We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Place With a Great View”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westport Beach / N Mendocino Coast KOA
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I were deeply disappointed by this campground. When we made our reservations this place was a KOA. When we arrived it was no longer a KOA and certainly did not meet KOA standards. The rates had gone up and the KOA Value Kard discount we had been promised was not honored. In addition, we were treated coldly as though we were not wanted there.

As though that was not enough, the campground was not at all as advertised. Our site was small and very hard to get into. Campers were packed into the campground like sardines. I could have tolerated this, but I could not tolerate the terrible state of the bathrooms and showers. We stayed two of the three nights we paid for but left in search of a place with decent showers and restrooms.

This could be a great campground with some upgrades and a lot of basic maintenance. Instead it has been allowed to decay to the point that no one should want to stay there

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

My new wife and I wanted to have a beach wedding, but without any undue expense related to renting a venue. So, we reserved a group campsite at Westport. Our plan was to stake out a piece of sandy beach in the morning, celebrate until quiet time, and get everyone back on the road the following day. Thanks to the Westport staff, the entire event went off without a single backfire. The children were entertained on the playground, our "athletic" friends enjoyed the volleyball court, a few buddies who don't mind cold water went after abalone in the morning, and the scenery was spectacular. The staff was extremely accommodating: we realized we hadn't brought a rake with us so we asked the front desk if we could borrow one. Within minutes, the maintenance chief showed up with 6 types of rakes at our campsite, and asked if he could give us a lift in his little 6x6 vehicle onto the beach, as we had a number of chairs and other items to haul out to the shoreline. Later, I saw him and asked if he needed his rakes back. His reply? "Enjoy your day, I'm sure I can get them back tomorrow." The entire weekend was a pleasure and included an Ice Cream social and a Beach Bonfire (regular campground activities, unrelated to our wedding). Restrooms were clean and within a short distance. Additionally, most tent sites had large, mature bushes to act as buffers between one another. We will be back again on a regular basis, especially on our anniversaries.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchileman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

You can camp right on the beach but I would suggest getting a protected site which blocks the wind. The sites are mostly back in with a picnic table, fire ring and 50 amp service. The narrow roads make for a slightly more challenging back in for longer rigs but make a reservation and pick your site to avoid any problems. This RV park is no longer a KOA but the new owners/staff are friendly and helpful. The beach is really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiefly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This was one of many stays on a trip down to southern CA with our trailer. We stayed 2 nights here in mid April. We arrived late at this KOA because of car trouble. Be advised coming south on Hwy 1 there are no gas stations for at least 20 something miles and its very remote so be prepared. Anyways after getting in late we found our name misspelled but on the night board and proceeded to our ocean front site. It was not to hard to back into and it was very close to the beach. The next day we checked in with the office and after a billing issue that they graciously took care of we where all checked in and headed for the beach. It was a very short walk to the waters edge and the beach was nice and clean with a nice sandy area for our little one to play.

The only problems we had where the showers where not that nice and I didn't like showering with a spider but not to unexpected when staying by the beach. I guess I would just describe them as beach showers with a roof. The other problems where it was a bit expensive and some of the people that where there on an extended stay/worked there had some of the prime spots that blocked the view of the other people that where just staying for a few days and where paying prime for the ocean sites. The other issue was it was almost 45 mins to town and that was hard for us since we had problems with our stove and needed to eat out. Overall the stay was uneventful and peaceful and we might return but the distance to civilization was kind of inconvenient for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WashingtonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The pictures say it all!!! The house has some breath taking views of the ocean, mountains and open area. The interior of the kabin has been recently remodeled and it looks amazing. Large open floor plan with a very large kitchen that also has great views of the ocean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Westport Beach / N Mendocino Coast KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Beach / N Mendocino Coast KOA

Address: 37700 N Highway 1, Westport, CA 95488-8701
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Number of rooms: 192

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing