We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A one night stay on our late drive from Oregon to San Fran”
Review of Baechtel Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baechtel Creek Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Willits
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Nice looking motel....friendly staff....clean, well decorated room...comfy bed! All in all, a very nice, unexpected stop! Shower head was very low...but that's workable! Breakfast was nice, and staff VERY accomodating!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBEEME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanBaechtel, Corporate at Baechtel Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for letting us and others know about your recent stay. We do appreciate our guests taking the time out of their busy schedules to let us know what we do either wrong or right! We were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are on hold till busy summer is over to continue our renovation of our showers - new surrounds and tubs and new higher shower heads!

Again thank you!

Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We recently spent two nights in a lovely upgraded room at Baechtel Inn, and really enjoyed our stay. The room and bed were immaculate, and the bed was very comfortable. We both slept well. My aunt had a massage, and was very happy with that too.

We had business in town, and when I mentioned that we were staying at the Baechtel Inn, the man said that it was "definitely the best place in town." Baechtel Inn is located a block off the main street, so it is quiet. They serve a full breakfast which includes eggs and waffles and fruit. The motel overlooks Baechtel Creek so it has a nice ambiance. There is a pool and hot tub. We found the hotel staff to be very helpful and pleasant. The inn is managed by the owners, so they take pride in their inn, and want their guests to have a good experience.

We stayed in the upgraded wing. If I had brought my dog (the inn is pet friendly), we would have stayed in the other wing as the dogs aren't allowed in the "premium rooms."

I would highly recommend Baechtel Inn, and would stay here again if I'm back in Willits. There are many other motels in Willits, but from what I could see, all of the others are on the main street (which is highway 101). I'm sure that most of them cost less than Baechtel Inn, but I would want to get a room away from the highway. Personally, I would return to Baechtell Inn. It was a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanBaechtel, Corporate at Baechtel Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were pleased that you stayed with us and enjoyed your stay and that you took the time to let others know! You were both such delightful guests and we were pleased your Aunt enjoyed her massage - we were amazed at what spunk she had at 90 years old and only hope that we can enjoy traveling and massaging at that age!

We hope to see you again,


Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I spent 3 very uncomfortable nights here, before I found out why, plastic covers on the mattress ...... On a queen bed???

3 rd night I ended up sleeping on the floor

The staff were very courteous and sorted it out immediately moving me to a premium room where I did get a decent sleep

Pool seemed OK, generally a pretty classy place, the maid shouting from the balcony at the manager as he got in his car was disappointing

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Paleface07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanBaechtel, Guest Relations Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We noted that you felt the bed was uncomfortable due to plastic mattress pads. We do have protective mattress pads on our beds - they cover the mattress and protect against stains, liquids, etc. Some are made from a material that doesn't allow liquid to soak in - perhaps that is what you are referring to when you say plastic.

We wish you would have let us know - we could easily have removed the cover and provided you with another type that might have been more comfortable to you.

As a guest, we always invite you to let our staff know what we can do to make your stay more pleasant - it is always preferrable to do this during your stay as opposed to afterwards!

Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The breakfast was very very well done... Location is awesome. We are big people my only complaint was the shower head was very very short. But overall nice place... Next time I would like to try the spa:)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanBaechtel, Guest Relations Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased that our breakfast was great! We love to hear that our guest's are happy and taken care of. We hope to see you again

Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I had never been to see the redwoods and it was part of my bucket list. So glad I did,they were awesome and majestic and just amazing. I found the Bechtel by a billboard sign and it was a great choice for several reasons. First is was in a central location going north or west to see the redwoods. Second it was just one quick turn off the Hwy 101 so easy on and off. Third, staff was amazing with knowledge of off the grid hiking trails and gave very personalized recommendations on what to see, where to eat, etc. Fourth - bed was fantastic - slept like a log!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanBaechtel, Guest Relations Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful area. We agree, the Redwoods are very special and worth a trip on anyone's bucket list! We are glad you were able to accomplish your goal. We would love to have you stay with us again when your journeys bring you our way.

Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We made reservations in advance and when we arrived to our "Premium King Room" in the "upscale" building we noticed we had no refrigerator or microwave that was promised to us when we made the reservation. Apparently, they both were on the blink or had been moved to another "premium" room. We asked to be moved but apparently there were no other "premium" rooms available. So the food we had in our freezer chest went bad. When we called the desk, they apologized and they took $10 off the room. BIG DEAL!!! I think when you advertise refrigerator and microwave for the premium rooms, then you should deliver. White rug in the room was stained and the room was cramped. Pillows on the bed were very uncomfortable, and the bed was made funny with the sheets half way down. We could open the window in the room for fresh air, but the shade would not roll up so little air could come in. Traffic from 101 was very audible. Breakfast was more than half gone by 9 am and didnt appeal appetizing. We had a cup of coffee and it was luke warm. Unfortunately we travel down this way on business frequently, but wont be back.

Room Tip: the Premium rooms are less than premium, so wondering what the regular rooms look like ???
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mimjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanBaechtel, Guest Relations Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to read that you seemed to have several things happen during your stay which end result added up to mediocre stay. We have reached out to you via email, so hope to hear from you to discuss your concerns.

Thank you

Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After being on road many nights, we were so happy to find at his hotel and get a good nights rest. We loved that it sits off the road, has charm and personality and great people working there. The bed was heavenly after some of the places we stayed and the helpfulness of the staff in their recommendations was much appreciated. Beautiful northern area!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanBaechtel, Guest Relations Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We appreciate all comments and are pleased to hear we could make your stay a pleasant one. We hope to see you again.

Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willits
0.4 mi away
The Old West Inn
The Old West Inn
#1 of 8 in Willits
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Willits
Super 8 Willits
#2 of 8 in Willits
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Willits Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
24.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
635 reviews
24.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baechtel Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baechtel Creek Inn

Address: 101 Gregory Ln, Willits, CA 95490-3366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Willits
Price Range: £88 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baechtel Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the "Gateway to the Redwoods," we are the premier location for visitors seeking a more individualized, distinctive travel experience and who seek a sense of the local flavor of our county and the historic town of Willits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baechtel Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Willits
Clarion Willits
Willits Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing