We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Favorite”
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Marquis
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson Wy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always a Favorite”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Sunset Marquis is always a favorite. My wife and I posted up for the weekend in a newly renovated Deluxe Junior Suite. The refresh on the rooms is excellent, the beds are wonderful, the service is great and the restaurant is excellent. Bar 1200 has the best whiskey selection of any bar I've ever been to. This hotel is small and quaint, the staff always knows you, welcomes you back, and remembers you by name. It is in a great location off Sunset Boulevard and you can walk to most off campus restaurants, shops, and the Melrose Design District.

Parts of the original building are in much need of a renovation but the charm of remainder of the property make up for some of the very dank halls and stairways.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in a Villa or a Deluxe Junior Suite. The rooms and Junior Suites are in the original hotel bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chawk1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    131
    35
    12
    8
See reviews for
64
199
42
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I love this place and have made several visits. It's discrete, the service is good and the breakfasts are healthy and yummy.

There is only one niggle and that is the charge they make for internet access. In this day and age hotels shouldn't be charging, it should be a standard feature, especially at these prices. Everything else is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We only stayed one night on our way back from Mexico City and thoroughly enjoyed our fabulous suite with really lovely furnishings and it over looked the pool.

Our package included a free drink at the bar, which of course, didn't stop at one...

Our package also included breakfast, which was very nice in a lovely setting with a waterfall, lovely gardens and a waterfall.

My only complaint is that we didn't stay for longer, I could have stayed a week!

Great customer service from the moment we gave our car to the valet right through to check out

Stay here, you will be impressed by the rooms, staff and the great location.. I will definitely be back

Room Tip: Pool View Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memphis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Really enjoyed the dining experience for New Years, great food, with a super menu. The Kin played a few tunes just before midnight which was great. Had a drink in Bar 1200 before going for dinner, loved it, very attentive staff. I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmgw1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In The South
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This review is for Bar 1200 which is attached to the hotel.

Love the small inmate atmosphere of this bar. Darkly lit with several small nooks and crannies with big comfy chairs. Bartender was quick and attentive. Drinks I guess where averagely price for LA. Absolutely loved all the rock memorabilia lining the walls. One of the unfortunately few good things happened the last time I visited LA was going here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last August and had a wonderful time. The hotel is on a small, residential dead end street near Holllywood. When you drive up the hotel looks like a swanky apartment. We were greeted warmly by everyone: the valets, front desk staff and concierge (I have a terrible memory for names but he is the coolest, nicest guy). When we checked in we found out we were upgraded from a 1 bedroom suite to a one bedroom villa! What amazing accommodations! A huge living room/dining room area with a sectional couch, 8 person dining table, wet bar, and flat screen tv. The bedroom was nicely sized with the most comfortable bed EVER. the bathroom was gorgeous-iridescent glass tiles, big shower and beautiful soaking tub. The grounds are beautiful, like a private oasis, lit with fairy lights at night, 2 really nice pools, groovy outdoor bar, wonderful restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. Then there is the whole rock & roll vibe. Lots of great rock photos and guitars in the public spaces. There is also a full, very snazzy recording studio, which the cool concierge gave us a tour of and introduced us to the manager. Many A list performers have recorded there. Lots of A listers stay there too, just not when we were there. Oh well. We plan on returning in February with our teenage daughters. My husband and I keep saying, if we sold our house how long would we be able to live at the Sunset Marquis!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I booked this hotel knowing it had hype, reputation & WeHo Glam. I have to say with this in mind and the price paid I expected more. The room I received was large but looked tired and dated. It was a 1 bedroom suite with a separate lounge & dining area. The bathroom was large and stocked with good quality Aveda products, however the water pressure & temperature wasn't great and the towels were looking & felt old. The heating took about 4 hours to adjust from being quite cold to a more appropriate temperature and having to pay for WiFi was frustrating. Additionally i was unable to use more that one device on my paid connection (even when i disconnected from one and tried to log-in to another i was prompted to pay again) - frustrating! I had room service which was fine and the minibar selection was varied and a little different which was cool. I had a drink at the bar and waited and waited for service due to the focus towards the A-lister that was also there and found that frustrating. Yes it was cool to see the who's who of hollywood but I expect good service and a good room and only received average on both.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacobASmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,662 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,640 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
981 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,809 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Property: Sunset Marquis
Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-2404
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing