We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Gum Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Economy Inn(Willows)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
19
11
2
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
11
2
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose busheshighwaymotellandscapingflooringdesk
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We love privately owned small motels and a lot of times they are hidden gems. Not this time. Price was right but that was about it. They say kitchenette but there were no utinsels etc. Went to borrow or get some from front desk and they only wanted to part with 2 paper plates and we needed 4. The kitchenette counter was particle board cut into pieces very crudely. Had to chase a few bugs out. Wrote this review prior to sleeping in the bed.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekinabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I both liked and disliked the Blue Gum, it's that kind of place. It has a very 60's motor court feel to it probably because when time stood still there. It's on rarely traveled stretch of hiway 99 a couple of miles off the well traveled I-5 which now has almost all of the motels and leaving most places like this shuttered. It really is amazing that it is still in business. It has well tended grounds that are probably quite beautiful from spring into fall. The rooms are ok, somewhat well used and have an ac/heater unit that sound something like a 747 in the room. The lady that greeted me at the front counter was very nice and this really made the difference between a 2 and 3 star rating. In short, it's very inexpensive, has a really nice staff and well kept grounds however it is in sore need of a significant update to the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stay here for the gorgeous full-sized pool surrounded by a big lawn and shade trees! I brought my favorite folding lounge chair and several books and hardly moved for four days. It's perfect for a summer get away. The rooms are just so-so but it's great to have your own microwave and refrig. The price is really reasonable and it's easy to find (about 1 mile east of I-5). I plan to go back sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindamae10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This is a pretty little motel just off the 99 Highway and close to Willows. I loved the 60's feel of the U shaped courtyard and pristine pool in the middle.
It's quiet, clean and charming.
You can't beat the rates at around $60 a night, depending on how many beds.
Bring the family and spend the evening around the pool enjoying the true motel experience of your (ok, my ☺) childhood memories.

Room Tip: Just ask for the right amount of beds to get the right room. All rooms look fine and the pool is only a few steps away. -you can buy drinks, water and chocolate bars at the check-in Be prepared to drive to willows for dinner - no restaurant.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We found this a quite place in the middle of eucalyptus trees from which it gets it name. We awoke to the sounds of birds not traffic - well worth the short drive into Willows. It is located between the Farm Sanctuary and Sacramento Wildlife Reserve: both worth visiting. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews