We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to LA. The pool was great, even though the hotel was on a main road the pool was quiet and super relaxing. Our room was amazing with views of downtown LA.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShamefulTiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,376 - 1,382 of 2,071 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2010

What a wonderful hotel! Directly on Sunset Strip with plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. We had a room on the first floor, poolside, which reminded me of an Italian villa with colorful flowers. No nosie fron Sunset Blvd. Breakfast was great with lots to choose from. Front desk was helpful with tickets to attractions. Hotel kept very clean. Parking was easy. Rooms were big. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank habs1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

My husband and my two teenage kids and myself stayed here for 7 nights and found it to be a really great hotel. We had 2 deluxe rooms, one was a king room and the other was 2 queen beds,which were both exceptionally nice. The queen room had doors that led out to the pool and had a table and chairs just outside which was lovely. The pool was really nice and the pool area was covered all around with lovely flowers. Breakfast was included in the price and included a very good selection of bagels, pastries and freshly made waffles. The reception staff were very helpful and the location was excellent, a bus stop directly outside that took a ten minute ride close to hollywood boulevard. There is also good places to eat really close by, including the house of blues, and the saddle ranch. Excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginnydib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed for two nights. Very nice rooms, nice pool area, breakfast ok. Location good and easy to find by car. Parking available at 14 USD a night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inpetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in July while on vacation. Reading all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor I was looking forward to staying at the Best Western Sunset Plaza but unfortunately it did not meet all my expectations.

We stayed in a King bed room with a view of a 3 storey wall (we were on the bottom floor). We had to have the lights on during the day as no natural light could come through the window. Also the walls are paper thin. We could hear people in the rooms around us at all hours of the night doing things we really didn't want to hear!! The people in the room above us were walking around from 5am - 7am and the floors creaked terribly. It woke me up and I couldn't sleep through it.

All that said we did receive excellent customer service from the front desk staff. They recommended some excellent tours (The El Dorado Venice beach and Santa Monica Pier tour is terrific!) and helped us book these. Also the complementary buffet breakfast was excellent. The location of the hotel is good - we walked from the Chinese Theatre to the hotel (45 minutes). If you are considering staying here, try to get a room that faces the pool area. It is absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

After reading great reviews we checked in at this hotel with my 19 month old and husband and had a great stay. I called the hotel directly and got a better rate than advertised anywhere on the internet for a suite! There is no other words to describe it than simply "beautiful" and "romantic". The lobby was clean and cozy. The suite we had was huge and could have easily fit 6 people. Flat screen TV's in both living room and bedroom and a seperate living room that can be closed off by french doors. The bathroom had seperate soaker tub and shower with double sink and it was one of the biggest bathrooms I have seen in a hotel. Everything was clean, the kitchenette was more than what I expected and most of all the beds were amazing- better than the heavenly beds!!!!! It has a free Wi-Fi in all rooms and exercise room with decent equipment.I was skeptical about staying in Sunset Blvd with a young child but it worked out very well for us as it was central to every thing - univeral studios, rodeo dr, restaurants, starbucks! There are lots of high end restaurants, lounges, shops nearby however we didn't have to use any of them. The continential breakfast buffet surprised me as I expected very little and what we got was great breakfast in a very calm environment overlooking the pool. It is a fantastic hotel and I can't help talking about it with my family & friends even though we had stayed at 4 or 5* hotels during this trip.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank fluidtlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

As a family of five (children 3, 6 and 17) we always look for a suite with some kitchen amenities. I thought that would be extremely hard to find in the Los Angeles area. Still, I found the reviews for the Best Western Sunset Plaza and was quite intrigued by all of the outstanding reviews. My niece lives in the L.A. area and she warned about staying in West Hollywood with children in tow. I'm glad I decided not to heed her warnings because this hotel is located in a completely family friendly spot. It was a few minutes away from all of the Hollywood tourist attractions as well as, Universal Studios Hollywood. The breakfasts were plentiful and there was plenty of seating. It doesn't get chaotic like a lot of breakfasts areas in hotels in the morning. We stayed in a suite that was completely generous in size. The beds were extremely comfy. My only complaints were there was no seating at the bar in the kitchen and the kids were forced to sit on the couch and coffee table to eat there food. Also, one of the beds was slap dead against the air conditioner unit. Unfortunately we couldn't turn it off because it would have been too stuffy for the rest of the family and I was forced to sleep beside it to keep the kids from getting too cold. Still, I think this was an excellent place to begin our Southern California vacation.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank dwbaisden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,722 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
415 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
997 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,005 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: £185 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing