We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andaz West Hollywood is a great modern experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andaz West Hollywood
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Andaz is pretty amazing. I think being modern and forward thinking is their style and you see this as soon as you walk in. There is no reception desk and someone casually dressed will greet you. These are the 'Hosts' who play reception, concierge, bell hop and every other role... it's quite a unique experience as one person can take you from check in all the way to your room and check out. The rooms themselves are also pretty phenomenal... spacious and everything except alcohol is FREE. This includes soft drinks, juices and even some pretty fancy snacks. Even the wireless is free.

Location-wise Andaz is on West Sunset, a stone's throw from Chateau Marmont and very close to all West Hollywood restaurants and nightlife.

It was a touch pricey (I think around US$220/night) but I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cattynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelmorauw, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2009

Thank you so much for your complimentary words regarding your recent experience at Andaz West Hollywood. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed the hosts at check-in, your guest room with the complimentary amenities and the location on the Sunset Strip. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,661 - 2,667 of 3,022 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2009

We stayed here for a couple of days in early October. We were most impressed.....no reception but greeted at the door by a host with netbook - sat down with a drink whilst netbook activated our room cards and then escorted to the room. It's not the Hyatt, but neither is the price, and everything you would need for a comfortable stay was in the room.
We really appreciated the complimentary wine from 5 p.m on the hip long bar in the foyer, and the free wireless internet also on the bar table.
In the morning, we were pleased to see complimentary coffee and croissants on the same table ready for those who wanted a quick bite without the restaurant.
We ate twice in the restaurant.......it has an open kitchen which is a great idea......the meals were excellent, as was the service.
Dean moved around the foyer during the day, assisting guests with enquiries, and Edgar booked us for a tour of Universal Studios without any fuss. All in all, hightly recommded by us.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelmorauw, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2009

I am so pleased that you chose to stay at Andaz West Hollywood and even more pleased that you truly enjoyed your stay. I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed all of our food and beverage at the hotel, particularly our restaurant RH and the complimentary treats in the lounge. Thank you for all of your wonderful comments. I will be sure to let Dean and Edgar know how helpful they were to you. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not to distant future.
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of September, the last leg on our trip to the US. From the moment we arrived at the hotel and were greeted by the team at Andaz, we were beyond impressed. Having recently been renovated, the hotel looked fantastic both on the inside and out. Our room, which contained 2 double beds, was large and full of light.

The rooftop pool was great, with comfortable lounges surrounding the pool, and a great bar. Though LA is definitely not a place for walking, this hotel is in a good position to get to surrounding restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk, and is a minute away from one of the stops of the LA Hop on Hop off tour buses.

All in all, we had an absolutely amazing time at the Andaz, and would definitely stay there again our next visit to LA. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelmorauw, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2009

Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your most recent trip to Los Angeles. I want to especially thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at our hotel! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your guest room, our rooftop pool and proximity to the fantastic restaurants that this city has to offer. We hope to see you back soon and look forward to providing another "amazing" experience for you.
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

The hotel is in a wonderful location - walking distance to many great restaurants and bars. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. However, be warned that any room ending in '01' (I was in 801) is right by the elevator and it is extremely loud and shakes the entire room (all night long). In addition to that the hotel is in a lively area and it's very noisy all night long. It's the price to pay for being in such a great location. Note that the blinds do not darken the room very well either - so if you are a light sleeper like me - make sure to ask for a room as far away from the elevator as possible....

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelmorauw, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2009

Thank you so much for the review of your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood. I am pleased that you appreciated our great location on the Sunset Strip however I am sorry that you did not find your room to be as comfortable as it should be. Please know that I am looking into this, as we always want to make sure that our guests’ stay is pleasant and satisfying. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and would suggest one of our lovely quieter rooms with a view of the Hollywood Hills.
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Had a very easy and pleasant stay at the Andaz for the weekend. Check-in was a breeze and the room was spotless and a good size. As others have mentioned its a nice touch to have free beverages and snacks in the room, definitely took advantage of that. Internet is also free, that stuff adds up! Also got room service for breakfast one morning, tasty and arrived in 20 minutes.
Besides the hotel itself being wonderful, its kind of amazing to stay somewhere in L.A. where you can actually walk to some bars/restaurants, which you can since the hotel is right on Sunset. And my favorite part...starbucks is only a block away :)
I would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to stay the next time I'm in L.A.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank souxiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelmorauw, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2009

I am so delighted to have the opportunity to read this most complimentary review of your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood. I truly appreciate you taking the time to recognize our distinctive hotel feature such as our check-in process, our complimentary in-room amenities and our close proximity to Starbucks! I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not to distant future.
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of September and, on the whole, we had an excellent time.

The hotel is stylish and funky and all the staff we encountered were pleasant and efficient. Our room was a good size, and the bed was very large and comfortable. The shower was good, and I liked the toiletries.

Soft drinks and snacks (nuts, and chocolate) from the mini-bar were complimentary, which was a nice touch - and they were replenished daily. Coffee and pastries in the morning were good, and there are laptops in the lobby for guests to use.

We only ventured up on to the roof bar/pool once - the weather wasn't at its best on that occasion but, with the sun shining, I can imagine it would be a pretty cool place to be.

I have only one minor quibble... I'd read reviews on TripAdvisor before we went to LA, and consequently was very disappointed when we were not offered a glass of wine during check-in. I felt it would be a bit presumptious to ask for some wine... but it was about 6pm, we'd had a long flight from the UK, and a glass of wine would have been most welcome and a relaxing start to our evening.

Oh, the valet parking charges add up quite rapidly but that's par for the course in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimseab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelmorauw, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2009

Thank you very much for staying at Andaz West Hollywood. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and feedback as we are continuously looking at ways to improve our service. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Unlike some other reviewers, we liked the "living room" feel of the hotel lobby. Yes, they are dressed casually, but its pretty easy to tell who are the ones working there (the tiny laptops they carry around are your first clue). They have drinks and snacks available all the time, computers that guests may use, and the staff is always nearby to help if you have a question or request--they are not barricaded behind a counter in a corner.

This was our first visit, so I am not familiar with how the hotel looked before the renovation, but I definitely like their style now. The room was comfortable with a modern feel (not over the top), yet grounded in the hotel's history, with the classic rock LP's on the table--one of them cleverly actually being guest information. Free complimentary snacks and non-alcoholic drinks in the room daily--a nice departure from the increasing trend of overpriced minibars that know the minute you take something.

The rooftop sundeck/pool is not to be missed, but keep in mind it closes at sunset. Large chaises, private cabanas, bar service, and unparalleled panoramic views of LA. What more can be said?

Great location, right on the Sunset Strip. You can walk across the street to the House of Blues or next door to The Comedy Store.

Valet parking is $28/day (ouch!). But wireless internet is free. Check out the fact sheet on their website for other amenities--it has a lot of good info in a concise format.

My only gripe is that we were Priceline customers, and were treated as such. We got a room on the first floor of guest rooms, in the rear of the hotel (the front side has the sunrooms and views), with two double beds (it was just my wife and me). This was not unexpected given the deal we got. But when we checked in, we were told that a king room was not available at that time, but we could come back later and ask for one and maybe even on a higher floor. When we did this (we spoke to a different employee), we were basically told we got what we got because of the price we paid on Priceline and that it is all that we were guaranteed by doing such. She made it seem that it would not be an option. This was our only negative experience with the hotel staff, but from that point on it just felt different.

Overall, a good experience. Probably even better if you're paying rack rate.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmohlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelmorauw, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2009

Thank you for staying at the Andaz West Hollywood and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel such as our location, rooftop pool and “living room” feel. I want you to know that we value every guest that stays at the hotel and apologize that you felt otherwise. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and should you choose to use Priceline again, which offers our Hollywood Hillside view rooms, know that you can upgrade to a Sunset View Room for a nominal fee should you wish to do so. Thank you again.
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,732 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,088 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
427 reviews
West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
86 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: £190 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the twinkling lights of the Sunset Strip and the picturesque Hollywood Hills, Andaz West Hollywood is centrally located to the best dining, shopping, and activities in Los Angeles. This iconic destination is home to Los Angeles’ highest rooftop pool and includes breathtaking views of the city, private cabanas, and a full-service bar. All 239 rooms boast spectacular views of the Hollywood Hills on one side and the Sunset Strip and downtown Los Angeles on the other. Enjoy complimentary in room snacks and non-alcoholic beverages along with a nightly wine hour and complimentary wi-fi. Step out of Andaz West Hollywood’s front doors, and explore iconic music and entertainment venues including Whisky A Go Go, The Viper Room, The Roxy and the famous Comedy Store. Enjoy California-inspired, farm-to-table cuisine at Riot House Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing