We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Time here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loose Caboose Cafe

Loose Caboose Cafe
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Willits
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Petaluma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Second Time here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is the second time we stopped here for lunch and were not disappointed. The food is very fresh and flavorfull, and portions are generous. The restaurant it self is kind of funky and the waitress we had this time was not overly attentive, but the lunch we had, made up for everything. A definate place to stop whenever we are in Willits.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    32
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moline, IL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great fresh sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We picked up sandwiches from the Loose Caboose to take on the road to the coast with us and they were great. The turkey was the real deal and the sauce was great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rockriver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local Favorite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Great food. Reasonable prices. Friendly service. The atmosphere is cozy and inviting. I wish they were open evenings.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank calif4511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good place for a quick sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

You would never know the Loose Caboose Cafe is there unless you ask a local. We got our tip from the Willits Chamber of Commerce lady. Willits does not have a "restaurant row" and we just wanted a late-afternoon quick lunch. The Loose Caboose is off highway and hard to find so ask locally or tune up your GPS and have it tell you. It's a small place and all sandwiches are served hot - you don't have a choice so don't ask. They are good, though.We had the "tank" or "tank car" (all the dishes have "railroady" names) which is a fancy tuna melt. No problem, it was delicious and the serving size was generous. Ice tea was fresh and refreshing. The service is a bit pedestrian so if you're in a hurry, go down the road to McDonalds but this is a place to take a break and relax a little before hitting the road again. The staff could show a little more enthusiasm too but they are young and typical of that generation (OK, I'm a senior, I admit it).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
184 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Spicy ranch dressing a winner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

Cute venue with outdoor seating and varied menu. Came at busy lunch time but service was prompt and excellent. Lots of locals were here which is always a good sign. My chicken salad was good fresh and plentiful, the spicy ranch dressing was outstanding. give this place a try you will be glad you did.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Soonkeum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loose Caboose Cafe also viewed

Willits, Mendocino County
Willits, Mendocino County
 
Willits, Mendocino County
 

Been to Loose Caboose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing