We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and location”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great location for touring Hollywood. If you Check in early there's a better chance of getting a pool side room which is very convenient. Large variety of breakfast is included. Front desk staff very helpful, can book tours right from hotel. Our fridge did not work but was fixed promptly! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cf5jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    747
    170
    57
    26
See reviews for
668
643
66
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I want to thank all the team at the hotel for such a wonderful stay. It was just one overnight stay but it was short but sweet. We really appreciated the flexibility of the desk staff. We had an early flight into LA and knew check in was not till later (2pm) but our room was ready and we could check in. We could also have some breakfast we were so grateful after a tireing flight that we could have something to eat and freshen up. Our room was perfect love the wi if, fridge coffee maker etc. great location as were only there for a short stay it meant we could go by foot to some of the main sights and had the option for a tour. Staff were very flexible about checking out as we had a transfer to the airport after check out but they extended it to us complimentary no fuss no problem. We had a problem our pick up did not come (nothing to do with the hotel our agent had arranged it) again desk staff phoned the company updated us and advised us on a taxi (right outside the hotel) and the rate we should expect. All this after we had checked out but still fantastic customer support. I would recommend this hotel great spot great service. Thanks so much.
Tracy UK.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Can only echo the comments of previous reviews in that this is an excellent hotel with easy access to all the tourist sights in LA.
We were upgraded to a poolside room and our French doors opened out onto a lovely courtyard pool. Thank you for a great 7 night stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jasweer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great hotel. We are a family of 5 (3 kids), we booked a room with view to the pool and we were upgraded to a room at pool level where you just can access the pool area from your room. We stayed for four nights. The room and the bathroom were big, clean and comfortable. WiFi was included. At some spots in the room it was difficult to get WiFi coverage, but once you got WiFi it worked well. The room had also a kitchen with a small kitchen stove, microwave and mini fridge. The staff was friendly, efficient, helpful and attentive, from front desk to housekeeping. The breakfast buffet was very varied and good and it was always plenty of food. The breakfast room where the buffet is could get crowded at times but it was not difficult to get a table and there were more rooms where you could seat and eat breakfast.
The location is great. There are restaurants, shops and bus stops within walking distance from the hotel and if you have a car you can park at the guest parking for 18$ a day.
The inner patio with the pool is beautifully decorated, well kept and provides a sense of privacy where you can relax isolated from the traffic and the noise of a big city as LA.
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernst G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

my 19 year old daughter and I visited Hollywood for a vacation and we couldn't have been happier with the hotel. The location was perfect. We walked everywhere to eat, comedy club, and shopping. The drive to Beverly Hills was 5 mins, Venice beach was a straight shot. The hotel was small and cozy, very clean and decorated beautifully. We were on a budget and get a great deal for a great place!! I will stay here every time.

Room Tip: our king room had windows that opened overlooking the pool/courtyard. I highly recommend this type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is an excellent hotel based right on Sunset Boulevard and an ideal location to explore this massive city. We chose to stay here for our Honeymoon and it hasn't disappointed, and staff were able to upgrade us to a room which you can open up on to the pool which was amazing.

This review is also based on a non driving couples experience of LA (Who says you can't do this city if you don't drive? Nonsense!) and there are bus stops just outside the hotel and around the corner which will take you to Hollywood/Santa Monica or any of the other neighbouring cities for $1.50 each way.

The staff are very friendly, happy to answer any queries and to book tours for you. They get some cut price deals for stuff like Disney and Universal so well worth checking this out. They also have a special deal with the taxi's located right outside the hotel, $40 gets you to LAX.

The pool isn't the longest in the world but it's about 8ft in depth so is great for a relaxing swim.

As well as that, Breakfast included is a massive bonus. There is a huge selection - Coffee/Tea, cereals, breads and a variety of meats as well as fresh waffles and fruit juices. It gets pretty busy in the morning, and if you want a table I'd recommend getting there for 7 or after 8.30 (Although there is additional seating on the floor above and if that fails you can take food to your room/pool so no biggy) Free Wifi is also becoming harder to come by these days but this hotel offers it for guests.

In sum; perfect location, friendly and attentive staff, free breakfast and Wifi - whats not to love about this hotel?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charvey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This year we decided to come back to southern California again and stayed at our favorite hotel. The stay as usual was great, however this time even better. They have added some additional items to their already great breakfast which satisfied everyone in our party.
The most interesting item this time was that we have recently purchased an electric car and to my surprise, they have added fast charging stations at this hotel and didn't charge us any additional fees. They have four stations. In my travels , I have not seen any hotels with charging stations, and for that matter complimentary. This was the the topping on the cake for me!
The staff were as always pleasant and made us feel welcomed. Coming back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guyindenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,663 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,813 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
366 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
983 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing