We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Granzella's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Granzella's Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Williams
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 7 February 2008

This motel has gone down hill since our last stay. The room was not clean and the bed was very uncomfortable. The upholsery on the chairs needed to be cleaned. The furniture was scratched and the room needed new paint.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ejbOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    62
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
46
56
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bragg, California
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2008

We stayed at Granzella’s Inn again for a night. The last time we stayed there I remember being disappointed, but we thought we would give it another try and see how they were progressing on the construction of their new restaurant. This trip also reminded us of why we were disappointed.

First off I love how the business is a locally owned and family grown company. It is a great place to get food and refreshments in Williams and the staff has always been very friendly and professional in providing their services. This time was no different there, very helpful and courteous staff.

The Inn could use some sprucing up and special touches though. Nothing that a good deep cleaning couldn’t take care of. For example we got a no smoking room but you could still smell cigarette smoke.
I know it is tough when your inconsiderate customers smoke in your no smoking rooms but you just have to deal with it and clean it harder or make it a smoking room. But overall we noticed that the carpets, curtains ,and furniture could all use a cleaning. There are no microwaves or mini fridges in the standard rooms. I understand there are in the suites. The “continental breakfast” was as you would find in lower priced motels and consisted of cold cereal, low quality bread products, orange juice and low cost (bad tasting) coffee & tea. I would expect Granzella’s to serve a better grade of coffee and teas, yogurt, and seasonal fruit. This is because they operate a restaurant & deli and should know better.

With disappointments like these, we wonder what the difference is between Granzella’s and Motel 6 down the street. However we don’t wonder enough to try and find out. Next time we stay in Williams we will try the Holiday Inn across the highway.

  • Liked — entrance through lobby, electricity & running hot water, nice staff
  • Disliked — uncleanliness & low quality breakfast snacks
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoTeaTotalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

The person we booked with at Granzella's was very pleasant on the phone and gave us upgraded, connecting rooms for the same price as regular rooms. We were looking forward to our stay. On the outside, the motel is modern and appealing, and, at first glance, our rooms seemed to be average motel rooms, although my friends' room smelled musty. Imagine our shock when we found dog hair, feces, and blood on the blanket on one of the beds in their room! It was late in the evening, so we took the blanket down to the front desk, where the clerk said, "That's disgusting" and handed us new bedding. Apparently, the hunters, with dogs, who stay in the hotel sometimes clean ducks on the beds! But why wouldn't the maid have noticed when she was (supposedly) putting on clean bedding for the next guest's stay? The hotel has only one clerk at night, and she did not offer to help change the bed or offer to move my friends to a different room. My friends decided not to ask for a new room, and they changed the bed themselves, but now we were understandably concerned about the cleanliness of the rooms in general. Upon checkout, I informed the desk clerk that we would not be staying at Granzella's again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The filthy bedding had not been changed from prior guests
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirdingIsFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2007

We stayed here one night while traveling. They gave us a discounted rate, as we arrived at 8 pm. It is a lovely old hotel--hardwood floors and doors that use keys! It has a quaint feel and was quiet and clean.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5coasties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2006

This is such a cute, mom and pop hotel. I don't know if it is family owned and operated, but it feels that way! the hotel is charming and comfortable and the adjacent restaurant (also called Granzella's) has the best baked goods. The staff was so helpful and organized. And it is pet friendly...a big plus. I would encourage anyone who is passing through in I-5 to stop here and stay a while.

  • Liked — pet friendly
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ellysiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williams
0.4 mi away
Ramada Williams
Ramada Williams
#2 of 6 in Williams
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Stop Inn
Stage Stop Inn
#4 of 6 in Williams
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Williams
Econo Lodge Williams
#5 of 6 in Williams
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Colusa
44 reviews
21.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Dunnigan
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traveler's Inn
Traveler's Inn
#1 of 6 in Williams
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granzella's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granzella's Inn

Property: Granzella's Inn
Address: 391 6th Street, Williams, CA 95987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Granzella's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top to Bottom renovation completed in 2010! Perfect location with famous Granzella's Restaurant, Lounge, Deli, and Gift Shop! Your perfect "half-way" stop on Interstate 5! **DOG FRIENDLY!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Granzella's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granzella`s Hotel Williams
Granzellas Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing