We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take me back ASAP!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The London West Hollywood
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Take me back ASAP!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My partner and I stayed at The London in West Hollywood for 5 nights in September.
The service from all the staff was great, Kirk was especially helpful with dining suggestions and organising car rental (which was definitely necessary to get around LA).

The hotel is in a great location near Sunset Blvd, we were able to make use of the complimentary town car a couple of times to get to the Grove and the Beverly Centre for shopping!

We hung out at the gorgeous roof top pool a couple of times, and had lunch on the roof top at the Gordon Ramsay restaurant...both must do's!! Fantastic views of LA from the top!

We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast each morning, even though I have read some people complaints that there was no 'buffet'...there was definitely plenty of delicious food to choose from.

We adored our room, with it's giant bathroom and even bigger bath! We didn't have a huge balcony or a city view, but we didn't mind, as first time visitors to LA (& our first stop to the USA) it was just great to be there! The bed was very comfortable, and we liked the addition of the couch and dressing/vanity area.

The decor and presentation of the hotel was gorgeous, nothing too over the top, but very elegant.

We would absolutely love to return to The London (the most impressive hotel we stayed at during our 6 week stay in the USA!) if we are ever lucky enough to be in sunny California again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,086
    371
    96
    43
    25
See reviews for
298
670
95
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just spent 3 nights during a trip from Australia. Service was great from the time we checked in, loved the rooftop bar & pool. Worth spending extra a little extra for a London Vista room as the view was great.
Easy walk to shopping on Melrose avenue.
Highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: We upgraded to Vista suite which was well worth the extra,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Great hotel tucked away right off Sunset. Walking distance to great restaurants along the boulevard. Rooftop view/pool fantastic - can get 360 view of city . . .from hills to downtown.
Four of us stayed - two for their wedding night. Hotel provided bottle of champagne and snack. Walking distance to The Viper Room.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room had larger balcony but higher floors have better view. If lounge chair relaxation is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMS7403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for seven nights in November, and it has been nothing short of a memorable experience. As attested to by fellow reviewers, rooms at the London West Hollywood are comfortable, well thought out and functional!

Breakfast was very substantial, with a good choice of pastries, bread, bagels, fruits, cereals, cheese, cold cuts and juices. My daily request for a double expresso topped up with regular coffee was met efficiently, and with the choice of a la carte hot dishes, this was always a great way to start the day. Mention must be made of Marina, one of the servers at breakfast - efficient, pleasant and always helpful.

Several meals at the restaurant - Boxwood by day, and Gordon Ramsay at the London by night - were also superb - and inevitably had Gordon Ramsay's special touch and thought in every dish - something we are quite familiar with.

We had lunch on the rooftop - another 'must do' experience at least once during your stay.

What made our stay memorable however had to be the concierge service - in particular Ms Sarah Dandashy who was not just knowledgeable (as one would expect of a top-notch concierge), but was personable, pro-active and engaging. Her suggestions and advice were always well heeded. Special mention must also be made of the kind assistance extended by Kirk and Ian as well!

Bell-boy and porter, Cameron gave us an upbeat and cheery welcome on arrival at the hotel, and was also the person to see us off. A very "sunny southern California' fellow, if I may say so!

As guests of the hotel for a week - we always felt very assured and confident within its premises - beautifully and tastefully decorated with touches of old Hollywood glamour and brightly lit - from the car valet to the doormen to the front desk staff and housekeeping.

If anything - this was a haven and sanctuary within the buzz and busy-ness of Los Angeles. Would I return to stay - definitely!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajidiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

A lovely and relaxing hotel. The service all round was excellent. A special mention to concierge Sarah Dandashy who was particularly helpful. The bedroom was large and comfortable--the bathroom superb. The design of the bedroom ,however,was slightly odd with the very comfortable bed located almost in the middle of the room and the dressing table built in to the back of the bed's headboard,. I' m not sure what the logic of this was. The food was very good. Hoever the breakfast sevice could be sharpened up a bit. On one morning there was a 10 minute wait for a table. This was not because the dining room was full, but because several tables had not been cleared yet after their previous occupants departure. On another morning, it took too long (again about 10 minutes) to replenish the buffet table with fruit/cheese/yoghurt etc. The dinner experience in the Gordon Ramsey restaurant (the same room as used for breakfast) was very fine, but frankly not quite up to it's Michelin star reating. The decor of the room is great for breakfast and lunch but a bit too casual for dinner. Also the taped music (both the choice of music and volume) was not appropriate for me, although I appreciate this is a matter of personal taste. Finally , the bar set up doesn't quite work for me. The breakfast buffet area doubles as the hotel bar in the evening and although the service and cocktails were great, the ambience just isn't right and the room doesn't have the atmosphere which I would expect from a bar in a hotel of this calibre. Hoever, overall this is a very nice hotel and I would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanguard12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahDandashy, Manager at The London West Hollywood, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Zinwah,

First and foremost, thank you so much for the lovely name mention! It was my pleasure to make your trip an enjoyable one! Thank you also for taking the time to write a thorough review, as our team takes all feedback seriously in a continuous effort to exceed expectations. I am sorry you were not pleased with the set up of your room. As an all-suite hotel, our rooms are the largest of all the hotels in West Hollywood (and rival many of those in Beverly Hills). Our rooms with two double beds provide a layout with the beds against the wall, so that might be a room to consider on your next stay! As for your experience in the restaurant, it is again my sincerest apologies in regards to the service. As we offer a complimentary European breakfast table to all of our hotel guests, we can have momentary “rushes” during the large time span in which we offer this service.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to having you join us again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly to book your room and a table for breakfast on your next stay to minimize any wait time!

Warm regards,
Sarah Dandashy
Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or
sdandashy@thelondonweho.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Me and my wife stayed here on our honeymoon for two nights and it was fabulous. A room upgrade on arrival as we on honeymoon and everything about the hotel was awesome. The location, concierge, room size, bathroom, views. Its hard to imagine to ever stay anywhere else when we visit L.A again.

The breakfast was tasty with lots of choice, staff being super friendly with whatever query. We will be back here next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarB132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I found the reviews for this hotel varied and was not 100% sure I made the right choice when booking for a 4 night stay. It also fell over our wedding anniversary (I mentioned that in the booking) and we wanted something special. We drove ourselves from Las Vegas with a rental car, and we struggled a bit to find the property according to the GPS's instructions (in 5 o'clock traffic and coming from a different country...phew it was a bit nerve wrecking). As the hotel is a bit hidden from the street we actually 'stumbled' upon it, so look out if you drive there yourself. But what a gem! Everything was just perfect. The guy that checked us in (I think it was Alfred) wished us well on our 31st wedding anniversary without us saying a thing. He seemed well prepared for anything! Ian at the concierge desk was just as helpful and upon returning from dinner we found a card and a bottle of champagne in our room! It was so special. Small things like these set one hotel apart from another. Our room was lovely and spacious, with a small balcony. But the piece de resistance was THE BATHROOM! One of the most beautiful hotel bathrooms I have ever seen. All white and sparkly! The food in the restaurant was absolutely great, and room service equally great. Staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The only thing we found strange was that there was no one to help us with our luggage (and we had a lot!) so we sort of struggled all the way to the room. It was walking distance from a big mall and we found the location was good. Fantastic beds. Also a small kitchenette in the corner. Overall one of the best hotels ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonkoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London West Hollywood

Property: The London West Hollywood
Address: 1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The London West Hollywood 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The London West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
London West Hollywood
London Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing