We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most unfriendly BW hotel we've been to. NOT RECOMMENDED!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Willits Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The most unfriendly BW hotel we've been to. NOT RECOMMENDED!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

Unfortunately we stayed at this BW in Willits on 10/2/2009.
No complaints about the room. The beds were good and the rooms were clean. Even though the rooms we stayed in were on the "sidewalk" of a busy stretch of 101 the noise wasn't too bad, it didn't keep us from sleeping or woke us up.
The bad thing were the extremely unfriendly people at the reception desk/management.
During check-in no friendly word, no smile, no welcoming gestures, the guy didn't even look me in the eyes. This never happend at any BW I stayed before and I stayed at many BW over the past few years, always a pleasure except this one.
In the morning we got the most minimal breakfast I've seen at a BW and we got lucky to get anything! We showed up for breakfast at 8:20AM (Breakfast until 9AM) The cereal milk dispenser was already disconnected. Butter was only available in a tupperware container and somewhat melted. Coffee was out! It appeared that the manager pressured two employees to clear the breakfast area. The unhappy manager started another pot of coffee and left. Two more people showed up for breakfast around 9:05 AM and there was no breakfast. They waited for the manager to return from his back room but no luck and no breakfast for them.

Again, no complaints about the room but the service of the managment is horrible and really makes you feel uncomfortable/unwanted.

If you can stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AchimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    65
    33
    15
    18
See reviews for
66
65
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed in Room 116 for one night on our way north to the Redwoods. The woman who checked us in never cracked a smile or welcomed us in any way. I'm not sure she ever looked at us. However, she was efficient. Same thing on check out.

Unfortunately, this motel is located right on Highway 101. We couldn't escape the noise - even with the air conditioner running. The room was clean, neat and had all the BW basics but no extras. Our room had one king bed - typical BW layout and the most basic of amenities including a refrigerator. Our bathtub had jacuzzi-style jets - pleasant.

The most unusual: needed to stretch the free wi-fi cord across the room to use it - posed a tripping hazard; TV was far left of the bed - no turntable; limited to 2 each of the wash cloths, hand towels and bath towels - no extras here.

We skipped the breakfast - not even up to the basic BW standards; old mini muffins, etc.

We did look around at the other local motels in Willits. The BW is definitely the nicest looking of them all. Save some money - stay at the Best Western in Ukiah (20 miles south). We did on the way back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YosemiteTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco,ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2008

This is one great Best Western !
The rooms were clean.And the place was safe.
I am a 100,000 point plus Best Western member.

The hotel is up on a small hill so all the rooms have nice big windows that do not face the parking lot.
A big plus when you stay for a long time.
Rooms are big with Comcast cable TV (lots of channels).
Great hard line internet connection.

Stayed there from Sept 28,2008 till Nov 26th,2008.
Nick and Nina the owners are nice friendly people.

I recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

Call them @ 707-459-9367 (Hotel Phone #)

  • Liked — the big windows
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jptinc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

Stayed one night at this Best Western. The two bed room was large and clean. Furnishings were modern, the bed was comfortable and pillows good. Although a 3-story property, one level is downstairs, so the 3rd story is really only one level up from parking. Water pressure in the shower is low...they are probably conserving.

A continental breakfast came with the stay. It was fully stocked, fresh and had the basics.

  • Liked — Clean and cozy
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancingDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFO
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

Noisy, noisy, noisy. Worst breakfast ever - cleaning staff "helped" eat the sparse breakfast away by exactly 9AM. Nothing left for paying guests. Internet did not work in our room.
Never experienced such unfriendly staff before - front desk person (owner?) overcharged us - will contact corporate office for refund.
Intended to stay two nights but left after such a terrible experience.

-Brian

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — staff, internet not working, breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brianmmSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Ewen, New York
Level Contributor
220 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

We usually book Best Western when on the road due to reasonable pricing, free Internet and made to order waffles. This hotel had reasonable pricing, that was about it.

Room was clean and fairly large, maybe because they gave us a handicapped room. Room overall was OK. Price would have been higher had I not noticed them giving me the rack rate instead of AAA which I reserved. Shouldn't have had to say anything since the rate was right on the card sitting on the check-in desk.

Internet was via a cable in the room, which had no clip, so didn't really work. Front desk could not provide another one. Had limited Internet.

Breakfast was Toast, cold cereal, horrible coffee, no waffles. They had hard boiled eggs, but you had to ask since container was empty. Nobody seemed to really care unless you got them from behind the desk.

Same for checking out or other requests at around 7:30-8:00 AM. Nobody was behind the desk, you had to ring the bell, then someone showed up.

Not the worst stay, but expected more of a Best Western.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank donutking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2008

Lodging

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times, too many to count while visiting family. This is a great property to stay at if you are needing a clean bed, warm shower, and easy access to the highway without the frills. The rooms are good sized and have a microwave and mini-refrigerator in each room. There is not an elevator, but the 2nd level is the parking lot level and it is one flight up or down only. There are rooms located on the parking lot level with easy handicap access. These rooms are very well equipped for any type of handicap and have a lot of room. The rooms are clean and the hotel provides local information in the room for dining, day trips, etc. A continental breaksfast is available (included in price of room) which consists of danish, cereal, fruit, and coffe/tea. The hotel runs along the highway through Willits and is above the road on a hill, not directly on it. The hotel must be insulated well because I was never disturbed and am a very light sleeper. The price is very reasonable. When staying in January, I paid an average of $60/night (king) and paid $99/night (king) in the peak season. You can also join the Best Western points club and receive a free night stay usually with 5 nights (do not have to be consecutive). Parking is convenient, but can be "tight" if the hotel is full.

Dining

The hotel is directly across from a shopping center with a Ralph's Supermarket, Dollar Store, Perkos, Subway, and pizza parlor. The deli at Ralph's is wonderful. They make the best sandwich and have a wide variety of items, including an olive bar. The Perkos is also a good restaurant for a sit-down or to-go meal. Following the highway into Willits, there is a Safeway Shopping center with a Safeway Supermarket, Safeway Gas, Phoenix Bread Company, as well as some local shops (hair stylist, video rental, etc.) The Safeway Supermarket is top-notch as far as Safeway's go and has the best bakery. I can not say enough about the quality of their food. They make the best New York cheescake and birthday cakes. An absolute must for dining and experience alone is the Phoenix Bread Company. Wow! is all I can say. Looks are deceiving as they have the best ribs and pulled pork I've ever had. Their desserts are tempting and unique. You won't be dissapointed... and will want to take some home!

  • Liked — Location, Proximity to highway and dining options
  • Disliked — Parking when hotel is full
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewlywedsOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willits
0.7 mi away
The Old West Inn
The Old West Inn
#3 of 9 in Willits
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baechtel Creek Inn
Baechtel Creek Inn
#4 of 9 in Willits
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Willits
Super 8 Willits
#2 of 9 in Willits
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
24.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Willits Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Willits Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Willits Inn
Address: 1777 S Main St, Willits, CA 95490-4404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Willits Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Willits Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Willits Hotel
Willits Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing