We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff hovering over you......”
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Marquis
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Staff hovering over you......”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Firstly, the hotel is in a fab location! It is handy because it is at the end of a dead end street too. Limited traffic and close to all the sites. However, I just felt constantly surrounded by staff. Everywhere I turned they were there, swarming around. Also, there was a turndown service. The housekeeper was doing the service for us while we were in the room........huh? I didn't really like that. They seemed to be looking for the opportunity for a tip everywhere we turned. I was travelling with my 3 young children and an elderly person. One evening we asked the concerige for a recommendation for a 'family friendly' place to eat. She recommended the Grove. She assured us that they had plenty of restaurants and they would be open late. It was about 8:30pm when we got into the taxi. If staying open 'late' is 10pm, that is not my definition of late. The whole place was about ready to shut down. Ugh.
The morning we were due to check out, at 8:30am, a rude housekeeper kept ringing our doorbell and knocking on the door. Uh,.......we were checking out later that morning. Why would she be disturbing us at that hour? Would I return? Probably not. This hotel seems to be cut out for the 50 something year old very wealthy people. Not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmonthebanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    133
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
72
202
42
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend. Iit was our third stay at this property so obviously, the previous stays were very impressive--as was this one. Although we booked just a standard room, we were upgraded to a suite at check-in, In addition to all of the extra room, we really enjoyed the spacious bathroom and the dual sinks-something you don't find in most properties. The location on a quiet residential street is wonderful, yet there are restaurants and retail stores just a short walk away to either Sunset or Santa Monica Blvd. Another huge draw--since the Marquis does not have a gym--is the free use of Equinox--a top notch fitness facility just down the street.

The only negative we experienced was the ridiculous min-bar charges. When we returned to our freshly made-up room one afternoon, the mini-bar (which we never, ever utilitize) door was ajar. We closed it and upon checking out the next day, found that SIX mini-bar charges had been added to our bill. They were immediately removed but I really wish properties would eliminate this nuisance--or at least take a physical inventory instead of relying on technology that fails more often than it works.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxandmci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Fabulous hotel in wonderful grounds in west Hollywood. The rooms are beautifully appointed and equiped and I felt like I had arrived in a little haven after the hustle and bussle and traffic of LA. An excellent restauarnt and very reasonably priced with friendly but efficient service. Pool area a delight.
Concierge were very helpful when I had some issue with my flight and my only complaint was I would have liked to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The villas are beautifull with bathrooms that make you feel like a star!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 231greyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have stayed at the Sunset Marquis nearly every time we are in LA, since 1999. Yes, there are always stars there, yes the pools are gorgeous. However the property has grown so, and the sweet level of care that once was has declined. The most troubling change is every single thing is an extra charge: internet ($12/day), newspapers, morning coffee is $15 for 2 cups just to bring back to the room (no maker in the room), parking, breakfast, and bottles of water. Sunday, they ran out of NY Times at 9 am. It was constant and the Marquis is expensive. Being charged for every little item is irritating and adds up, obviously. We'll look for a new smaller venue while in LA.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite and ask for a deal. "What can you do for me?" Make sure you ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

There's a good chance you'll spot someone you recognize during your stay at the Marquis. It's famous for hosting celebrity types. While we were here, Jane Fonda attended a photo exhibit on premises & former Steelers coach, Bill Cowher, lounged by the pool. Steven Tyler apparently just checked out (of the hotel, that is). In fact, there's a recording studio in the basement.

Now about the details:

Car rental. Midway Car Rental has a deal with the Marquis where it drops off/picks up your car right at the hotel. I rented my car at Midway near the airport & dropped it off with the concierge. Of course, you can pick up/drop off at any Midway location the old fashioned way, but this gives you flexibility. No extra cost & concierge can take care of all the arrangements.

Room. I stayed here twice recently. Once in a standard room on my own, once in a "villa" with my teenage son.

The standard room was...roomy. It smelled fresh (smell is not to be underestimated or taken for granted). The bedding was plush & super-comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with 2 shower-head shower. Nice, thick towels, too. My room was on the ground floor & faced the pool. There was a little patio with an outdoor couch & coffee table. I enjoyed just chillin' there in the evening.

The "villa" is a bit of a misnomer. Really, it's a suite that's tucked away on the opposite side of the property in a 2-level building (vs 3-levels for standard rooms) & gives you more privacy. The path that leads to the villas is draped with vines and lined with palm trees - feels like you're entering a more serene world. The room itself had a spacious bedroom & bathroom (shower & big tub), plus a large living room. This room had an L-shaped couch, flat screen & adjacent dining/conference table that could easily seat 6-8 people. No patio here (other villas did have a small, but cozy sitting area outside). The villas have their own pool.

Pools. There are 2 that I saw/used. The main pool is large and has plenty of seating. The smaller pool is adjacent to the villas, and not as pretty (but more private). There's a small stage next to the pool that's used for occasional performances.

Restaurant. The decor is tasteful and the food excellent. We opted for our dinner here a number of nights rather than venturing out. There are a few vegetarian options - I would've loved a couple more. Beautiful, serene outdoor setting (under a roof, but open) facing a little fishpond. Just a pleasure eating here.

Etc. There's a trendy bar off the lobby and one outdoors next to the restaurant. The hotel offered a voucher for a free drink at check-in. There's a gallery of famous photographs of musicians adjacent to the lobby. Pretty cool, even if you don't buy any. NightBird, a functioning recording studio, is in the basement. A ton of famous acts have used it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravel411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Tropical gardens, secluded spacious rooms, wonderful photos of musicians throughout, especially in the Morrison Gallery, a great breakfast buffet and fabulous dinner in an open air restaurant amid flowing water and gardens...minutes away from the Sunset Strip! It was delightful. Celebs among the hotel guests.

Room Tip: Away from elevator above the pool was great....sure worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baystraub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Booked a villa room $500+/ night- found it to be dark, lights difficult to operate, badly leaking shower, pool staff aloof and uninterested, petty charges for Internet , early morning coffee and newspaper ...
Too many choices in LA to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APRIL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,688 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,006 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,901 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Property: Sunset Marquis
Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-2404
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing