not look like the pictures featured on the website.

The pool area was quite beautiful with all the flowers. The breakfast was fair. Like many "complimentary" breakfast, the eggs were not real eggs, and you could see the staff microwaving everything in the small "kitchen" off of the dining room. The dining area is teeny tiny, best to take breakfast to your room. Waffles were good, and bagels were surprisingly good - hard to get good bagels outside of New York, but I might be biased! ;-)

Overall, I'd stay again - but not in the downstairs rooms.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the lower level (1st floor, which is two floors below lobby) rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StarbuxNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wonderful boutique hotel located in great location of Sunset Blvd. Fabulous courtyard pool location. Wonderful to open your French Doors and go directly to pool. Excellent, caring staff who are very eager to please

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank leisep2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent 4 nights here during our trip to California, and we could not fault it in any way. I phoned beforehand as some other reviewers recommended to ask for a ground floor room overlooking the pool and that's exactly what we got. A spacious room with big bathroom opening straight onto the pool. Our daughter loved the pool and was in it every day, it was never crowded, she was often in it by herself. Such a pretty pool area with all the beautiful flowers.

Friendly staff from front desk staff to chambermaids. A fantastic buffet breakfast! Yes plastic knives and paper plates but as it's free you don't mind and such a large selection, constantly replenished by the two nice, polite and friendly ladies working the breakfast room, very happily made a fresh waffle every morning for our daughter. It does get very crowded but we never had to wait too long for a table to become free, and people were always happy to share their table if they had a large one and they were the only one on it. Heard many different languages and accents in there so obviously a popular hotel for holidaymakers. The view out of the breakfast room was fascinating of the houses perched high up on the surrounding hills.

We would happily return to this hotel if we are ever lucky enough to return to Hollywood.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineG821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We'd driven into LA and arrived at this hotel with no idea where the parking garage was. The staff on reception were really helpful when I ran in to find out what to do (go down Sweetzer and take the first right, for your info!), and again when we were checking in. We had a problem with the air conditioning in our room, and upon hearing it was our honeymoon, the staff member on duty (Amir) very kindly upgraded us to a fantastic room with a balcony and an amazing view. This made our stay extra special, but even without the upgrade the hotel is great. It is ideally located on Sunset Strip, with Sunset Plaza (a little shopping area) just a block away and a bus service that seems to run across the city stopping right outside. The free breakfast is amazing, with plenty of healthy (and unhealthy!) options and the pool area was lovely (though we didn't test it). All in all a lovely hotel in a really good location. Can't comment on value for money as we got it as part of a package, but definitely worth a look :)

Room Tip: Ours was room 309, one of the more expensive I suspect but if you can get it, do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hotel staff and room accommodations exceeded our expectations. The staff was very friendly, The cleaning staff was excellent and helpful. The breakfast selection was very good & well presented. the location was very convenient to the entertainment area of Hollywood.
Overall, our visit there was above our expectations. Great for a couple or family vacation spot.
Highly recommend. Five star quality.

Room Tip: King size room was pleasant & had plenty of space. No noise & quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPlaza8400, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience at the Sunset Plaza. Our entire staff is happy to know that each one of us played a part in making your stay a success. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Rooms are a decent size, clean and comfortable but it is the pool with its lovely garden that makes this a relaxing place to stay. We were on third floor overlooking the pool and it was nice to have a. pleasant view instead of looking at another building. We would open the windows during the day and enjoy the fresh air.
Other things that we appreciated were the coin operated laundry in the basement as it as handy after weeks of travelling, also the free very adequate breakfast and the wifi.
Though not a pretty area it really is not too far from anything you would want to see and handy for transport. Plenty of places too eat and the steak house across the road is fun and has huge servings of food - don't over order.
This hotel is good value and a oasis from the LA chaos. .

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool 3rd floor nice and quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gundagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPlaza8400, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you very much for letting others know about your pleasant stay at the Sunset Plaza Hotel. No matter what time of the year it is, our guests will always find the Garden Courtyard in bloom. The pleasant weather and our California sunshine ensures a perfect retreat for each of our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

You are always greeted with a smile and once Fred Gholizadeh, the General Manager and BrendaElias, the Operations Manager get to know you, you are never forgotten. Rooms are comfortable and hospitality is wonderful. When ever you need a helping hand, they are more than happy to oblige. They go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure you are well taken care of. It is a home away from home.

Room Tip: If you have multiple members in your party, 2 room suites are very worth it for all your needs. End...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
451 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#14 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,009 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,746 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: £164 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing