We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Great Service in a Shabby Little Place”
Review of El Mexicano

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Mexicano
Ranked #9 of 49 Restaurants in Willits
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
San Leandro, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Service in a Shabby Little Place”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The shabby interior might make some people want to walk right past this place, but don't miss out on the tasty food and great service inside! The great reviews are well earned. The salsa was really good, the rellenos were absolutely delicious, and the enchiladas were good too. The rice and beans were fantastic! Seriously, some of the best beans ever! The people running the place were so nice, they made you feel like family. We'll definitely return on our next road trip through Willits!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamuning, Guam
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good value and tasty Mexican food”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great Mexican food with fast service and ample portions. In fact, portions are large enough that the ala carte menu is sufficient for me; the combination plates would be too much! Food is tasty. Staff is friendly and accommodating. So good, we ate there twice in four days. Will definitely eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jirohiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautiful Burbank
2 reviews
“Tasty food, good value.”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

There was lots to choose from on the menu. The Super burritos a la carte were fresh and just the right size. Their chips and salsa were also very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miweco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Restaurant located on main. Service was quick and friendly. Not that hungry so just ordered ala carte but the taco and beans were great. Beer available both on tap and in bottles.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chubmasterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great people and great food.”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I grew up most of my life in Texas. My friends were mostly of Mexican decent. I was exposed to the best Mexican anyone could think of. When I moved to Northern California I missed the authentic Mexican food I was enjoying so much in the past. However, I found it at El Mex. This place is wonderful. The food is great and the people are even greater. I'm not missing out on anything :) I greatly insist on you visiting El Mex. The family atmosphere makes me feel like I'm back home again. Don't pass up a visit to a great place like this :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishClassSass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Mexicano also viewed

Willits, Mendocino County
Willits, Mendocino County
 
Willits, Mendocino County
 

Been to El Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing