We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean bathrooms and showers”
Review of Willits KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Willits
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Willits KOA
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean bathrooms and showers”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My extended family stayed here for 2 nights in the back area near the western facades. We used the tent sites. The kids loved it, especially the swimming pool. The facilities were clean, the staff pleasant. Overall better than I had expected. My only complaints were that the train was not running during our stay and sometimes people drive fast through the complex. Otherwise we had a great time. There is a Safeway supermarket and restaurants nearby so you are never far away from supplies, good to know. Free wifi was nice. We didn't venture out, so we don't know what the area has to offer. Would recommend for first car camping experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripfamIly2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    9
    2
    11
See reviews for
28
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I and 4 children stayed 12 hours in this rv park. We arrived late at night after a long day of driving. The next morning we were trying to get showers and breakfast before another day of driving. We did not have time to use any of the nice play areas throughout the park. We just asked that we could please stay a little later in our spot so we could finish getting ready because we were running late after such a late night. We were told that they needed the spot although the camp ground was more than half empty. I asked if we could move somewhere else so we wouldn't have to move to a parking lot somewhere to continue getting ready. Stacy said we could have 30 minutes extra and then she would knock on our door to talk about our situation!? We have traveled from Arkansas to California many times and we have never paid $77 dollars for any campground (even at Disney World). To spend that much money and be treated so poorly as though their check out time is a rule that can never be bent was extremely unhospitable. She said, "I'm sorry, that's the rule. "It is not family friendly when you are not understanding of how things do not always go as planned when RVing with 4 kids! We left the park as a girl came to check on us to make sure we were leaving. We drove to the local Safeway parking lot, fired up the generator and finished getting ready for the day. We will never stay at the Willits "FAMILY" KOA again! Nice amenities, but be ready to follow the rules! I've never written a review before, but I work with the public in my job, and I would never want to treat someone this poorly. Sad that such a nice place had such poor regard for the people camping with them.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank ldschrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We went in a group and stayed for 3 days last week. We had four adults and nine kids.
The property itself is kept up pretty nicely. We've always had a good time when we have gone here. The pool is always clean, the kids loved the water spray park. We love the little playground with all the tubes for the kids.
We only had one problem but it was a HUGE one. They expect there to be an adult 18 or over with minors all the time. ALL THE TIME. My 2, 14-year-olds wanted to play pool and got kicked out of the arcade because there wasn't an adult 18 or over with them. So the adults can't sit by the fire while the kids go play volleyball? Are you serious?
We weren't able to socialize with the other adults in our group because somebody always had to be with the kids EVERYWHERE they went! I'm not talking about babies here. We had older kids, who just wanted to explore and play (HELLO, WE'RE CAMPING).
In spite of this, we had a fantastic time. Just be aware that this is the rule and it is STRICTLY enforced.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Disneynut35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka
Level Contributor
202 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Everything here is amazing, the kids had so much fun that they can't wait to come back!! We met friends there for a weekend and are planning to meet back up again next year. There were so many activities included in the weekend that the bigger kids got to do separate activities from the younger kids, and there were some activities they could both do. it was really nice for them to be able to "do their own things" for a bit. They swam, had a petting zoo, karaoke, movies, hula hoop contest, water fountain sprinklers, ice cream social, an arcade, too many activities to name them all. Top notch place and highly recommended. "That park is so awesome dude" a quote from my 10 year old son :-)

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank makjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

There are plenty of things to do at this amazing campground. Pool,(large & kiddee), jacuzzi, spray area for the kids, putt-putt golf, a petting zoo and fishing. Lots of RV and tent sites, and the KOA camping cabins. The park is incredibly clean. There are 4 very accessible bathrooms with sinks and toilets that are unlocked, plus a separate bathroom with showers that are coded for entry. Management is on-site with plenty of friendly staff. Laundry facilities are also available. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again!

Room Tip: Great location! Camping cabins PLUS tent & RV sites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsg9064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This KOA campground was more expensive than we had experienced, but it had many services for families. Unfortunately, the camp did not do the simple things well. For example, the bathrooms were extremely cold, the water from the shower came in a 1/4" stream instead of a spray, and the camp-sponsored outdoor movie set-up was still going strong and loud, despite their quiet hours starting at 10pm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you haven't been here, check it out. We took our RV trailer and stayed in a site with a private hot tub. It was awesome. This KOA has to be one of the best KOA's we have ever been to. A big advantage with this property is you can take the "Skunk Train" through the CA Redwoods from their own train depot. Depending on the season, I'd suggest you make reservations through skunktrain.com. If you have kids, they won't get bored. The property is impeccably clean. The KOA staff/owner has the formula to make a "camper" feel welcomed. Have fun.

Room Tip: The west side of this property doesn't have trees for shade. You'll need your RV awning or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willits
1.8 mi away
The Old West Inn
The Old West Inn
#1 of 9 in Willits
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Willits Inn
1.9 mi away
Baechtel Creek Inn
Baechtel Creek Inn
#4 of 9 in Willits
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Willits
Super 8 Willits
#3 of 9 in Willits
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
20.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 15 in Ukiah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
20.7 mi away
Super 8 Ukiah
Super 8 Ukiah
#7 of 15 in Ukiah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willits KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willits KOA

Property: Willits KOA
Address: 1600 Highway 20, Willits, CA 95490
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Willits
Number of rooms: 70

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing