We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price but nothing amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price but nothing amazing”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This is our second time in LA. First time we stayed in Santa Monica so this time we decided to stay closer to the action and stayed in West Hollywood.

Its simple and basic. And if thats all you need then this isn't too badly priced. Room was clean and we had all the facitlies we needed. Just don't expect 5* service. Check in and out took about 5 mins. Remember to tell them you need wifi access and you will get a password to use when in your room. That was a bonus. Room itself was small but did the job. Bathroom was tiny and not much space to put your toilettries especially if there are 2 of you.

The most annoying thing about the hotel was one - the fire alarm went off at abut 9am one morning with no explanation that this was a practice or real. We just went back to sleep. When we mentioned this at check out, the lady just went "oh, I wasn't in on that day" and didn't even apologise. Second - why do the maids have to vacuum in the corridor at 9am I don't know. That would always wake us up. Parking is expensive at $27 per day but its pretty hard to find free parking in LA.

You still need a car to get around ro Sunset Blvd, Hollywood Blvd, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, etc.

Given this was our second trip, I think 3 days was too much as we had done everything the first time round. We would have been happy with just 1-2 days.

Overall, it was an ok hotel, situated in a gay area. There was no trouble.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you for your review.

Ramada Plaza Hotel-West Hollywood is a property with a terrific location and provides good value for money.

We don’t claim to be a 5 star hotel, however we do offer a variety of on-site retail locations that most hotels in Los Angeles do not.

Starbucks Coffee, Supercuts, O! Burger, Enterprise rent-a-Car, Wells Fargo Bank, UPS Store and K24 restaurant are available on-site for all of our guests.

The hotel is well maintained on a daily basis.

WiFi is complimentary and the hotel is currently in the process of upgrading its bandwidth to provide our customers with greater speed.

The guestroom is average size compared to most properties.

The fire alarm was accidentally triggered by a guest and was a false alarm. Anytime there is a test of the fire protection system, it is scheduled in advance and all guests are notified to avoid any inconvenience. Alarm testing always occurs in the afternoon, never in the morning.

Normally room attendants do not vacuum corridors until mid to late morning in order not to disturb our guests. I will remind them to wait until later in the morning before vacuuming.

Parking is expensive in West Hollywood period, though our overnight price is comparable to most hotels in the city and surrounding areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    883
    624
    228
    203
See reviews for
394
664
335
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles CA
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2011

The title says it all. I checked in with a couple of friends for a total of 3. We checked in and were questioned a couple of times about our bed situation. I said one king as I had stated in my reservation with a roll away bed. I kept being pushed to get 2 double beds and a roll away. After a few minutes of standing my ground, a friend comes over and asks if everything is okay. It was a bizzare check in experinece. The staff seems rude, uptight, and stand offish. I also called to question a couple of extra charges. Once again, it was a pain in the rear, to get an explanation. It seeemd as the person didn't care what I had to say and seemed annoyed that I was even asking. When I left the hotel, I thougth the bill was taken care of. But they put a 5.00 charge and a 44.00 charge on as a deposit and authorization charge which will be taken off in a few days. Thats all I wanted to know. Like I said, it was a bizzare hotel customer service experience with the extra couple of charges that will be taken off in a few days. However It was super clean, modern, beds comfortable. I would reccomend to a friend, however I would give them a heads up check in and check out will be a pain in the rear. And don't expect customer service with a smile. Also I couldn't do check out on my tv. But I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bustravlr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you for your review.

I apologize for the inconvenience your experienced during check-in / check-out.

After inquiring with our front desk about the situation, I understand that you booked your reservation through an online travel agency. Apparently, the reservation we received from them reserved a double-double room for you and your guests.

At the time of check-in, there were no standard king rooms available so the staff suggested a double-double room to accommodate the number of guests.

However, this is no excuse for less than satisfactory customer service. We will review your concerns with our staff at our next meeting.

Regarding deposits, the hotel does obtain authorizations to cover room charges and incidentals during a customers stay. If a deposit is paid by credit card, our merchant bank usually releases funds within 24 hours. If a deposit is paid by cash, the deposit, less any incidental charges are refunded at checkout.

I do appreciate your comments about the cleanliness and the bed comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

For the price this is a great hotel. A great location in W Hollywood with a very nice pool and small gym. My room was on two levels with two giant TVs and was much more than I expected for the price. I'd certainly stay here again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thePaulhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding Ramada Plaza Hotel - West Hollywood.

We feel Ramada Plaza is a hotel that offers extremely good value for money and provides an excellent location for guests who want to enjoy Hollywood, West Hollywood, Los Angeles and Beverly Hills.

It sounds like you stayed in our 2 story loft suite. Its a wonderful room, split level rooms, living room downstairs, bedroom upstairs. A 42" HDTV is located both upstairs and downstairs featuring full HD movies and sporting events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Similar to other posts about the Ramada it is indeed a good value and great location. The check-in was inconvenient as the lady at the desk did not have 'permissions' to perform our check-in and we had to wait on the manager who was already doing a check-in of the party before us. Not sure if the challenge was technical or staff training but after a delay we were finally provided room keys. Of note, the lights in our room were energy efficient so when we first flipped the switches the room was poorly lit and would have been unsatisfactory. After a several minutes passed the lighting improved as the bulbs warmed and provided adequate lighting. We did not have a car so the "ever popular" parking charge was not something encountered during our trip but it really is ridiculous. The only real complaint for our stay was the Internet connection (WiFi). I cannot understand how a hotel in the 21st Century can have such a poor Internet connection. Please don't come to the hotel expecting to do even normal Internet activities. The hotel should know that most travelers use the Internet for research, mapping, reservations and much more.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtnbik20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Thank you for recent review about your stay at Ramada Plaza Hotel - West Hollywood.

I agree with your statement that Ramada Plaza Hotel does provide a great location and is good value for the money you pay for accommodation.

All lighting in our hotel is energy efficient, so it does take a few moments before the CFL bulbs provide their best lighting.

Though the overnight parking charge may seem high, its inline with other area hotels charge for overnight parking. Parking is an area where West Hollywood has had some major challenges so people do tend to pay a premium for parking whether for hotel, retail or restaurant use.

Regarding WiFi, the hotel has been exploring options regarding enhancing our service due to increasing demand for internet bandwidth. I'm very please to announce that the hotel will be increasing its bandwidth capability and therefore, will be able to provide increase speed to our clients and customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Our stay at the Ramada Plaza was pleasant and delivered what we expected from the hotel and the feedback from fellow travellers. It does offer very good value for money for what you can expect to pay in LA.

The rooms were clean and well presented - and surprisingly quiet. Excellent sized TV in the rooms. The best attribute was the incredibly comfortable beds.

It offers well rounded accommodation at a reasonable price. You don't go in expecting the standards of a hotel like The Avalon or The London but it isn't trying to be them. If you go in knowing what to expect and what is on offer then it wont disappoint.

It is well located in the gay district of West Hollywood. Whilst you can walk to some decent places in the area - LA is not a walking city so you'll need a car for most things in this town.

The internet access was disappointing (given it is suitable only for checking social network sites and email - even watching a youtube clip was a struggle) given the extent of internet access in USA these days - but was forewarned by other reviewers so was prepared.

The service whilst professional and succinct was not particularly warm or conversational - it particularly stands out in such a service orientated country.

The rooms have a coffee machine in them but I do find it strange that US hotels are one of the only ones I've encountered not to include a means of getting hot water for tea etc. In the end we managed to get some warm water through the coffee machine as a substitute.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if wanting a hotel that offers decent value for money and reasonable, clean and well-rounded accommodations - in a decent part of LA.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flaxy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thanks again for your review of Ramada Plaza Hotel - West Hollywood.

We appreciate your comments an agree that our hotel offers very good value for money for what you can expect to pay in LA.

The rooms were clean and 42" HDTV are very nice amenity for a moderately priced hotel. The beds are comfortable and we do receive quite a few compliments regarding them.

The hotel is well located and you can walk to the Sunset Strip and the Beverly Center. Other local attractions like Universal Studios, Dodger Stadium or the Staples Center does require a rental-car or a taxi.

We are aware of the concerns regarding the internet speed at the hotel. We are exploring options to increase bandwidth to meet the increased demand on our network for email, music-film downloads, etc.

We are also adding tea to our in-room coffee service due to guest demand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We recently stayed at the Ramada for 3 nights. Hotel is very basic but clean. We booked a loft suite - I highly recommend spending a bit extra money to get the nicer room! It was very nice. Bed was upstairs and lounge/ kitchen and bathroom downstairs. The bathrooms are old and could do with a facelift and our bath/shower was VERY slow to drain. But for what we paid we would never complain, didn't really
worry us. Location was great. However public transport is terrible in LA. We still caught taxi's everywhere. We found the front desk staff could not really understand us and weren't very helpful when we had questions etc. But overall it was a great hotel to start our US trip and we highly recommend it!! Just don't be picky or fussy or have high expectations and you will be happy!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinh1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Thank you for your recent comments on TripAdvisor.

Our 2 story loft suite is a very nice room with nice amenities and is quite unique. Most 2 room suites are generally located on the same level. The kitchenette, living room and bathroom downstairs and a seperate sleeping area upstaris.

Getting around Los Angeles can be difficult at times. Renting a car is sometimes more cost effective as opposed to taking taxi's.

I'm sorry to hear the front office was not helpful regarding questions. If our front desk staff are unable to assist, we have a concierge staff available that can answer questions and make reservations for taxi's, tours, restaurants and local events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Our experience at the Ramada Plaza Hotel, West Hollywood was pleasant without being outstanding. The location of the hotel is quite central between Beverley Hills and the Hollywood Strip, although both are a significant walk away. The rooms were very clean and quite comfortable however their was substantial street noise throughout the evenings. The majority of the staff we dealt with were quite helpful, although upon checking in on our first evening the staff member we spoke to was a little sarcastic when we were asking for assistance. All in all, a decent place to stay as it is quite reasonably priced for the area it is within but it won't blow you away.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolfingOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Ramada Plaza Hotel, West Hollywood.

Our location is central to Beverley Hills and the Sunset Strip. Though the Beverly Hills border is approximately 6 blocks away, the Sunset Strip is actually just 2 blocks away and guests do walk to the strip from the hotel. The Beverly Center is also approximately 7 blocks away and guests tend to walk there and take a short cab ride back to the hotel.

The hotel is located on Santa Monica Blvd., (Historic Route 66) and is a busy street during certain peak times of the day, however most of the time, street noise is minimal and not an inconvenience to our guests.

Our hotel is a very good place to stay when exploring Los Angeles, Beverly Hills, Hollywood and West Hollywood. It provides good value for money and offers many of the amenities our more expensive competitors provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
978 reviews
West Hollywood
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
392 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,899 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites

Property: Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Address: 8585 Santa Monica Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel-West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza Suites West Hollywood
Ramada West Hollywood
West Hollywood Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing