We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly comfortable!”
Review of Motel 6 Willows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Willows
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Willows
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I must admit I walked into this with low expectations. I haven't stayed at a Motel 6 since I was a kid, and my vague recollection was that it was kind of dumpy and cookie cutter. But after seeing positive reviews on this and yelp, we thought we'd give the Willows Motel 6 a shot (despite the fact that it was a little more expensive than other Motel 6s). I have to say, low expectations aside, I really liked this place.

We were on a long west coast roadtrip, and we rolled up around 9. We had made the reservations an hour prior on Booking.com, and when I tried to check in, the woman at the front desk (Sarah) couldn't find my reservation. At other hotels, I've had them get quite rude to me when this happens (and it has. A couple of times). Sarah was great. She was cool, positive and upbeat, She did some troubleshooting, figured out the problem, and solved it right away.

The rooms were surprisingly cool. They looked like someone with some interesting taste bought an old cookie cutter Motel 6 and decided to jazz it up. The room had a retro-modern vibe with this 70s color scheme.

The rooms aren't high class or anything, but they have this clever "Extreme Home Makeover" class-on-a-budget homemade feel to it. The decorating choices in the rooms (and even the construction) were made from budget materials, but the way they were put together took the room from "standard chain hotel" to something memorable and charming. Kudos to the owners, it feels like the place has a lot of love put into it. (And front desk clerk Sarah commented that she wanted to someday own the place, which added to the sense that the employees really love it and take good care of it).

Overall, it was a great stay for the price. The place had fantastic charm. I couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diebs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here based on TA reviews and would say the they were accurate. It has been some time since we have stayed at a Motel 6, but this was all positive. Room was slightly "austere", but comfortably furnished, bed was good, it was spotless as was bathroom and quiet. Rates substantially below other motels along 101 in CA. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueprc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Here every time we hit ThunderHill raceway. Great rooms, prices are right. Safe parking, nothing to worry about here.

Of course the girls are a blast to chat with when we checkin! Receive calls to verify you will be arriving before they give up a room, a HUGE plus for me!

Room Tip: All are great! No worries
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigb849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I've stayed at a few motels in Willows for track days at Thunderhill. I must say that this Motel 6 is by far the nicest I've stayed at. The beds were very new and everything was recently refurnished. The price was the same or similar to the hotels around it.

I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed in this Motel 6 while traveling south with my cat. I chose it because of the comments on the internet regarding the remodeling that had been done, it's proximity to I5, and they accept pets. The motel is very nicely remodeled, clean, comfortable and very suitable for those traveling with pets. It is not fancy but practical and very nice for people with frightened animals which may try to hide under furniture. They cannot get under the furniture in this motel. It was quiet and, after a full day of driving, I got a very good night's sleep. The bed was great! The desk clerk greeted me with a smile and was very helpful. I have stayed in many motels where pets are accepted and this is, by far, the best, even of those with much higher prices. I will certainly stay there the next time I travel through that section of CA.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snowbirdk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Nice, clean, modern, updated look & services. Large flat screen tv with computer hook ups and free wifi. The desk attendant, Amber is helpful & courteous. Nice clean pet area. Motel is within walking distance to many restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rapinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Driving by town on my way to Washington, stopped for the night. This Motel 6 is probably the best I've seen. Clean, new furniture, and very reasonable rates.

We arrived late and the staff was able to very quickly get us a room for the night, no hassle. Definitely would stay again, if I ever had to stop in Willows again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xaiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willows hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Willows
0.1 mi away
Best Western Willows Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Willows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Willows
Super 8 Willows
#4 of 8 in Willows
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#5 of 8 in Willows
36 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blue Gum Motel
Blue Gum Motel
#7 of 8 in Willows
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Willows

Address: 452 N Humboldt Ave, Willows, CA 95988-2612
Region: United States > California > Willows
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Willows
Price Range: £46 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Willows 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are completely renovated with NEW pillow top mattress as of Jan-11.Thunderhill Racers,we have SPEED channel along with golf and 8-HBO. We have most friendly staff eager to provide you a quality accommodation while you are in Willows, CA. We are here to make your stay as comfortable as you would have at your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willows Motel 6
Willows Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing