We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - stay away from the Montrose!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I spent two nights at Le Montrose about a year ago (a bit slow at getting round to this review!) and it was probably the worst hotel experience I've had. We were checked in for three nights but left after two (we moved to The London @ West Hollywood which was fantastic!). Main issues were:

1. The hotel is MUCH more run down than it appears on its website!!
2. The air conditioning is not built it - it is an external unit attached to the outside wall - it's noisy and only cools half of the room.
3. We booked two adjoining rooms but were told when we arrived that the second room wouldn't be available until the following day, which meant we all had to cram into one room for the first night.
4. There was a plumbing issue that caused the toilets to regurgitate previously flushed contents. Not pleasant. When we alerted staff to this, they simply looked blankly at us - no offer to send someone to look at it, or change to another room.

I'll be returning to LA in January and will be sure to NOT stay at The Montrose!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bindytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 588 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

Truly awful experience at this hotel. It looks nice from the outside and in photos, but it's a mess inside. Walls so thin I could hear the people in next room getting it on - literally. Shower didn't work and despite 3 calls to front desk it was never fixed. The fridge in the room had a very loud constant buzz and hotel engineering said "they are all like this." Street noise was terrible because windows are old and provide no sound barrier. You can hear every footstep in rooms above. Hotel is filled with 20-something hipsters looking to party in Hollywood. If you are over 30 or on business, STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travel02119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This place is a hidden gem! This was our second stay in a year and it was even better than the last time. Laurie was very helpful in planning our stay, car rental, car service, etc. All the staff members were very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in a king suite both times and loved it. We even got the room we asked for. It is in a residential neighborhood so not all the rooms have a great view, but ours did. Because it's in a residential neighborhood it is very quite, but close to all the action. The location is fantastic! Short drive to many attractions and within walking distance of the sunset strip, restaurants, stores, etc. It is a adjacent to Beverly Hills so the area is very nice. This is not a large hotel by any means so if you're looking for spacious bathrooms with whirlpool tubs, this isn't the place. It's not the Beverly Hills Hotel but a great boutique hotel with a rooftop pool and hot tub. We will go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Probably the best accomodations and definitely the best value we can remember over a number of years.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsainta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Although not one of the fancy-shmancy LA hotels, Le Montrose is a hidden gem. Great location in the midst of West Hollywood. Helpful friendly staff, very clean, great breakfast. Our suite was modern, tastefully decorated, large and comfortable. There was a mini kitchen, step down living room area (with pull out couch) with working gas fireplace, the king bed was amazingly plush! The rooftop pool, although not huge, was nice. Lobby was small, but modern and pleasant. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamaes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

My wife and I went to LA for the first time and had a hard time finding hotels to stay in. A friend told us about the Le Montrose and we booked immediately. We were so happy to find it was exactly what we were looking for. It has a beautiful (but small) pool, good sized rooms, clean and was in a great location. Parking, while expensive ($30/day) was so easy and accommidating. Most importantly, the staff was by far the best i've ever experienced. Everyone was so friendly, from the room service to the maids to the valet and the front desk. We had never been to california before, but we had no problem getting anywhere we wanted with a little help from our friends at the front desk. They have direction cards that get you to every major hot spot in hollywood. We would stay here again anytime and would suggest it to anyone looking.

Pros: staff, location, clean, pool
Cons: valet price, size of pool

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJL09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We were in West Hollywood for a couple of days visiting our son, who lives there. Loved the hotel. Suite was very large and well-appointed. Really nice rooftop pool and lounge area. Great staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dltrgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,722 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
414 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
890 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montrose Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montrose Suite Hotel

Address: 900 Hammond St, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: £182 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Montrose Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet neighborhood just steps from Los Angeles’ Sunset Strip, Le Montrose Suite Hotel is designed with your privacy and comfort in mind. From the exclusive Privato Lounge and rooftop pool with panoramic Hollywood views, to our stylish studio and one bedroom suites, each element of Le Montrose is beautifully detailed with warm, urban appeal, sleek sophistication and an edgy, elegant attitude. Our West Hollywood location finds you minutes from the finest shopping, restaurants, and nightlife that Los Angeles has to offer. A daily $20.00 Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Montrose Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Montrose Hotel West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing