We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vineyard and winery tour ever”

Sonoma - Cutrer Vineyards Inc
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Windsor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the iconic Chardonnay Vineyards and wineries in the Russian River Valley
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
560 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Best vineyard and winery tour ever”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We can't say enough good things about this tour. Our host was Michael Florian and he wowed us from the beginning to the end of the tour. His knowledge of the industry was impeccable. He took us into the vineyard and explained in some detail how the soil, location and angle of land all factor into which grape to plant. Then talked about the various ways the vines are pruned and picked. Amazing that all the grapes are hand picked as far as our eyes could see. He talked about the vines becoming fruitful after 5-7 years and producing until they are roughly 25 years old before being replaced. Then he took us on an extensive tour of the winery and had us imagining how that process takes place even though it wasn't harvest season. Sonoma Cutrer has a very unique setting for their taste testings, it is bistro style where they place 4 glasses with different wines at a place setting and everyone samples tach at the same time with the host talking about what the vintners tried to create in each. Very appealing way to present the wines. We loved everything about this experience especially Michael!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    6
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very inviting and educational”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The $25/person for tasting and tour is a great deal! You, and fellow tasters, get taken around by a giant golf cart and get up close and personal with the different grapes and the steps they take to protect the produce and ultimately harvest them.

Their entire process is hand done by only ~100 people for over 480 acres!!!

The tour inside the cask storing rooms, and blending rooms is very unique and really shined a light on just how complex it is to make wine.

I strongly suggest the Les Pierres 2010. My favorite.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank steven r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Elegant Chardonnay Tasting”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We have drunk Sonoma Cutrer wines on and off for over 25 years and found their chards to be consistent over vintages and reliably good. The tasting room has not been open long and on prior visits to the area we could not come here. Being new, it was not crowded and the staff got to spend time with our group of 4 describing the wines and pouring them at a comfortable table specifically for us. A few other parties were seated at similar tables. The wines were quite good, the chards more so than the pinots. I was disappointed that they do not have any library wines available for sale, only the current vintage. Their chards are among the few which do benefit from a couple of years of bottle age, and I bought a couple to lay down. In short, a beautiful uncrowded setting to sample some of Sonoma's finer white wines which can be purchased at sane prices.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ShadowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We enjoyed the tour of the vineyard and the discussion of the grape growing and wine making process. The end all was the absolutely fabulous wines we had during the tasting. The grounds are beautiful and for a large volume producer Sonoma Cutrer makes wines worthy of a small boutique winery. Don't miss!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LastFlightOut21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
133 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“OK not great”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is a winery where you sit at tables and they pour the wine for you. We set outside witch was great. They were having a group come in so they didn't stay to talk about the wine much. Part of the fun of wine taisting is the story of the wine and we missed that a lot. Wines were good not great. Their are a lot of wineries and for us this is about in the middle. we have been coming down to the area for 9 yrs. and this was our first time here. Not real sure we would go back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank doster76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonoma - Cutrer Vineyards Inc also viewed

 
Windsor, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sonoma - Cutrer Vineyards Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing