We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Seventh Year. Perfection.”
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Each year for the past seven years, my wife and I have stayed at Sunset Towers. Why, when it's as near as dammit perfection, would we ever want to go anywhere else? From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave you are treated like royalty. We had a Junior Suite for the duration, a lovely room overlooking the pool, with spectacular views over LA, from Sunset Boulevard all the way down to the Pacific. Dawn in LA can be particularly beautiful, as the sun appears and the mist rises gently over the business district – it’s quite stunning. The Terrace Buffet breakfasts are excellent too, and if you’ve ever had enough yoghurt and fruit and sweetbreads, there’s a full menu available. It was my wife’s “significant” Birthday this year and we entertained with friends in the Tower Bar/Restaurant. Everyone made such a delightful fuss – the food and wines were delicious and the service faultless. It was truly a night to remember. The staff are all so genuinely delighted to help that it would be amiss not to mention some of their names - Victoria, Deryk, Jonathan and Angel (truly an Angel in human form who should get Employee of the Month award every Month) on the Terrace, and in the Tower Bar/Restaurant the diminutive but determined Dimitri Dimitrov rules the roost whilst behind the bar, Derek and Jordan shake the cocktails like the professionals they are. Don’t miss out – stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I have now had the privilege, and I mean privilege, to stay in the Sunset Tower for yet another fabulous time. We promise ourselves that we will come back and stay for one day longer each time we leave. This year I celebrated my Birthday whilst there and could not have asked for a more wonderful Birthday-everything from the moment I got up till the time that I 'called it a day' was perfect. Special thanks again to James,Angel, Derrick, Jacob and Victoria for making our breakfasts and days on the terrace a treat.To Tommy, Derek and Jordan for livening up our evenings in the fabulous Tower Bar-and for being such great guys , and I could never forget the fabulous Dimitri who is just simply unforgettable. Thanks so much, roll on next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMcCallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have stayed at the Sunset Tower Hotel many times over the past 4 years & have enjoyed it every time. The staff & service is amazing & always welcoming. This past trip my colleagues & I had the opportunity to meet Jacob who was both bartender & waiter to us throughout our 10 day stay. His level of service was above & beyond & we were grateful to have had met him!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I was revisiting LA after 20 years and choosing this hotel really added to the success of the trip. Its a departure from the normal perfection of boutique hotel to a place with extraordinary atmosphere and history and a brilliant location. From the art deco features to the waiting staff you feel like you are almost living the dream of a bygone era. Very understated and friendly; you are left to feel very special. Having read previous reviews I managed to get one of the suites with balcony only available in the day of check-in and have to say its one of the best hotel rooms I have ever stayed in.
The valet service was fantastic. The other guests were subtly glamorous. I spotted at least one celebrity.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a beautiful, art-deco apartment building turned hotel in Hollywood. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially Stephanie at the Front Desk. This is not a chain hotel, so be aware that it is decorated in the 1920's style that suits it. The Tower Bar and restaurant by the pool is great for people-watching. Just don't expect anyone to actually USE the pool! Views of the city, spa on site, and everyone gets to know you. LOVE IT!

Room Tip: One side faces Sunset BLVD, a very noisy street with cars, sirens and people up all night. Didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very nice hotel with very attentive service. Indisputably expensive but I do think we got value for money. Basic room upgraded on arrival, good restaurant recommendation which they booked for us, valets friendly and efficient. No complaints. Would stay here again if back in LA

Stayed: October 2013
Thank chin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

this was the first time i stayed there-and i've stayed everywhere in LA. it was really extraordinary-the location is excellent, the rooms were good, not great but fine but we had spectacular views. what impressed the most was the service of each and every staff member. of course they were professional but it was more than that, way more!!! they were personable and warm and above and beyond accommodating. the breakfast was delicious-the buffet had the freshest fruit i've ever seen. the dinner menu has something for everyone and it's all great!! it's my new home when i travel to LA, cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,740 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,039 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,098 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: £274 - £511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, the Sunset Tower Hotel was a trendsetter from the moment it opened. Its location on Sunset Strip and proximity to area restaurants, nightlife, and boutiques make it a popular choice for guests visiting West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. Guests enjoy elegant Art Deco styling combined with modern conveniences and amenities including the famous Tower Bar. The Sunset Tower Hotel also features a luxurious pool area, fitness center, group facilities, and pet amenities. Tucked away inside of one of Hollywood's most recognized architectural landmarks is the Cure Salon & Spa, which features some of the most celebrated international stylists, aestheticians, therapists and med-spa practitioners. Rooms reflect the elegance of the property with stunning views from floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows, Kiehl's Bath Products, gourmet mini bar, flat screen TVs, custom furnishings and artwork. Complimentary WiFi is offered throughout the property. At Sunset Tower Hotel, our goal is to provide a Hollywood-style experience to each guest and ensure their stay is not only comfortable, but exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing