We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel in West LA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz West Hollywood
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel in West LA”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location is excellent. One can easily walk to Sunset Plaza. Rooms in the front of the hotel have a sensational view over Sunset Blvd. looking south. Rooftop pool and area is great and one can have meetings up there in semi-private areas. House of Blues right across the street. One of the many features I love about Andaz Hotels, is the fact that everything but alcohol in the minbar is free. Excellent healthy snacks, ice tea, water. In the lobby you are greeted with a glass of wine as you check in. In the morning there is complimentary coffee and pastries in the lobby. The breakfast buffet is sensational offering everything you could wish, and more. Friendly staff. There to help not to get in your face. For the businessman, faxes are free.

Room Tip: Try and get a front room overlooking Sunset Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whamzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit. It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed various aspects of your stay namely the central location, our hotels amenities and the customer service. We hope to welcome you back to Andaz West Hollywood soon.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,772
    766
    241
    68
    54
See reviews for
621
1,079
183
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great hotel, modern rooms, we paid for a city view but were given a room at back as we were told quieter while groups of girls camped outside hotel as they believed a group to be staying in the hotel. We had paid more for the front room but we're not offered a refund for difference if we had booked a room at the back of hotel in first place, which would have been nice or perhaps offer of breakfast on hotel. Breakfast was very good and service excellent, waiters attentive without being over crowding. Cooking all fresh and in sight while sitting. Reception very helpful. Good location for city sight seeing bus tour at comedy club next door. Gym was fairly well equipped as far as hotel gyms go. Pool nice, small but great views. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor for a good view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good as offer to change towels when you require rather than every day
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorers4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for providing us feedback following your visit to Andaz West Hollywood. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful comments about our team, our central location and our hotel amenities. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced due to your room allocation which caused your stay to be less than perfect. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you directly. If suitable, please email my assistant Lauren Farah at lauren.farah@andaz.com, at your earliest convenience, so that I may discuss your experience in further detail. I look forward to the opportunity to assist you.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is the best hotel I've stayed in in LA. It was practically perfect. I can't in fact think of anything that could improve the experience. The bed and pillows were A+ quality. The rooms are spacious with comfy chairs and useful desks. The bathroom is gorgeous, though no tub in my room. The TV was big -- changing channels on their system is frustratingly slow. But there was little time for TV there.

Being welcomed with a glass of wine or water was great. The employees are all so shiny and happy and bright. Check-in and -out are easy. We were there for work, but enjoyed the pool quite a bit. The fitness center was terrific and not crowded at all.

The only downside for one of my colleagues during this trip was that he happened to be on a floor where people were partying a lot for the BET awards. He was moved quickly after he asked. So no complaints there.

The hotel is like a cool art museum -- with photos and sculptures and paintings galore. Even the rooms have some cool graphics on the walls and a thoughtful saying on the windows.

Ari worked with one of my colleagues to set us up well. We are grateful to him.

The restaurant, which I will review separately, was terrific as well.

My only small complaint is that, though there was a no smoking policy in the pool area, people took advantage of the separation of some of the sun beds from the other area to sneak smokes frequently. The staff could probably police that better or they should change their policy.

I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marabel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We greatly appreciate and value your comments. I will ensure that Ari receives your kind words. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next trip to Los Angeles.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed at the Andaz West Hollywood for 6 nights at the end of May. From the time Ari checked us in to the day we departed everything was perfect. I'd never been to America before so had lots of questions about our surroundings and tipping, etc. Ari was always on hand to help out and did everything with a smile.
The room was large and very comfortable. Best bed we had during our entire month long trip through America.
Loved the free wine between 5pm and 7pm every day. Complimentary snacks and non-alcoholic drinks from the mini-bar were a bonus as well.
Location is perfect. We like to walk and although no-one seems to walk in LA, we did and found we were in a really handy location to everything we wanted to see.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I had heard rooms were noisy due to being on Sunset Blvd. Our room was at the back of the hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I am so pleased that you chose to stay at Andaz West Hollywood and am delighted to know how much you enjoyed our central location, your spacious accommodation and the service you received from our staff. I will ensure to share your kind words with Ari and the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteo, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived on a Saturday evening for a 3 night stay. The positive experiences began immediately when they offered us a drink while checking in. Our room was on the 7th floor and had an excellent view of downtown LA. We spent much time at the rooftop pool which also had ridiculous views of the city and Hillside. The service in general was great at every turn. The location of the hotel is within walking distance of many attractions. Breakfast at the downstairs restaurant was delicious. If there was one drawback it was noise...certainly from the Sunset Blvd. below into the night and occasionally from the hallway...BUT that is what Sunset is all about. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a hillside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBrisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I am thrilled to hear such positive comments regarding your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood. Thank you for taking the time to compliment our hotel on the many aspects that you enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel with our kids in July/Aug 2012 and were really impressed from the outset. Chic, modern and welcoming, its in the perfect location to explore L.A. We had a spacious family room on the 14th floor with views across the city. A dip in the gorgeous rooftop pool is a must too.

Room Tip: Sunset Boulevard views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your complimentary words regarding your experience at Andaz West Hollywood. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed the service, your accommodations, the location on the Sunset Strip and the hotel’s amenities. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back soon.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Andaz West Hollywood during our honeymoon in May. We had previously stayed at another Andaz property and so were familiar with their style.

From the outset, this hotel impressed. Inside it offers a modern, warm vibe which belies the buildings age. The hotel has a long and interesting history under other names and was a preferred stay for rock bands in the 1970s and 80s.

Attentive and friendly staff offered a glass of wine and chatted with us during the relaxed check in process. We were given an upgrade to a Sunset Blvd view room on a high floor, which offered sweeping views across LA toward the Downtown area. The room was spacious and well presented.

The rooftop bar and pool area is a great place to enjoy a drink. Cabana beds offer a comfy, private place to sit and chat and unwind before heading out into the hustle of LA.

The location is great but best of all is the genuine, friendly service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for the special occasion of your honeymoon. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, our central location and your interactions with the hosts that assisted you. We look forward to welcoming you both back to provide yet another wonderful experience for you. Wishing you a lifetime of newlywed bliss!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,688 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,032 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,026 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Property: Andaz West Hollywood
Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1909
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd, Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing