We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay - great service”
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay - great service”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I say thanks so much to the Sunset Tower Hotel staff for a great quick trip two weeks ago. Great view from our terrace and a beautiful guest room. Thanks so much to the staff - Stella, Zee, Drew, Bethany and Dannon (we loved the Tower Bar and Restaurant as well) for making us have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Equisport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    116
    39
    17
    18
See reviews for
145
289
85
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Sunset Tower Hotel is by far the best hotel in Los Angeles and I've tried many! Not only because of its great location, but also because if its high-class service and amenities! My favorite part of the hotel is the terrasse from which you have an amazing view over L.A.! The atmosphere is just beautiful and so relaxed. While I spent whole days laying at the pool, I got to enjoy the great food and drinks the hotel has to offer. The service is amazing too and definitely highlights the character of the hotel - a special thanks to Jonathan, Jacob and Jane, who took great care of me and literally read every wish from my lips! You're the best!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carriemcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Sunset Tower Hotel is, hands down, my favorite hotel anywhere in the U.S. Since my first review, I've been a guest 4 more times and each time has been consistently excellent. Although I normally stay in the One Bedroom Suite, I had the opportunity in May to stay in the Penthouse Suite, Room 1501. Room 1501 is only one of two rooms at the top of the hotel, and while it is quite large with an extra-high ceiling and huge windows that open to let in the breeze, the absolute best thing about it is the wrap-around balcony that extends from one end to the other with views of the Hollywood Hills, the Sunset Strip, Century City, and Downtown L.A. As always, the service at the Sunset Tower Hotel was top-notch (a special thanks to the front desk staff Stella and Moussain!), and I felt that I had a consistently good experience beginning with the valets out front. Although the staff do not typically greet by name (difficult even in small hotels), they certainly recognize all their guests and do their best to make sure they are comfortable and happy. I ordered room service one evening and a great steak dinner from the restaurant downstairs was timely delivered and cooked to perfection. When it comes to the food, I especially enjoy my breakfasts at The Terrace restaurant that opens onto the pool area. My biggest critique is that the gym is in need of some new equipment (squeaky and clunky treadmills, argh) but this is a minor nitpick. On the things that really matter (the rooms, the restaurant, the service, the classic Hollywood 'golden age' decor, the location on the best part of the Sunset Strip, etc.), Sunset Tower blows away most of the competition in WeHo AND Beverly Hills. A few tips for new guests: (1) the regular rooms can be a bit small so splurge on the Junior Suite or One Bedroom Suite which usually go for very reasonable prices, (2) the Tower Bar restaurant gets crowded so call ahead to make reservations, (3) if you're on a lower floor, request a room facing on the side away from the dog park. I love the Sunset Tower Hotel and will keep coming back as long as I continue to travel to L.A.

Room Tip: The regular rooms can be a bit small so splurge on the Junior Suite or One Bedroom Suite which usual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RenardFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Came here towards the end our stay in California and was not disappointed. The hotel is classically decorated with the most enormous bath and offering Kiehl's products in the bathroom. The rooms are well appointed and ours was high up on an upper floor offering the most incredible views of Los Angeles. Breakfast here is something very special and the bar in the evening is superb with excellent service and a great range of classic cocktail. It oozes class and elegance and the staff were very helpful. Loved staying here and I hope to come back again soon and stay for a bit longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Check in time is at 3 we showed up at 4 and there were no rooms for us. Front desk told us to go have a drink or eat and come back. We went to the lounge by the pool and there was no "please wait to be seated" sign or hostess so we picked a table. The staff kept looking and would keep walking by. No one asked us if we were being helped yet or even said hi. There was maybe 3 other tables occupied in there. After about 15 minutes of no service we decided to leave.

Finally got to check in shortly after 5, the bell man insisted on taking out bags up which we were perfectly fine bringing our own since we were going up to the room anyways. Then it was an awkward wait for a tip from us.

The housekeeping staff was good. The room and hotel was very nice. The valet parking staff were nice and fast for the most part at opening the hotel doors and car doors for you. There was a couple times they went to get our car and came back to ask what we were driving.

The location is perfect and there is an awesome pub across the street that has a mechanical bull and karaoke at night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Wy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Sunset Tower is a little slice of heaven in the hustle and bustle of West Hollywood. The staff are unpretentious and are so friendly and helpful. The physical plant is old and seriously in need of renovation but the charm of the place along with the staff makes it easy to overlook the worn carpet, old bathrooms, and lack of technology. Jonathan in the Terrace Restaurant and Pool made the entire trip worthwhile. He is the best server we've met in all of Los Angeles and exemplifies the fantastic and friendly service at the Tower. We will for sure stay here again!

Room Tip: The 12th floor corner rooms with a terrace offer a large outdoor terrace, all with sweeping city and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chawk1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel... the Terrace and Tower Bar were excellent. We really appreciated our experience with the valet service here: Patrick was considerate and took excellent care of us and our car.... helped us get my husband's scooter in and out and helped me put it together. We will stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BossLady593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Property: Sunset Tower Hotel
Address: 8358 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, the Sunset Tower Hotel was a trendsetter from the moment it opened. Its location on Sunset Strip and proximity to area restaurants, nightlife, and boutiques make it a popular choice for guests visiting West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. Guests enjoy elegant Art Deco styling combined with modern conveniences and amenities including the famous Tower Bar. The Sunset Tower Hotel also features a luxurious pool area, fitness center, group facilities, and pet amenities. Tucked away inside of one of Hollywood's most recognized architectural landmarks is the Cure Salon & Spa, which features some of the most celebrated international stylists, aestheticians, therapists and med-spa practitioners. Rooms reflect the elegance of the property with stunning views from floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows, Kiehl's Bath Products, gourmet mini bar, flat screen TVs, custom furnishings and artwork. Complimentary WiFi is offered throughout the property. At Sunset Tower Hotel, our goal is to provide a Hollywood-style experience to each guest and ensure their stay is not only comfortable, but exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing