We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Tower Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Andaz West Hollywood(West Hollywood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Standard, Hollywood(West Hollywood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grafton on Sunset(West Hollywood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Jeremy West Hollywood(West Hollywood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chateau Marmont(West Hollywood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palihouse West Hollywood(West Hollywood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sunset Marquis(West Hollywood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holloway Motel(West Hollywood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
895
126
43
19
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
895
126
43
19
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower bartim cunninghamterrace restaurantart decolobster tacoshotel ambassadorlos angelesclassic hollywoodold schoolavocado toasthollywood feelhollywood hotelspecial thanksthe entire stafffloor to ceiling windowsjunior suitehome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,008 - 1,013 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights, & it was the perfect end to our holiday. The Sunset Tower epitomises what a great hotel should be. You don't have to be the cream of LA society to feel special here. The welcome is genuine, from the valet parking guys to the general manager.
Eat & drink in the Tower Bar or on the Terrace. Where the same level of hospitality is evident-not to mention great food & wine.
We were upgraded to a beautiful junior suite by Patrick the general manager, who took the time to stop & chat every day of our stay. The same goes for Dimitri, who ensures his guests in the restaurant are taken care of-regardless of who you are, "A" list or otherwise!
Forget the Roosevelt & Chateau, for a unique slice of old Hollywood coupled with unrivaled good taste & friendliness stay at the Sunset Tower!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPKBOURNEMOUTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

My partner and I enjoy staying at older, historic hotels and I had always wanted to stay at this property. We chose this location because it was convenient to the Farmer's Market and the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, plus the neighborhood seemed to have a number of restaurant choices.
I reserved the Autumn in Hollywood package, which included an upgrade based on availability. In my experience at many other hotels, the promised upgrade always seems to be unavailable. Here, we were not only upgraded from a standard queen room to a
1 bedroom suite, but we were escorted upstairs to view 2 different suites so we could choose our favorite!! Amazing!!
The entire staff was friendly, engaged, and most professional. We asked for some recommendations for dinner, and several of the staff offered their suggestions!! Everyone seemed genuinely sincere about being helpful, and our dinner choice was very good (Tony's) and only a short walk from the hotel. And it was a nice touch to return from dinner to find our turndown service included fresh cookies.
The only glitch was that our complimentary continental breakfast buffet (very good, served in a lovely poolside lounge) was charged to our suite, but on checkout this was quickly and efficiently taken care of and removed from our bill.
I would definitely stay here again- for those of you who love Art Deco architecture and history, this hotel recalls the golden age of Hollywood.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briarbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

My wife and I celebrated our 10th anniversary by staying at the Sunset Tower Hotel and seeing a concert nearby.
Every aspect of the service, from the valet to the request for ice from room service was impeccably on-time, friendly and with a genuine smile!
The front desk manager, Heather Hill, was especially accommodating in all her interactions with us...........we love this hotel and its staff; we'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

This hotel is stunning and right in the heart of Sunset Strip. The staff were so friendly & very helpful. The rooms were small but well appointed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank higgins_kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We recently celebrated our first wedding anniversary by a 3 night stay at the Sunset Tower. Both my husband and I travel alot for leisure so our expectations are usually high. We also come from a city where tourism is a big industry and are used to first class accomodations and excellent customer service. The Sunset Tower is not only a beautiful hotel, the staff was extremely friendly and the food and service was excellent. The rooms were immaculate and we wanted to take the bed home with us. When we arrived we were upgraded to a Jr. Suite with a view of the pool and the city lights. We enjoyed the skyline both day and night. We had planned to eat out both Sat. and Sun night but instead stayed and dined at the hotel and took advantage of the 24 hour room service. It is centrally located and had easy access to many of the areas tourist attractions. The only thing I would say was a negative was the bathroom was very dark and I had to do my hair and makeup in the sitting room. They definately need brighter lights in the bathroom. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay so much that we have decided to make our anniversary an annual event at the Sunset Tower.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler0958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews