We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”
Review of Super 8 Willits

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Willits
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Certificate of Excellence
Southern CA
1 review
“pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 10 August 2008

My husband made this reservation for me over the internet as I was driving home from Vancouver, BC. I was skeptical when he said everything else in the area was booked up except for this Super 8 and some hotels that were closer to $300. But after passing at least 12 hotels on Coast Highway 1, I knew he was correct. We were very pleased with the service and the room. The front desk was very friendly and the room quite clean. Breakfast was simple but the two teenagers I was traveling with were content to fill up on cereal, oatmeal and a danish. Be sure to call and let them know if you are going to be late. If they tell you they are full, believe it. If parking is dificult, they will find you aspot. (We checked in after 10pm.) The court yard had a wonderful fountain with a bench swing- didn't try that out or the pool. I would love to spend more time in the area in the future.

  • Liked — they were clean and friendly
  • Disliked — 40 minutes from the beach
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maamSouthernCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    88
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
92
69
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Considering that the hotel was 6 years old, the cleanliness was fantastic. It was a very pleasant stay. The courtyard with the fountain was very relaxing.

  • Liked — Kindness of the staff, cleanliness, beautiful courtyard.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RenoChris05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redirtgurl
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2008

I agree with the other review that this is not your typical Super 8. The property seems recently updated and the rooms are very nice, especially considering that we paid less than $70 for a king room (the AAA rate on a week night). I am reluctant to stay at Super 8's normally because I've stayed in a couple of bad ones, but we were only going to be there to sleep and didn't really need anything fancy, but didn't want to stay in some of the really cheap hotels in Willits either. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel, which does have a nice courtyard area, and decent sized rooms and comfortable beds. We would definitely stay there again. I should say we didn't even go looking for the breakfast -- wanted to try the breakfast at Ardella's in town, which was GREAT.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank redirtgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

I've never been crazy about these kind of hotels and this place fortified my opinion. My complaints:

1. The shower has to be the worst shower I have ever had - my friends, who were in another room, and I agreed that maybe they were putting out 1 gallon an hour at best....a horrible dribble.

2. We were given one thin bar of soap for the shower and bathroom.

3. The towels are pathetic

4. The walls are thin and we had to listen to graphic details of a poor fellow who came in at 2 a.m. and must have passed out after a long day at the bars.

5. We had a 2nd story room on the total opposite side of the parking lot so it was a long way to hual our luggage through the rain.

6. Breakfast? It wasn't even worth the effort to dish out what little they offered. And the coffee is pathetic as well.

7. We paid $86 for all of this which I consider no bargain for what it is. I won't go there again.

  • Liked — not much
  • Disliked — read my review
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

We unexpectedly stayed in Willits on our return trip from Oregon. It was a holiday weekend and pickins were slim. We relunctantly reserved a room at the Super 8 because it was one of the few places with 2 rooms.

CHECK-IN: I have to admit, I was a little concerned because when I called on the phone, the clerk (who I believe was one of the owners) treated me like I wasn't going to show up, even though I gave her a credit card to hold my room, with a cancellation fee imposed. However, upon arrival, the same woman was very friendly.

ROOMS: We were given a room with 2 king beds at a rate of $99. We couldn't believe how large the room was. (My parents had a king bed for $89 that was perfect.) It was impeccably clean, with a brand new t.v. The bathroom was a little small, but it didn't matter because the sink and area to put on make-up was located outside the bathroom. They had some pretty nice soap and shampoo for a low-budget motel. The bed was fine...not too hard, but not the most comfortable either. I saw other rooms, including my parents, and they all appeared roomy and well-kept.

FACILITIES: WOW! A budget motel where one could spend the day enjoying the gardent area? Yep. They had a fountain and chairs and a nice lawn area that looks better than my back yard. The pool area was small, but clean. My dad asked if we could stay one more day just to enjoy the gardens.

COMP BREAKFAST: CSAA listed it as an expanded continental breakfast. That was a slight exaggeration. They had a couple of cereals, toast, pasteries and bananas. It was okay. The milk had been left out and was warmer than luke warm. The bananas were green. The machine-dispensed orange juice tasted more like water with a dash of orange.

Based on my knowledge of Super 8 motels, I have to admit that this one is a gem. In fact, I liked it better than some of the Hiltons and higher priced hotels I've stayed in.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, size of room, overall facilities
  • Disliked — Not the best continental breakfast, but this isn't really an issue
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 1happydisneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

For a budget chain hotel the rooms were nice and had a few unexpected amenities like a refrigerator, extra pillows, pool with hot tub. The curved shower bar gave you extra room in the shower. The courtyard area with fountain was reasonably attractive. The complimentary breakfast was really minimal so assume you’ll need to go out for breakfast.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Cole_Valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2006

I am part of a group that routinely stays in Willits for one or two nights when in the area. For the last couple of years we've been staying at the Super 8 - I did the arrangements for our most recent visit. They have large rooms with coffee makers and microwaves. They offer a basic breakfast, including coffee, tea, juice, bread and a toaster, and milk and cold cereal. They also are happy to let us use the breakfast room for our group pot-luck dinner. And lastly, they are really nice people. They know us and happily offer us a group rate and are always welcoming and accomodating.

  • Liked — clean large rooms with amenities at a budget price
  • Disliked — I guess I'd like a larger bathtub...
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTRoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willits
0.1 mi away
The Old West Inn
The Old West Inn
#1 of 9 in Willits
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baechtel Creek Inn
Baechtel Creek Inn
#4 of 9 in Willits
268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Willits Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 15 in Ukiah
212 reviews
20.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
19.5 mi away
Super 8 Ukiah
Super 8 Ukiah
#6 of 15 in Ukiah
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Willits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Willits

Property: Super 8 Willits
Address: 1119 S Main St, Willits, CA 95490-4303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Willits 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Willits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Willits
Willits Super 8
Willits Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing