We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Your Back Woods Rustic Cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coho Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Willow Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coho Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Willow Creek
Anderson, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not Your Back Woods Rustic Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

WOW! What a wonderful find! My husband and I were on our way back from visiting our kids in Eureka. We wanted to stay one night in a nice, romantic spot. Unfortunately, every hotel and B and B we tried on the coast were booked. (end of December, night before New Year's Eve). My husband went online and found the Coho Cottages. I was skeptical, as it sounded too good to be true. What a beautiful cottage! We stayed in the "Promontory". It stood off by itself on an overlook of the river. You walk in through a screened in porch with a large barbecue and comfy looking daybed. The inside was warm and welcoming with a gas fireplace, huge king bed with soft, cushy comforter and small kitchenette. The bath was amazing, with heated tile floors and large Jacuzzi tub. The separate shower was large with huge soak-er head for a totally luxurious, steamy shower. The glycerine soaps and Rusk Sensories Shampoos and lotions made one feel even more pampered. Truly wonderful and relaxing. The music from the satellite TV was playing softly as we entered, and set the mood beautifully for a perfect evening. Only downside at all was the noise the refrigerator made on defrost cycle in the middle of the night, and the sound of an occasional vehicle going by on the highway. What a neat find! In the morning, we stopped at the Fry's Market on the corner for a few groceries and made a gourmet breakfast on the barbecue. I could have stayed for days....The hostess was very helpful and when I called in a panic after leaving a wool coat and some shoes, reassured me that she would put them aside so our son could retrieve them on his way to visit in a couple of weeks.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the ads saying you have to book 30 days in advance. At least try, you may ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1horseshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coho_Cottages, Owner at Coho Cottages, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Hello! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Coho Cottages. It is our highest priority to make sure that each guest has a welcoming and memorable experience. We appreciate you notifying us about the noise that the refrigerator was making and upon examination we found that it was indeed in need of attention. Each comment that we receive like this is taken very seriously, and please know that the appliance has been replaced with a new refrigerator/freezer unit so that in the future the only noises you may hear in the middle of the night are those produced by nature (not machine). We enjoyed having you as guests and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at The Tao House. It was amazing inside. I would have loved to stay an entire week and explore the Willow Creek area. The Tao House may not be big but it is really clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated and worth every penny. Perfect for a single couple.

And despite the few restaurant reviews by TripAdvisor, and other similar websites, or your GPS, there are several restaurants in Willow Creek.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I give this a well deserved five starts. We stayed in the spa room for 3 nights in September, and everything was on target. The service was exactly what in needed to be, there's great privacy, and the room features this huge deck with a BBQ and side stove so you can make breakfast in the morning, and the cottage itself is very spacious with a luxurious two-headed shower, separate tub, and comfortable king bed. This spot is perfect if you're looking for something somewhat private and romantic, and if you like the idea of taking care of some of your own meals. The kitchen is very well appointed and we had no problem cooking nice dinners.

If you're going through this part of Humboldt, and want to treat yourself, this is your spot. And, I think the prices are very fair for the type of place you're getting.

Room Tip: Spa Rom--huge deck, great bathroom, wonderful king sized bed, secluded. Can't miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zack111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My family literally took over the Coho Cottages this weekend as part of the celebration of my niece's wedding at a nearby farm. What a fabulous find! We each had separate cabins that were tasteful, comfortable, clean and well-appointed. The bathroom was a dream with finishes I'd love in my own home. I think our cabin was the smallest - but the room was huge, with a little kitchenette we could make our coffee in, keep groceries cold, etc. There was an easy to use gas grill that we made our b-fast bacon and eggs on. The porch was pleasant to sit on, the bed was heavenly and soft. They allow for small dogs for a reasonable fee - we pretty much don't travel by car without her. The other cabins were gorgeous. We'd return in a flash and spend a bit more cash for a larger room - no prob. We left not one but two items behind - and got two phone calls about them. Wow! Would recommend to ANYONE who found themselves in Bigfoot territory - but must say the Coho Cottages might be the nicest place in the near environs.

Room Tip: Get a larger stand alone cabin for a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelinGal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We spent two nights in Willow Creek checking out all of the Bigfoot iconography and materials. This was a wonderful hotel with everything one could want. A grocery store is half a block away if you want to purchase food to cook on the gas grill and eat on the porch overlooking the mountains.
I have stayed at many, many places and this was one of the nicest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank slamerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I had tried to book one of the other cottages here but the only availability was for the one named "Fish Camp." While it accurately advertised places for your rod and reel, I was worried that we'd be in a very rustic cabin with remains of fish guts on the grounds. I couldn't have been more wrong! The office was closed when we arrived, but we had been given the access code to our cabin and were able to get in easily. We stepped into a beatifully appointed, huge room with music playing softly in the background. Two queen beds, a living area with sofa and chairs and a small kitchen area took up the front half of the cabin. The back half was entirely the bathroom area: huge clawfoot tub, gorgeous shower with the largest shower head any of us had ever used--fabulous!--thick, plush towels, and large bathroom. Polished wood floors, cathedral ceilings with a very big ceiling fan (as well as a/c) and a screened in patio with picnic table, BBQ and nice wicker furniture rounded out the cabin. Definitely the best place we stayed on our trip--they need to rethink the name "Fish Camp" though--it just doesn't do this beautiful cabin justice!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alison98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at Coho because we needed to be close to Willow Creek for river rafting. The Cottages are individual little "houses" that have very nice bathroom area and then a studio style bedroom/kitchen/family room. Also in the front is a screened porch with table, chairs and grill. When we got there the power was out in the whole town. We had been staying in hotels and eating out for 5 days. Already wondering where we were going to eat dinner in the small town of Willow Creek, the power outage made us nervous. A little sign in the kitchen said we could pick anything from the garden and use for cooking. After "touring" the small garden we found basil, strawberries, peppers and tomatoes. We walked to the town Market and with generators on, we were able to buy some kabobs, salad and some mozzarella. We had a great time "roughing it" at Coho. Londa, the owner, even brought us some flashlights in case the power didn't come back on. Luckily the power did come on in time to run the AC and cool it down for the night to go to sleep. The shower in our cabin was amazing. Nice big walk in with huge rain shower type head. Nice claw foot tub as well. Kids complained when we had to leave. They voted it our best hotel of the trip.

Room Tip: We stayed at Fish Camp, but every Cottage looks like it has a similar view/location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xtianh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willow Creek
19.5 mi away
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blue Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
23.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
23.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
24.0 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coho Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coho Cottages

Property: Coho Cottages
Address: 76 Willow Road, Willow Creek, CA 95573
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Willow Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Willow Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cabins nestled in the rural mountain community of Willow Creek along the banks of the Trinity River. Coho Cottages is just a short drive from Redwood National Park and Trinity Alps Wilderness on Scenic By-way Highway 299 in Bigfoot‘s home town. The cottages offer casual elegance with oversized tiled showers, heated floors, soaking tubs, quality linens, original artwork, wi-fi, xm radio, direct dish satellite TV, fire places, and large screened in porches with outdoor grills overlooking spectacular mountain views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coho Cottages Hotel Willow Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing