We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best burger I've ever had and I'm not exaggarating!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Early Bird

Early Bird
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: Early Bird "home of the bigfoot burger" was opened in the early 70's. It was a drive in movie theater, donut shop, grocery store and restaurant. It has been run by the same family since the late 70's being taken over by son and daughter in law in 94. The drive in showed it's last film in 89, the grocery store moved to fishing equiptment and ammo in 96. We started take & Bake pizza's in 2002 and sold the last donuts in 2007. We are open 7 days at 11:00 for lunch & dinner. Come in for Burgers & fry's, hot & cold sandwiches, fish & chips, take & bake pizza's or to grab some fishing equiptment. We'd love to see you.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best burger I've ever had and I'm not exaggarating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were driving along 299 few days ago with my husband and decided to stop for a snack. The place seemed like any american roadside "restaurant" so we were expectring just to get average burgers. Nope, they were excellent. I ate the bacon burger and it was moist and just delicious. I think we had fries, but I really can't remember, the burger was so good. Still longing for it and no burger since has been even close to the experience. Seemed to be popular with locals, too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Early Bird, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Glad you enjoyed, see you next time thru.
Lee-Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If you're on the 299, do yourself a favor and stop here for a burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I was not expecting much, walking into this road trip/hunting/fishing supplies and diner combo and indeed prepared for the worst, ordering a bacon cheeseburger. The staff is very friendly, though, and the restaurant is much cleaner than what you might expect - it's just that I hadn't seen any competition for hours on the road that lead me to expect worse.

The burger was indeed the best I've had in the US, vastly superior to a lot of much more expensive samples! The mountain air of course helps, but there's no denying that this is a first grade, top of the class burger. There is nothing special about it - it's just lovingly put together using high quality ingredients, cooked to perfection. I couldn't imagine how they could make it any better.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jlaakso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Early Bird, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Glad you enjoyed the food,
see you next time your passing thru.
Lee-Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“The employees are very friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The food is amazing and the employees are friendly and really seem to care about the customers and the food they cook.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loverofallfood86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
228 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bigfoot Burger big enough to keep you going all day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

Marionberry shakes were really good. The Bigfoot Burger has a bun shaped like a footprint, but the burger is enough for any hungry traveler. They really know how to cook hamburgers here. Definitely worth the stop if in the area.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank subterranean_jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Early Bird also viewed

Willow Creek, Humboldt County
Willow Creek, Humboldt County
 
Willow Creek, Humboldt County
Willow Creek, Humboldt County
 
Willow Creek, Humboldt County

Been to Early Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing