We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good but the shuttle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in West Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Otter Rock, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“All good but the shuttle”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We picked this hotel primarily because of the proximity to the airport. Very good hotel experience at this Hampton Inn this past Labor Day weekend. Large room, very comfortable bed, high shower head, plenty of hot water, decent breakfast (although that was a bit crowded with a couple of visiting college sports teams that overwhelmed the breakfast area). Room air conditioning was a bit noisy. The sour note was after we turned in our rental car on Sunday night because we had to be at the airport so early on Monday and the shuttle service at SMF is spotty. We had an early morning (O'dark thirty) flight on Sunday and planned on taking the free Hampton Inn airport shuttle on Monday Morning. When we attempted to reserve the shuttle we were told that the shuttle did not start operation until 7AM. Please. This is a business class hotel and business flyers typically get traveling early as possible. We had to book a taxi (which incidentally was $39.00) to take us to the airport (SMF) on Monday at 4:45 AM.

Room Tip: The hotel is shaped like an L and is 3 floors. I recommend a room like #300, or 203, 304 which acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiingWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    130
    37
    19
    12
See reviews for
132
74
30
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, AK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was just a one night stop, but I was really impressed with the staff. They all smiled sincerely and greeted us. That just doesn't happen everywhere. Very clean everywhere. Loved sitting by the pool to have my morning coffee (although it doesn't open until 9am... would be nice if it was a tad earlier if you just want to sit out there). We didn't get a suite as we were spending so little time there, but our standard King room was nice. I didn't sleep very well but I'm not used to air conditioners either since I'm from Alaska. The location really was super quiet though.
Great location - Ikea is practically next door! Lots of food choices in the area and easy access to anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueeyes1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leua, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Wendebird,

I am sorry to hear about your experience with our beds. We are certainly looking into this, to prevent it from happening again in future. Thank you for taking the time to share details of our hotel in your review. We appreciate this very much. We look forward to your next visit. Have a Fabulous day!

Sincerely,

Leua Malzahn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, CA
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Everyone at this hotel was very friendly & helpful: front desk, breakfast staff, house keeping, etc.

Everything was very clean, hallways, rooms, pool area, elevators, breakfast area. etc. I LOVED the two tiered desk in the room for doing work away from home. The lower desk was on wheels & you could pull it out to adjust to just about any size. Free parking, free internet, free breakfast, it was an excellent deal. The beds & pillows were very comfy & the rooms were very quite with adequate cooling.

The breakfast consisted of cheese omelets, turkey sausage, oatmeal, make it yourself waffles, toast, bagels, english muffins, danish, muffins, fruit, hard boiled eggs, juice, cereal, coffee & other hot beverages.

The reason I dinged them a star is because the beds are pillow top & very thick & the fitted sheets they use don't have deep enough pockets so as soon as you sit on the bed, the fitted sheet comes loose & by the time morning rolls around, you're sleeping directly on top of the mattress. They're also very slippery & the mattress slips off the box spring very easily. My daughter didn't realize the mattress slipped off about 18" & when she sat on the bed, she fell right off onto the floor. Just a nuisance & I'm not a fan of sleeping directly on an uncovered mattress. I'll include photos to show what I mean.

All that aside, I really feel this hotel is excellent & I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is clean. The facilities are clean. The rooms are very roomy and everything works like it's supposed to. This hotel also has some of the most friendly and helpful staff I've encountered. I highly recommend booking this hotel for personal or business use.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sonette E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Off of Reed road is one of the best Hampton Inns I have stayed at. Clean facility, great staff, and location cannot be beat. You're surrounded by great shopping, and a hop, skip and jump from Downtown Sacramento. Truly a must stay if you're coming to Sacramento.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brannon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a very nice one night stay at this hotel on our way to Lassen NP.We chose this location over the others in Sacramento, because it was a good value and offered the room accommodations that we needed (two queen beds). Also, the fresh cookies at 4:00 every afternoon is a nice touch and the buffet in the morning was good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ohanawine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort White, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very nice rooms and easy to find. I was traveling through and found this motel which was easy and close to the airport. I would recommend this motel and would stay there again if necessary. Why is this thing making me type more than I want to. I do not want to type this much. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ray Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leua, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Ray Q,

We were tickled by your comments. Thank you! Please type on. We loved your review and were happy to share this with the team. We look forward to your next visit. Have a great day!

Sincerely,

Leua Malzahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Sacramento
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Airport-Natomas
3.0 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#15 of 81 in Sacramento
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento
Address: 800 Stillwater Rd, West Sacramento, CA 95605-1630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in West Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn and Suites West Sacramento is located a block from RiverPoint Marketplace and is just across the river from downtown Sacramento providing quick and convenient access to historic landmarks, state government buildings, Sacramento City College, four-star restaurants, great shopping and much more. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with free WiFi, iron, flat screen TV and complimentary local calling. Additional hotel amenities include free daily hot breakfast, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, and Suite Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento Hotel West Sacramento
Hampton Inn And Suites West Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing