We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place with a touch of glamour!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome place with a touch of glamour!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza for two nights on the way through LA. It exceeded our expectations in all regards!

-Awesome location right in the heart of West Hollywood.
-Nice spacious rooms.
-Super friendly staff.
-Lovely pool area.
-Excellent value for money.

For those wanting something a little bit special without blowing the budget I would highly recommend.

Tip: try to get a ground floor room with doors opening to the pool area, truly fab!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBugNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    767
    177
    59
    26
See reviews for
696
655
68
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked this hotel about three weeks before our trip on the advice of our travel agent. It did not disappoint. Check in was courteous and fast and within moments we were on our way to the parking garage and into our room. Parking is underground and $18 a day. Not bad considering the rest of the area hotels charge considerably more. It was also very convenient as the elevator led directly to the floors. Our room had two king beds and was overlooking the pool. It had a small kitchenette area with a sink and a mini fridge and a microwave. We used the fridge for our bottled water but didn't use the microwave. The pool is quite nice. It has flowering vines and a pergola. The outside of the hotel has nice flowering bushes. The hotel reminded me of an antique home or even a little villa. It has that 'small' intimate feel and is nicely decorated. Most importantly, its clean. Another reviewer wrote that it looked 'tired' and although there are parts of the hotel (lower levels near parking garage) that were old looking, the area where the rooms were seemed perfectly fine. We had a room on the third floor, which is essentially the same floor as the lobby. Breakfast was typical of the kind you would find in one of the US hotels. They had a selection of breads, bagels, cupcakes and cereals. They had a waffle maker and the staff made them for you upon request. Hot items included scrambled eggs, little omelette patties, ham, bacon and sausages. It was enough to get us going and not have to worry about finding somewhere to eat in the morning.

The location of the hotel can't be beaten! Its in the 'sunset strip' and within walking distance of the place to be in West Hollywood. Restaurants and entertainment venues were all close by. The Hollywood walk of fame was a 40 minute walk away and was easy to get to.

The staff in this hotel have all been very, very nice. The front desk staff have all been courteous and were always quick to say good morning, good evening or even smile and ask if we needed anything. Everyone seemed to try their best...even the on site maintenance staff were all smiling and attentive. We relied upon them for dinner suggestions and even things to see and do and we have not been disappointed by their recommendations.

We are still here and will be here for 6 nights. We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the West Hollywood area and would defintely return here if we ever come back!!

Many thanks to the staff who have made our stay so wonderful!!

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the pool and we quite enjoyed that. The windows opened half way and remind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Good size room. Pleasant atmosphere. Breakfast simple but included, however it is very busy so we would take our food up to the 4th floor where there were no people so very quiet. Pool quite chilly and gets busy but nice to have as it is a city hotel. Parking underneath the hotel. Laundry facilities on site.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the pool as it is a nice view. We were on the first floor which we preferred as som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooz1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedish
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a great stay here for 5 nights. The location is great and we walked to the walk of fame in less than an hour. Breakfast is really good with a good variety of choices and the poolarea is really cosy. We had a brickwall as a wiew, but we didn't spend much time at the hotel. The beds are really comfy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Staff excellent Helpful
The hotel is in a good location on site parking $18 not bad for LA
The rooms are a classic with real wood trim and old style design walls . Wallpaper . Go from the hotel area right out the door to your car via the parking garage the pool was nice with flowers and vines tress &plants along the way . The wi fi was a little unstable THIS is the Place to stay in LA .

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ua117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location. Breakfast included was a huge welcome. Our room wasn't the best, but it was our base and basically we were only there to shower and sleep. Room was clean and spacious. Parking was $8 a day at the hotel and the laundry facilities were very much welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We only stayed at Sunset Plaza one night but really enjoyed it. The hotel is on Sunset Strip so in a great location to visit Hollywood attractions. Was a lovely base to return to after sightseeing. Despite being in a busy area this a tranquil and pretty hotel. There are flowering plants everywhere including climbers all over the building. The rooms were spacious with excellent facilities and there was a good hot breakfast. The staff were very pleasant and helpful during our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank rhrob1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,899 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
392 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing