We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I fell in love with Sunset Marquis”
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Marquis
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I fell in love with Sunset Marquis”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I fell in love with the Sunset Marquis. The hotel has such incredible Hollywood history and has a great rocker vibe. The staff was extremely kind and helpful no matter where you were in the hotel. The breakfast was DELICIOUS - you must get the Almond Protein drink! The location is GREAT which was helpful because we could walk to most places and avoided LA traffic.

Unfortunately the air conditioning in my original room was not working correctly (the room was nearly 80 degrees!). I must admit that I was extremely disappointed since I expected a much nicer room and experience upon recommendations. The hotel manager was extremely understanding, kind and helpful – quickly offering us another room (with working air conditioning) and complimentary breakfast for the inconvenience. The second room was overall MUCH nicer than the first – from the furniture to the cleanliness. Due to the change, I had a wonderful experience and will certainly stay at Sunset Marquis again for business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Request a newly renovated room - it was like night and day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle428100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    133
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
72
202
42
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Exceeding your expectations is what they do! Outstanding rooms, great grounds with a resort feel that private and relaxing. Expensive but you get what you pay for. The staff is one of the best that I have ever encountered! Treat yourself and stay at one of the best Hotels on Earth!

Room Tip: Go for the Villas.... exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Who would think you could find a quite tucked away space in West Hollywood! The Sunset Marquis is a landmark of sorts and delivers top service and a serene atmosphere. The food was fantastic. We are still talking about the RockStar Burger! We had the pleasure of staying in one of the newer rooms, with a bed you can't help but have a deep sleep in. An unbelievable experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancew1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

stayed there for a few nights last week; staff was extremely helpful, kind and obviously well selected and managed; restaurant recommandations were excellent ("Sushi Wa" especially); quality and overall presentation of the sunday brunch was a particularly nice surprise; restaurant and restaurant's bar area were quite relaxing; villa pool area could use a more upmarket make-over; hotel rooms could definitely use a complete remodeling job (worn-out and dirty carpeting, noisy AC, worn-out bathroom fixtures, poor soundproofing between rooms and between room and hallway).
will definitely go back for drinks and brunch or dinner; will most likely wait for a retrofit before staying there again ... too bad as this hotel has personality and its staff is outstanding

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank business_nomadNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Cold beers with the wife and billy bob talking Texas while his table eyeballed us. No better place to stay in the US and I travel for pleasure more than anyone I know. Valets you can trust. Concierges that love to help. Front desk a bit snooty at times and the art gallery staff suggested a piece to 'start my collection'. I may look, smell, sound, and taste redneck but I own a Picasso---presumptuous punk. But besides that---true perfection. Quiet but also a party. Celebs and musicians who act like regular people. No paparazzi mongers around. I am about to draft horrid reviews of a cape cod resort and a NYC luxe hotel so I thought I'd achieve some karmic balance by shouting my love for the best.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdadams4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed in a one bedroom villa for my birthday with some friends. I only saw the villa rooms so cannot comment on the standard hotel rooms. The property is very peaceful and quiet with large bamboo blocking sighlines to neighbors. The room was spacious and truly felt like a holiday cottage somewhere. The spa pool is located down a path with a koi pond and fountain. Bri from the villa pool area was fantastic, went above and beyond, and took care of my friends and myself all day.

I highly recommend the villas to anyone who wants a bit of serenity in L.A.!

Room Tip: Choose a villa, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassportandVisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Huge room made it feel like home amidst a busy two days. Very comfortable beds and sofas and a very quiet space, even in a hotel known for it's night life. I did notice the damp smell in the halls and it was a bit overpowering at times, but it never got to my room at all.

This isn't a cheap place by any means, but compared to many others in the area, the price is acceptable and the stay consistent. Easy walk for coffee in the morning or nightlife on Sunset or Santa Monica, if the hotel bar isn't enough for you.

Room Tip: I had many emails offering a room upgrade for a nominal amount. I had booked a standard one. Was tem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,688 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,006 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,901 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Property: Sunset Marquis
Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-2404
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing