We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and wonderful hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz West Hollywood
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great view and wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I stayed one night in July, 2012 and had a fantastic suite overlooking Sunset Blvd.

The check-in experience is nice, but common for high end resorts I've stayed in before...you are seated by the valet, and a host will come to you and retrieve your reservation through a tablet while you sit and relax during check-in...(no champagne upon check-in unfortunately).

Our suite was about the size of three regular rooms...nice, but ran $500/night. The furnishings are very modern and our corner suite had a full length window overlooking the city which was especially nice after dusk when the city lights were on.

The rooftop pool and bar were great...no hot tub, but there are several semi-private shaded areas you can relax on terry clothed cushioned mattresses or chaise lounge chairs.

Breakfast was nothing special...the buffet was more 'European' in that it consisted of pastries, breads, and deli meats/cheeses. You can order more 'standard' American breakfast fare off of the menu, I found the food quality to be average while the price was most definitely not (Breakfast for two came to almost $90 with tip...the Bloody Marys didn't help ;)

The location is great..."The Comedy Store" is next door, and many clubs/bars are within a five minute cab ride.

This hotel is part of the Hyatt chain, and definitely one of their premiere properties.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Sunset Blvd (front of the hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
I am delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind feedback. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back upon your next visit to Los Angeles.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,689
    746
    233
    64
    53
See reviews for
573
1,051
176
439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at this modern hotel early July 2012 on holidays in the States. I found the check in to be a breath of fresh air compared to the normal check ins where u line up, there is no reception desk just an iPad so very here and now in this high tech world we live in.

Rooftop pool has amazing views of West Hollywood night and day. Beautiful plants adorn the pool area and lots of day beds and comfy seating. Outdoor bar with friendly staff to tend to you pool side while you relax.

The complimentary snacks and non alcoholic beverages are a god send when your out and about driving & visiting diferent places everyday. When u need a drink at the end of your day its nice to know your not going to be charged a fortune for drinking everything that was there. Free coffee, tea and snacks every morning. Great for when ur in a hurry to get on with ur day.

Great location to restaurants (Saddle Ranch a must) and centre of town. Free wifi which is a must to let all your friends know where your staying and what your doing each day.

Overall great hotel, perfect location. Thanks for making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you so much for your complimentary feedback regarding your recent experience at Andaz West Hollywood. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed the hosts at check-in, the amazing view from our rooftop sundeck along with our central location on the Sunset Strip. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in July 2012. A very modern hotel - it has no reception desk. The valets try & seat you, then someone will check you in. They wear Grey clothes & carry Ipads. You have complimentary snacks & soft drinks in your room renewed daily. Room pleasant and spacey. However ours was overlooking Sunset Boulevard & was a bit noisy at night & we had to contend with a flashing advertisement sign opposite. However our main concern is the breakfast. They automatically charge 18% gratuity on breakfast - it doesn't matter how many of you there are - one or more - you get charged 18% automatically on your bill.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms on the opposite side to Sunset Blvd are smaller than the ones on the strip but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeggQ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. All of your comments are truly valued and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Los Angeles.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights on our Californian three week trip in July.
Efficient check in by iPad was a novelty; reception staff friendly and helpful booking tours (collected from hotel by car for LA city tour) and printing out directions for us; valet parking was quick and efficient each day to bring round car (phoned from room and it was there by the time we got downstairs) $32 per day but worth it as nearby overnight parking looked not particularly good.
Free mini bar in fridge for water, snacks and soft drinks in our room. Happy hour in lobby with free wine from 5-7 daily. Tea and coffee available at reception in mornings.
Room was large and overlooked Hollywood hills, clean and modern decor in neutral colour so very restful after a long day in the sun. Bed was fabulously comfy. No bath, just a shower with very nice toiletries in a smallish bathroom compared to the generous room size. Room key needed to operate the lift when going to your room.
Blackout blinds which were good but had a slight gap at the sides allowing the early morning sun to peek in and a mirror in bedroom that was grey and made it impossible to put on makeup or see in it properly were the only issues we found with this hotel or I might have given it a 5 rating- change the mirror please Andaz as the bathroom one steams up!!
Takes around 40 mins by car straight along Sunset Boulevard to get to Santa Monica beach, approx 1-11/2 hours to Disney in Anaheim depending on when you leave, excellent restaurants a 5 min walk away at Sunset Plaza - Mel's diner a good bet for breakfast with free valet parking if you are on your way out for the day- Le Petit Four great for people watching and fabulous choice of food, so good we ate here twice!
Would recommend this hotel as a cool place to stay in LA.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor so had a nice view to gorgeous houses on the Hollywood hills, rooftop pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and will be sure to pass along your kind words to the team. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I had such a good time here. The welcome experience for this kind of hotel is unique. Although is an affordable hotel, it offers the customer care quality of world's most expensive hotels. I never touched my luggage from the moment I opened my trunk until I was in my room. You don't have to address anyone at the front desk or wait in a line, they approach you as soon as you get there, with a small laptop, they ask you your last name, offer you a drink and give you your proximity room key, amenities are great, so many nice details in the room and the entire hotel. It is really a pleasure. Restaurant is a little bit expensive but very nice, or you could just walk a few yards and go breakfast to the Griddle Cafe close to there. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Anything you ask for they really try hard to give you anything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
I am so happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood. I appreciate you taking the time to share how much you enjoyed the service provided to you by our wonderful team, along with our unique check-in process. I look forward to you joining us again soon.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Firstly let me say we stayed at the Andaz Wall St last year, what a wonderful, relaxing environment with courteous & knowledgable staff and spacious clean rooms. So our decision to stay at Andaz West Hollywood in Jun/July 2012 was fairly easy. Big mistake!! 5 in our party over two rooms each morning we went to breakfast and understandbly had to pay for one breakfast as our package covered two breakfasts per room. On our first day we spoke to Marcus to confirm what was included and we were told, cereals, pastries, coffee & juice. Remember we ate there for the 4 mornings we were there and every time they charged one room with 5 breakfasts and we had to take it to the concierge to explain to them there own arrangement. Very frustrating!! To cut a long story short on the last day we were told by our waitress that our package actually included the full breakfast menu i.e. eggs, bacon, etc.... you can imagine how dissapointed and angry we were. We expressed this to the waitress who I must say was lovely and quite angry that the inclusions werent explained to us properly at the beginning, she actually took this matter to the manager of the restaurant off her own back and he came over and apologised for the confusion and gave us a box of chocolates, yipee!! We have now returned home to find we have a bill for breakfast on our last day what a joke. We have tried to contact the Hyatt via email but our read/delivery receipt has bounced back with a 'delete before read' reply. I dont usually complain but the difference between the two hotels was astounding. We go to the US every year and we will not be returning to the Andaz again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNTWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am terribly sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced regarding your breakfast package. If suitable, please email my assistant, Olivia Moore at Olivia.Moore@andaz.com so that we may review your folio to ensure that any billing errors are corrected immediately. We look forward to the opportunity of assisting you personally.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

First thing to emphasize is this was the fastest check-in I had ever done. There is no reception, check-in is done by Concierge. Whilst check-in you can also design your trip. They are very helpful and well organized. We ask for some reservations, and we went to our room. After a few minutes, the trips details printed was there :)
The room is spacy and trendy.
The bed is comfortable and big.
The free minibar is a good touch.
And try to make time to visit the pool in the terrace with Hollywood view.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G3A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Property: Andaz West Hollywood
Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1909
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd, Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing