We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place”
Review of Old Highway 99 Steakhouse - CLOSED

Old Highway 99 Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

On the road for a business trip, olive oil country. Have always seen this place but never stopped. It was a week night but clearly a local bar hangout, dining room pretty quiet. Owner hanging at the bar, our waitress was very attentive and nice, food was good, not great but I would go back again. Steak was good and the salad was terrific. Couple of beers and a bottle of wine with the steaks, good to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Etienne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good steaks”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Loved the simple decor. Service was a little slow, but the food was very good. Very good and generous dinner salad (2.59 charge). Prime rib was amazing, rib eye steak had great flavor and was perfectly cooked. Would definitely go again. Shrimp cocktail was fantastic!

Helpful?
2 Thank bfh195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of it.”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I had veal marsala and my wife had prawns. Both were very well prepared, tasty, and a very good sized serving. We also ordered the appetizer sampler, OMG! Took a couple doggy boxes with us. Will be back for sure.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulare, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steak Night”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is a good place to get a steak. Just a little pricey.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
329 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“An Interesting Find In ASmall Town”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We overnighted in Willows and found the Old Highway 99 Steakhouse. It's nothing to look at on the outside with a good dirt parking lot on the side. We entered and found a restaurant that seemed out of the 1950s. Wooden table tops were bare, napkins were wrapped around the flat ware. The lighting could have been softened. The waitress was very good. My wife had soup and a steak and I had fried shrimp. They were both very tasty. My wife said that the steak was very beefy tasting but not as easy to chew as another she had in a different city. Prices are very moderate. The bar is separated from the restaurant by doors. There seemed to be a jovial crowd in the bar. While this is a locals place, we did not feel uncomfortable. If we are ever in the area again we will go back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rockhound94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Highway 99 Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing