We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nicest lady!”

Willow Creek - China Flat Museum
Attraction details
CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“nicest lady!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

The museum was closed for the season but we were in Arcata touring the college and thought it was worth sending an email to see if someone would let us in. SO... sent the email and got a response quickly. I was told to contact Peggy McWilliams and I did- she agreed to meet us and we drove there. She was the best part of the museum- full of stories, fun to talk to, we could have stayed all day to chat. The museum itself has a nice display of Bigfoot items and articles etc. If you have any interest in Bigfoot, it is worth a visit and it's free. Peggy gave our 2 older teenagers a good talking to about the dreads, the weed, cutting your jeans and how to be a good citizen. Seriously nice lady and so nice of her to meet us and let us in even though they were closed. Bought some items from their shop to help support the place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mamamarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice staff, worth a stop.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Extremely informative and friendly staff. Museum has a bit of everything from the areas history. If your in the area I highly recommend a stop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeeter_Maggie_Worm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
583 reviews
287 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“We made sure to stop here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was a great little museum and had some interesting items about bigfoot. This is worth the stop for sure. I ended up getting a bigfoot mold to bring home and put in my office. Why not.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
1,037 reviews
425 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,643 helpful votes
“Good small town museum with Big Foot fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We were staying in Crescent City in mid April and decided to see the "famous" Big Foot Museum here. Their website said they are closed until May 1st, but if you called ahead, you could arrange for them to be open. So that is what we did, and it worked out just fine. The gracious "young at heart" volunteer was pleased because there were several other visitors who had stopped in whilst she was there :-)

It took us just under an hour to drive from Hwy 101 in Arcata. The road is mostly good, with a few rough patches here and there.

The museum is not just a Big Foot museum - they have actually just the one room dedicated to Big Foot. The rest of the museum is a fairly good, small town history museum, with a fair number of interesting exhibits. There are also a few antique tractors and other farm implements outside. The fun part is the Big Foot room!

Now, I have to admit it was a teeny bit disappointing, due to the fact that there was nothing really "new" in the exhibit. There was lots of stuff from the 1960's up through the early to mid 1990's, so it has kind of an overall "dated" feel to it. But what fun seeing the casts of the alleged Big Foot footprints (pawprints?) and lots of 'is-it-or-isn't-it' really a big blurry monster walking away in those faded photos?

The volunteer told us that she gets kids in from all over, and they all watch the TV show "Finding Bigfoot". Okay, so do we sometimes :-) It would be nice if the Big Foot room here had some updated information, maybe from some of the evidence that is uncovered in that show.

But all in all, this is a decent small museum and the fun and kitschy Big Foot room adds a little zest!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Go. Just go. Does not disappoint.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

What a cool museum! Very homegrown. Lots of variety. And FREE! I left a donation; I hope you do too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willow Creek - China Flat Museum also viewed

Willow Creek, Humboldt County
Willow Creek, Humboldt County
 
Willow Creek, Humboldt County

Been to Willow Creek - China Flat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing