We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz West Hollywood
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, but not perfect”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Andaz is a really nice and funky hotel. Its biggest assets undoubtedly are the perfect location for exploring West Hollywood and LA, together with the accommodating staff.
Andaz is situated right on Sunset Blvd, with a great view of downtown to the front or view of Hollywood Hills to the back. You probably can’t stay more central than this, if you are out to explore LA’s sights.
Hotel has a very nice rooftop pool with great views, giving you the opportunity to relax and enjoy the sun.
We had a high floor room towards Hollywood Hills, just as requested to get a quiet room. On the other hand our room was second nearest to the lifts, so we had the pleasure of the constantly buzzing sound of the busy lifts.
We had very high expectations to Andaz, but actually found there are quite a few improvements to be made, which we will describe in random order;
Rooms are relatively spacious, but there is in fact no space for storing your clothes etc. besides a very tiny closet with only a few hangers.
Bathroom was a little warn and definitely not very impressive.
You won’t find a decent mirror in the room – the only mirror besides the one in the bathroom of course, is tinted and completely useless for makeup etc.
Minibar with free soft drinks and snacks are advertised, but in reality this means one coke, one diet coke, one sprite and one small bottle water. Snacks are a really tiny bag of chips and some nuts. If you only fancy drinking the coke, you will just get another single one replaced, so not very impressive. A little tip – leave a note with your order, and they will actually fill it up according to this (annoying you need to figure this out by yourselves).
The roof top pool has a fantastic view of LA and Hollywood Hills, particularly at night the view is beautiful. But unfortunately the roof top closes at 9pm in summer and even before in winter. In addition it is almost impossible to relax at the pool, as the music literally is pounding at full volume both day and night. Even when we attempted to enjoy the evening view, it was almost impossible to talk to each other because of the volume – this is absolutely foolish instead of finding a more reasonable volume level suitable for all guests. At first we thought this was just a coincidence, but the volume was the same whenever we visited the roof top. We also noted one day that the pool was reserved for a private event, which of course is a nuisance if you plan to spend some time there. You must assume that the pool and the other hotel amenities are reserved for the paying guests, and not some corporate event as we experienced on several occasions during our stay. Furthermore the Food at the pool bar are expensive and prepared - we ordered a sandwich from the menu at 16$ plus tax and plus 18% mandatory service charge (as I recall) and the guy at the pool bar just went out back and came back with a prepared wrapped sandwich from the fridge like the one you will get at the gas stations – definitely not as expected at that price and with a nice restaurant on site. We don’t mind paying > 20$ for a basic sandwich but at least you can expect it to be freshly made. To be fair it actually was quite good, but definitely not what we expected.
Breakfast is average and way to expensive compared to what you actually get. We had breakfast included, which actually mean a buffet at a price of approx 35$ per person (including tax and mandatory 18% service charge). If you ask for a cappuchino or eggs served in a special way, then this will be charged on top. The staff very busy, but often they were actually busier preparing for some corporate lunch event, instead of serving the guests. This is of course not acceptable, but not to blame the hard working staff (management issue).
All the above points of improvement detracts the overall rating. However Andaz still is a really nice and central place to stay, and as mentioned most staff are very accommodating and service minded, so just do a little adjusting and this hotel could be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollerCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Andaz West Hollywood for your recent visit in Los Angeles. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share feedback from your stay. Your comments continue to provide us with an opportunity to reevaluate ways in which to improve our guest experience on various levels. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, I look forward to welcoming you again upon your next visit to California.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,735
    757
    237
    67
    53
See reviews for
593
1,070
179
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Andaz over Christmas time, it was a great experience the hotel is in a good location, the staff are very helpful, room service is good and prompt and it is very clean. We also woke to find a little gift hanging on our door Christmas morning

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataliePrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Andaz West Hollywood during the Christmas season. It is delightful to know how much you enjoyed various aspects of your visit at our hotel. Thank you for all of your wonderful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at The Andaz West Hollywood for 9 days. The quality throughout is first rate. We had a room with 2 Queen size beds including 2 buffet breakfasts. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms a very generous size with a great view over Los Angeles. We had breakfast in the hotel most days and paid for the additional 2 breakfasts. The food was off the best quality with plenty of choice. The service from the restaurant staff and the concierges was excellent. The staff could not do enough for you. There was also free coffee and pastries available in reception in the morning and wine in the evening. There is a roof top pool available for use and a good gym. Overall we were very impressed with our stay and had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saywatuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. It is delightful to hear that you have enjoyed numerous aspects of your stay; namely the accommodations, service and hotel amenities. On behalf of all of us here, I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Andaz 3 years ago & returned hoping it would be just as good - and it was.
The place has a relaxed and friendly feel to it and it is hard to pinpoint how this is achieved, but the attitude of the staff must be a contributing factor. Great bunch of people - really good-looking, clean, young too so whoever's doing the employing at Andaz is doing it right.
Coming off the Boeing flight from Oz, we arrived early morning, but Dean was great getting us into a room asap. The pool & the views of the hills were as good as I remembered. The early evening wines were better quality than 3 years ago. The restaurant didn't need to improve but had - I'm still savouring my breakfast eggs Florentine with that spinach sauce.
My only complaint was the bed. I like a firm mattress and it was way too soft.
Overall, the hotel seemed a little less 'edgier' and attracting less of the trendy, 'scenester' crowd than it previously did (they were all at the Mondrian just down the road which seemed like a hectic nightmare of a place - every time we walked past it the partygoers were shoving their way past paying guests) but we liked that, being 3 years older ourselves and preferring calm, understated style & comfort to noise and mayhem.
And the best thing - all of it comes at great value for money!

Room Tip: 7th floor was less affected by flashing advertising off Sunset Boulevarde than the 4th (where we sta...
See more room tips
Green Features: Sound - we only got our bed sheets changed once in the 9 days we were there
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your return visit with us at Andaz West Hollywood. All of your comments are truly valued. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to Dean and the rest of the team. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed with my two sisters during our trip around America. We really enjoyed the stay. The rooms were spacious, the views of the Hollywood hills were fab (make sure you get a high floor) and the staff were warm and friendly.

The hotel is very modern and stylish with a rock and roll theme (that is more artsy and not too old school). I would definitely recommend it to anyway.

Free mini bar refills were a nice touch. It was a relief not having to pay $6 every time we wanted a bottle of water in the states!

Follow them on insta and #hashtag your pics of this cute hotel..... Especially the rooftop pool! They follow back.

The downstairs bar/ restaurant looks quite but serves nice size dinners and it's really cheap. Better than most of the food we ate in Cali (sorry Aussie food is wayyyy better).

Breakfast buffet is overpriced and the food isn't worth it, better to order individual meals.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor - there is some noise from the street (probably facing the hollywood hills bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your most recent trip to Los Angeles. Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that we made you feel very welcome and comfortable. We hope to see you back soon and look forward to providing another amazing experience for you.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for five nights at the Andaz and had a great time. Would definitely return if ever back in LA. Good sized rooms, free soft drinks and wi-fi a great bonus with two teenage boys and the free tea at reception was the only decent cup of tea I had on our two week stay in California!

The rooftop swimming pool was just amazing and although busy we never had a problem trying to find somewhere to sit or space to swim.

The concierge team were, without exception, all brilliant and so helpful and pleasant.

The valet parking team were also superb. Even in their peak times they remained pleasant, helpful and efficient.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KatieSpruceTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such an amazing review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service that you were provided and the unique hotel amenities. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our valet attendant and Host teams. We truly look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to the US.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April, wish it had been longer. Given free upgrade to 2 room suite, very nice. Quite, very clean, would stay here again, loved the sitting area overlooking the street. Free wine after 5 was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HatchetDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your April visit to Los Angeles. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,675 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 20 in West Hollywood
992 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 20 in West Hollywood
2,014 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,016 reviews
West Hollywood
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Property: Andaz West Hollywood
Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1909
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd, Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing