We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my all time favourite hotels”
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Marquis
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here on business in May 2014 and it has become one of my favourite hotels ever.
Great clean, modern feel to it. Has a boutique, friendly vibe to it as well as a rock and roll edge with the artwork and gallery.

The bed in my room was one of the comfiest i've ever slept in (including my own) and the shower in the bathroom was amazing. It also had a great selection of Aveda toiletries AND free wifi. The pool was also very nice to relax around and the sunloungers were cushioned and comfortable.

Location wise it is very central to West Hollywood and the Sunset Strip. I will definitely be staying here the next time I return to LA.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hall284002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent boutique hotel. Excellent service. Great environment, friendly staff. We recommend the pool level rooms. The restaurant is highly recommended for breakfast lunch and dinner. Concierge service is greatand personalized. The only comment is on the wifi where you have to purchase a data package per device per room. Its not the $12 a day per device but more why the need from the hotel to charge that when u r already paying a premuim high price for the room and services? Highly recommended in this part of the city.

2  Thank Keidi71
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel was not a 4.5 star! It came close to a 4 star.
The valet and Wi-Fi rates were ridiculous.
The location is great, service is good.
The rooms were old with a musky odor. Overpriced.
However, the bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JetSetterV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An amazing hotel. So much character and a choice of pools. First time I've ever had a bed more comfortable than mine at home. Really enjoyed Sunday brunch. Perfect location particularly if you want to take in live music on the strip. Anyone who loves rock music shouldn't stay anywhere else in LA - you should see the photos and will be amazed by who's stayed there. We only stayed 3 nights but would love to go back for a week.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great hotel, feels like a tranquil oasis in the middle of this busy city. Location is as good as it can be in the sprawl of LA. The standard rooms are nice but if you can stretch the budget a bit opt for a poolside suite which are amazing. The pool and bar areas are the real reason to choose this hotel; really feels like you've escape the city. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenFMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Wow what a gem. Rarely do you find a place where you feel the history of Hollywood without the attitude. The staff are super friendly and the whole place feels welcoming without the pretension one might expect from such an iconic venue. I was most impressed by the beds. Felt like i was lying on clouds.. With a lovely range of pillows. Really great and I'll be back

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank plasticd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great hotel with perfect location in West Hollywood. My wife and I stayed there from April 4th to the 7th. The hotel is well maintained and the staff's attention to detail was impeccable. Only complaint was our room was just outside the elevator, so we were disturbed nightly by returning guests who obviously had too much to drink. Can't blame the hotel for that...in fact we were credited the cost of the valet parking by the hotel to help compensate for our disturbance. I thought that was a really nice gesture, especially since we didn't ask to be compensated and they were not obligated to do so. The highlight of the SM's commitment to quality and customer service was the returning of my wife's necklace which she left in the room after checkout. We called the hotel from the airport, they had the staff check the room, locate the necklace (Not Hollywood expensive, but definitely costly and precious to us), and shipped to us the next day.

Thanks Sunset Marquis for a wonderful stay and we'll definitely recommend your hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,722 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,032 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,075 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-2404
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: £276 - £603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing