We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable excellence in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andaz West Hollywood
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I frequently say that I hate trendy hotels. I prefer hotels with incredibly comfortable beds, quiet sleeps and excellent service. This is one of the few "trendy" hotels that manages to bring all of that and more. I've stayed here every time and have had never had anything less than excellent service, particularly upon check-in; I'm definitely not mad at a glass of wine at check-in after a long flight. As a Hyatt Platinum member, I've never not been upgraded, and that's definitely appreciated. And the rooms are fantastic. I live for the little sitting room that those on the Sunset side have to enjoy. And I sleep like a rock on that wonderful bed every time. I've stayed at almost every other hotel in the immediate area, and this has become my no-brainer choice every time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onthelanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

I am so pleased that you continue to choose Andaz West Hollywood as your go to hotel! Thank you for sharing how much you enjoy our unique check-in experience and our Sunset View rooming accommodations. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Southern California!
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,716 - 1,722 of 3,022 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Hotel is around 10 miles from the airport and depending on traffic takes 35-45 mins. Beware, even though its a flat/fixed fare from/to LAX, many taxi drivers will try and charge you whats on the meter. It should be $40 plus tip.

Used a Diamond certificate to upgrade to a suite. Check in process is a bit weird - no real issue, but they dont have the traditional check in desk, just staff hanging around a center pod with PC's on them and they come and check you in via an iPad/tablet thing. They make a big deal about free wine/water/soft drink and you can sit down in a lounge type area, but I found the whole process a little underwhelming

The suite was located in a corner, so good views (on level 4). Was good to have a separate bathroom with shower as I was sharing the room with a family member, and as luck would have it, I drew the short straw and slept in the living room (hotel was fine with bringing a rollaway bed) but in hindsight you could have easily slept on the L-shaped couch.

Soft drinks and snacks were complimentary (due to Diamond/or suite status). As was wifi. Wifi worked well (which is the main thing as far as I am concerned).

Bar and restaurant had a good feel to it. And service attentive (only had a drink in the bar one evening and breakfast the following morning, which was ok). There's no exec lounge, so Diamonds have complimentary breakfast in the restaurant.

Staff very helpful and gave us plenty of dining recommendations for dinner.

All in all, a pleasant enough stay. Noticed that despite bottled water being complimentary, no water was in the room at all (either in the fridge or beside the bed or at the desk). The suite had a weird layout but had some funky chairs in a bay window sort of thing overlooking the street.

Had a good desk and chair and plenty of room, and was worth using a certificate on the upgrade. Would I go back? Perhaps not - was pleasant enough but just not that memorable. First time in an Andaz property...

Room Tip: Corner suites have plenty of light and windows and a good working desk and comfortable living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eightblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Andaz West Hollywood. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent visit. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, I look forward to another opportunity to welcome you again and provide a more memorable Andaz experience.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed here at the Andaz for a week on business and I had no problems at all. I was in a suite which was quite spacious. There was the bedroom, 2 full baths, a living room, breakfast island, and sitting room with a view. The sitting room had windows facing sunset and the hills so you got a great view no matter what window you looked out of. The bed was very comfortable, I had no problem sleeping. The great thing is the food and non alcoholic beverages in the minibar are free and restocked daily. That is something you rarely ever see. The hotel is right next to a startbucks which is also very convenient. Parking is the same as all hotels in LA, valet only and $33 a night. Overall it was a great stay and I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luxbizman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

I am so pleased that you chose to stay at Andaz West Hollywood. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, we look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

On first arriving wasn't too impressed with the check in process although it went smoothly it felt like we were just handed our key & your on your own. No real explanation of how the hotel operates or that we had actually been given an upgrade but can't complain about that. The room was lovely, overlooking Sunset Strip with a cool lounge area at the front. Very noisy with traffic going by the & flashing neon signs opposite however you can pull the blind accross & no more flashing lights but the noise is still there. I quite enjoyed the sounds of traffic so didn't really bother me. Free non alcoholic beverages & snacks in your room, really comfy bed, great bathroom. The roof top pool is well decorated with some private day beds overlooking the city there is a roof top bar, very relaxing it's pretty hard to leave. Free coffee in the lobby in the morning, free wine for a few hours in the evening, plenty of trendy seating in the lobby also with newspapers & books to browse at. We only stayed 3 nights & ate at the restuarant twice, food was sensational & really well priced. Plenty of restaurants near by which are walking distance too & also well priced. We also used their gym which overlooks the strip, opened 24 hours & has all that is required while on holiday. I would definitely stay here again although request a room which is higher than 4th floor overlooking the strip so it would be a little quieter.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the strip but higher than 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dragonsholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent visit here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Los Angeles!
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were very impressed with the Andaz. Check in was pleasant with staff attending to guests with iPads. The room, facing Sunset Boulevard was roomy, clean and provided a great night sleep. Water and snacks in room available free of charge. Coffee also available free of charge in the morning until 10.30. Central location with lots of restaurants/shops on the Boulevard. Hotel dining was superb - best hamburger for lunch. Loved the stay. Disappointed that we did not book the Andaz in New York!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Nat354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your most recent trip to Los Angeles. I want to especially thank you for your lovely comments about your stay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation along with the hotel’s unique amenities! We hope to see you back soon and look forward to providing another amazing experience for you.
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

First stay at an Andaz and certainly will not be our last: This boutique establishment is located in West Hollywood directly on Sunset Boulevard in walking distance of a vast collection of restaurants and night life, while the hotel itself boasts exceptional service on all fronts from the moment that a guest pulls up to the front doors. The staff is nothing but nurturing and caring only intensifying the quality of one's stay.

The hotel has obviously been renovated in recent years only to exhibit both form and function throughout its "happening" minimalist contemporary atmosphere. Our family occupied two rooms with one being a corner junior suite with abundant space to enjoy and relax in, while the regular room itself was spacious and well appointed and fixtured.

The Andaz West Hollywood seems to be all about creating the 'experience' and catering to the guest with simple but relevant gestures the likes of free wi-fi, complementary in-room snacks and non-alcoholic beverages; nightly wine service in the lobby and large flat-screen interactive televisions in each and every room. All this and guest rooms that one never wants to leave....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalecorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review following your recent visit here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for a week in Late August. We booked through two different systems which may have been confusing but presented no problem to our host. Outstanding hotel with wonderful staff and fantastic views from the rooftop pool. Location excellent, as with everything else at the hotel. Cannot be faulted and made our stay in LA really special. Thanks to everyone at the andaz!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugoault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Andaz West Hollywood! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles!
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,732 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,088 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
427 reviews
West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
86 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: £191 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the twinkling lights of the Sunset Strip and the picturesque Hollywood Hills, Andaz West Hollywood is centrally located to the best dining, shopping, and activities in Los Angeles. This iconic destination is home to Los Angeles’ highest rooftop pool and includes breathtaking views of the city, private cabanas, and a full-service bar. All 239 rooms boast spectacular views of the Hollywood Hills on one side and the Sunset Strip and downtown Los Angeles on the other. Enjoy complimentary in room snacks and non-alcoholic beverages along with a nightly wine hour and complimentary wi-fi. Step out of Andaz West Hollywood’s front doors, and explore iconic music and entertainment venues including Whisky A Go Go, The Viper Room, The Roxy and the famous Comedy Store. Enjoy California-inspired, farm-to-table cuisine at Riot House Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing