We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant and Private”
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Elegant and Private”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The Sunset Tower is a great art deco hotel right on Sunset blvd and perfectly located should you wish to enjoy the West Hollywood nightlife. Though the standard room reminds me of a NY hotel the larger rooms are very nice and offer great views of Los Angeles. The personnel is professional and very helpful. The pool is the right size and remains private...for an LA hotel pool. The rates are decent for this type of hotel.
I recommend this elegant and quiet hotel for those who want to walk in John Wayne's footsteps or just feel at home on the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisSaintCalbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    116
    39
    17
    18
See reviews for
145
289
85
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I've stayed at the Sunset Towers twice now and absolutely love it. The rooms are great, the pool area is fantastic and the staff make your stay so easy and worthwhile. It's a few minutes walk to the Strip, a quick taxi ride to Hollywood and great for just strolling around the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I spend about a third of my time on the road, so I’ve become a bit jaded about what hotels call “hospitality.” Even very good hotels, rarely exceed my expectations. With so much travel, I am always happy to be heading home – except when I stay at the Sunset Tower.

Somehow, the Sunset Tower keeps distinguishing itself as the only hotel in the US that I actually regret having to leave. I find myself looking out the window at a panorama of LA, or luxuriating in the tub, or in the shower with the window open overlooking a dog park, or sitting on a chocolate-colored couch just looking around the room while sipping espresso or a cocktail, or relaxing on the terrace or at the bar … and thinking… gawd, I really love this hotel… why can’t I come up with a reason that I need to live here for a few months?

Every interaction with staff, the placement of every item, the unexpected little things that manifest extensive consideration for each guest – it's all done perfectly. I don't know how that is accomplished at the Sunset Tower, when it apparently is unachievable elsewhere. One wonders if there is a hotelier here with obsessive-compulsive disorder that has been channeled in the most productive way.

While the hotel's physical plant and amenities are superb (see below), what really makes it a standout is the staff. It takes great hiring and training (or incredible luck) to develop a staff where every interaction I’ve ever had has left me feeling extremely well taken care of. There’s the right mix of service, humor and care, whether you are dealing with the front desk, doormen, room service or housekeeping. It is five-star service that makes this a five-star hotel. Tim Cunningham is the hotel’s ambassador steering the front desk, and you can feel his concern for guests even when he is not on duty.

The hotel itself is a landmark art deco 14-story apartment tower (in fact, it’s a classic example of Zig Zag Moderne and you’ve seen shots of the exterior in lots of movies) that sits atop Sunset Boulevard, and which has housed a slew of famous residents, including Marilyn Monroe, John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Truman Capote and Howard Hughes. Little mementos of that history can still be found (such as a very funny letter from Truman Capote about his apartment there that hangs framed, and largely unnoticed, on a wall in the wood paneled Tower Hotel Bar and Restaurant, which is located, incidentally, in what was once was Bugsy Siegel’s apartment), as well as bits of art in the rooms that recall the bygone era.

The apartment building got converted at some point in the 1980s into a hotel (dba The St James Club and then The Argyle). Thankfully, about seven years ago, it was saved by hotelier Jeff Klein, rehabbed into the Sunset Tower and completely refurbished in soothing shades of brown (beige, coffee, mocha, chocolate) with a simple understated elegance (that is beginning to become comfortably worn).

There is a terrifically intimate and casually elegant bar and restaurant where Maître de Dmitri Dmitrov seems to have arrived directly from central casting to orchestrate your evening. He greets you as though you are the biggest star in Hollywood (who may actually be tucked away at a nearby table) and tends to you as an honored guest and special friend. The menu is wonderfully simple and comforting, even as the live jazz and attentive service makes the meal feel special. The terrace/pool is a great place for lunch or breakfast or just as a place to refresh for a few minutes between meetings. There is a small but adequate hotel gym in the basement. There is also a small spa and I can recommend reserving the Turkish bath marble “hammam for two” as a great way to unwind with a partner.

Because its bones are that of an art deco apartment building, the rooms and suites vary a lot – each with a special quirkiness that would make an apartment dweller proud to call this unit “home.” I recommend the Premier Suites, Premier Suites with terrace or one of the two penthouses with180 degree wraparound terraces, if they are available and fit your budget. If not, the standard rooms and junior suites have the same qualities – just cozier.

If you are going to stay at the Sunset Tower, I am happy for you... and a little bit jealous.

Room Tip: The Premier Suites (and up) are really incredible. Ask about an upgrade at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Sunset Towers is the hidden gem of West Hollywood. Room was spotless.
The service/staff is top notch and the spa downstairs is the best in the metro area.
The food at the Tower Bar is delicious. The location is conveinient to all the major destinations in the LA metro area.
Across the street from a Starbucks is an added plus.

Room Tip: if you are looking for a room with more square footage, book a jr. suite, if you are willing to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

If you're looking to stay in Los Angeles and be treated like a star, look no further. Sunset Tower Hotel is pure charm. It exemplifies old world Hollywood from its exterior art deco facade to it's rich coffee colored interior wood paneled walls, boasting gold trimming for true period detail. The Tower Bar's wonderful Maitre D', Dimitri greets you upon entering with a smile, as you enter a timeless era of glitz and glamor. Sipping on their renowned blood orange martinis in the Tower Bar, with a casual jazz vibe in the back drop by a trio of band mates all playing in sync with each other, you feel like you find yourself on the set of Madmen! The service is exceptional. Five stars all the way. The pool and terrace have exceptional panoramic views of the Los Angeles Basin. It's a great way to enjoy their popular lobster tacos while you take in the sun and scene at this discreet yet scenie hot spot, or simply take in the al fresco air with a nice glass of New Zealand sauvignon blanc and chill out. Excellent wine list and menu. Home made cookies on your bed side each night. Highly recommend staying here. . I hope you enjoy the Sunset Tower as much as I did! I will be coming back for sure. Cheers!

Room Tip: If available, ask for a South facing room. Its a beautiful view! I love this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoloDLos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This review is for the restaurant only as we did not stay in the hotel. We decided to finish off our honeymoon by eating our last evening meal in the restaurant as we were staying next door in the cheaper but still very nice Best Western. We had booked a table weeks in advance to ensure they could accommodate us as it does not appear to be a place where you can just turn up and expect to be seated.

We had a lovely meal, service was very good albeit a little slow at the start: Maitre de was informed when we arrived yet we had to ask to be shown to our table. Starter portions are large so you may want to consider skipping. (The clams were manageable however the calamari was a main course portion). The menu is available on their website. Lighting is low in the restaurant but they do offer discretion for anyone wishing to dine here and it clearly states on the menu - no photos or mobile phones.

If you want to experience a lovely genuine dining experience with exceptional hospitality I can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loopy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I've wanted to stay here for a long time but had heard mixed reviews. So for this trip I decided to stay and also try the restaurant, which I had wanted to try too.
I booked the lowest rate queen room for $199 which included free wifi and continental breakfast. The young valet man, Holger, was friendly and welcoming and a nice first impression for the hotel. The front desk staff were very nice and told me a little of the hotel's history. They also upgraded me to a king room.
The hotel is an historic property so there are lots of quirky things you'll notice. The elevators are small, and the stair case is narrow and steep but with great
art deco bannister. My room was funky, retro with a nice bathroom. The shower looked nice but the shower head didn't allow for much water. There was no tub in my room. The room did not have a built in closet so a wardrobe with a mini bar and safe served as the closet. It was fine and looked nice but might be a bit small for
an extended stay. The room was pretty small with barely enough room to fit the chair in front of the desk. It would have been impossible for someone to squeeze between the chair and bed with someone sitting at the desk. The room had a nice Nespresso coffee maker and was really quiet and the bed really comfortable.
At first I was a little disappointed in the room but it did grow on me. They do offer a nice selection of 4oz toiletries to bring home and a few brochures that tell the history and all the celebrities that lived there when it was an apartment building.
The continental breakfast is served at the terrace bar/restaurant by the pool. The views over LA are great and the breakfast was really nice. Great coffee, boiled eggs, smoked salmon, a selection of breads, bagels and pastries, delicious greek yogurt, fresh berries, melon, and other fruit. It was a very nice, pleasant setting and
very satisfying breakfast.
I'm glad I've stayed here. It's a Hollywood/ LA icon and it's easy to forgive the quirks of the old building when the staff is this accomadating and the setting and
atmosphere are this nice. Just remember it ain't the Bel Air
I didn't try the spa but I did enjoy my evening at the Tower Bar Restaurant.

Room Tip: The basic rooms are small. I think splurging a little bit for a small suite and a better view wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dantex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Property: Sunset Tower Hotel
Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, the Sunset Tower Hotel was a trendsetter from the moment it opened. Its location on Sunset Strip and proximity to area restaurants, nightlife, and boutiques make it a popular choice for guests visiting West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. Guests enjoy elegant Art Deco styling combined with modern conveniences and amenities including the famous Tower Bar. The Sunset Tower Hotel also features a luxurious pool area, fitness center, group facilities, and pet amenities. Tucked away inside of one of Hollywood's most recognized architectural landmarks is the Cure Salon & Spa, which features some of the most celebrated international stylists, aestheticians, therapists and med-spa practitioners. Rooms reflect the elegance of the property with stunning views from floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows, Kiehl's Bath Products, gourmet mini bar, flat screen TVs, custom furnishings and artwork. Complimentary WiFi is offered throughout the property. At Sunset Tower Hotel, our goal is to provide a Hollywood-style experience to each guest and ensure their stay is not only comfortable, but exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing