We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BIG PORTIONS” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willows Black Bear Diner

Willows Black Bear Diner
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Willows
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Willows, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BIG PORTIONS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

black bear diner has some really good food, u get very large portions so hope you are hungry when u visit. you will not leave hungry they also have very good desert there pies are amazing

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    64
    28
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Draper, UT
Level Contributor
195 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I like the Black Bear Diner. The food is good and the portions are large. I had eggs over easy and they did not disappoint - perfectly cooked eggs and the sausage patties were excellent. Our waitress was friendly as well. We'll be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaltaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willows, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly local bears”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our local Black Bear Restaurant is our best local diner. Portions are large and the food is always good. Don't see the combinations you want? Just ask. There is never a problem with substitutions. Best of all....you will see all your friends there!
Roberta

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willows, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very large portions,a VERY large variety almost too large.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have always found Blk Bear to be very good,takes a little more time lots of choices to make, I have never had a bad meal at a Blk Bear :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Log Cabin Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Let me explain the title. Upon entering this great diner, I felt like I was stepping off the grid, and into a very quaint and inviting environment that was not just seconds from a freeway, but maybe miles from crowds and cars and all my nervous tension simply vanished by the second. The ambience was that of a 50's diner meets log cabin. The music was 50's/60's. Loved that. But getting to the breakfast!! OMG!!! I am not a big "meat-eater", not at all. BUT, I heard great things about Black Bear and actually ordered the beefiest thing I saw on the menu (which was smartly printed in a small-town newspaper style, and which had local history on it's front page and throughout..I loved that!)
Let me tell you when my plate came to me I was taken aback, frightened even, by the size of it. I ordered the corned-beef hash and eggs breakfast. It was delightful to the taste-buds, and filling to my tummy. I could not finish as it was obviously built for a man!! But I gave it the old college try. It was very satisfying, and I wasn't even thinking of eating again for a good 5-6 hours. I know it may sound like I am exaggerating, and so I will let you decide. BUT I highly recommend this place. 5 points

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willows Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Willows Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing