We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, well-outfitted and private”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windrose Romantic Cottages
Vashon Washington, USA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quaint, well-outfitted and private”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Incredibly close to Santa Rosa airport but away from the Windsor town core, we loved the bucolic, pastoral setting and attention to detail our little English Cottage offered. Plums runneth over on the tree just outside and the innkeepers welcomed us to as many as we could eat. Super clean bathroom (shower only), little grapes and cheese platter upon checkin in the room fridge, milk, coffee, ironing board/iron, nice TV, really everything you need plus the sanctity of complete quiet and privacy. We were in town for a wedding so didn't use the studio to its full potential but it's easily a place to stay for several nights and cook your own food (it's gas, too, even better!). There is free wifi and dedicated parking--total value and the rates compete or best any local hotel. The bed was incredibly comfy - just the right firmness. I will stay here again. The proximity to vineyards is...well...you're pretty much surrounded by them, and farms. Enjoy.

Room Tip: French Cottage has the jetted tub. If tubs don't matter, save your cash and get the English Cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skrzypeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at Windrose for our honeymoon a few years ago and decided to come back for our anniversary. We left the kids at home, turned off our phones, and enjoyed the quiet relaxation of a weekend away from reality! The owners were so helpful and you can tell that they love what they do. I was so glad to have all the things we needed for breakfast right in our cottage and we didn't have to go out to eat breakfast. The owners recommended some great restaurants in Healdsburg and we were able to wine taste right on the square for a few hours before dinner. It was nice to have our own private hottub too. Thanks again to the owners for their incredible hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben'sBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

If your idea of romance is hostile proprietors, squawking geese, and a filthy hot tub, then Windrose Romantic Cottages is the place for you. Otherwise, stay away.

The "romantic" designation seems to be an excuse to limit interaction with guests (i.e., breakfast is a DIY continental spread in your tiny, cramped cottage), while monitoring and micromanaging guests' behavior. There is the added threat of additional charges if you do not adequately tidy up the kitchen in your room. The personal hot tubs seemed like a nice idea until we used ours and discovered a film of grime collecting on the surface.

My mother made my reservation but was staying at a different hotel. On the phone with the owner (the wife of the couple), my mother asked if she could stop by to see the place while we were staying there, though the B&B's policy is "couples only." Reluctantly the owner agreed. However, when my mother arrived in a second car (gasp!), the second owner (the husband), intercepted her and my boyfriend before they could enter the premises. He aggressively told them that they couldn't be there, that they were violating policy with "multiple vehicles coming and going at all hours." When my boyfriend told him that (a) he was a guest and (b) my mother paid for the room and had gotten permission from his wife to visit, the husband backed down but tried to justify his "concern" by referencing a town "water ordinance"--essentially telling my mother that if she had to use the restroom, she'd better take it elsewhere.

Not my idea of a relaxing, romantic weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank flojo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windrose, Owner at Windrose Romantic Cottages, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We strive to ensure that all of our guests have a pleasant experience at Windrose, and take you comments very seriously.




To be clear, our cottages are for 1 or 2 people only and this enables us to provide a quiet relaxing atmosphere for all guests. When guests start inviting additional people to their cottage, the noise level increases and that is not the atmosphere we want for the other guests. In your case, we told you our policy about no outside guests when you checked in, but you still brought people over.




Since we are on-site at all times to tend to our guests needs, we would have been happy to come over to your cottage to take a look at the hot tub if you had let us know. We maintain all of our hot tubs daily, but sometimes they need additional care after increased guest usage which is what I am assuming happened in your case.




Since we are not a Bed & Breakfast, we do not offer a group dining experience here at Windrose. We have found over the years that people enjoy waking up and dining privately in their cottage, or going out to eat at one of the many restaurants in the area. We offer a nice selection to get you started in the morning.




Regards,

Windrose Romantic Cottages
Byron & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The Garden Suite was perfect for us. We loved sitting on our porch and watching the hummingbird's play near the fountain. The attention to detail is amazing, they've thought of everything. The location is perfect, you don't have to go far to experience fabulous wines. We will definitley be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TracyM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We arrived at Windrose Romantic Cottages after four full, and hectic, days in San Francisco. Could not have found a better place to relax, unwind, and enjoy. Karen and Byron are welcoming hosts and, as other reviewers have noted, they have gone to great lengths to meet all our needs. At checkin we covered the basics with Karen and Byron walked us to, and through, The Garden Cottage.

The cottage was quaint, homey, and perfect for our visit. The woodstove was heating the cottage nicely (quite cool during our visit), music was playing, and fresh cut dogwood blooms were in a vase on the table. The bathroom was stocked full of (many) freshly laundered towels and everything one would need. The kitchen had apple and orange juices, along with milk as well as some delicious fruit bread, bananas, and oranges. All the needed equipment was located in the galley kitchen as well as coffee, tea, hot chocolate mix, and a delicious waffle mix (that was yummy!!). Karen had also provided us with info on two local grocery stores - that we visited to purchase more food stuffs for breakfast and a picnic lunch.

Karen frequently updates a great binder full of local information and is more than happy to help out if you have questions. There were numerous music cds, games, books, and a TV for entertainment; all the accessories needed to enjoy a bottle of wine; an iron and ironing board for touchups; a blow dryer; and even some bath salts for a long soak in the huge tub.

The Windrose Romantic Cottages are perfectly located to visit all the wineries in Sonoma county. We enjoyed visits to Healdsburg Square, Korbel (fun free tour and samples), Coppola (beautiful place with movie memorabilia), and four other wineries. We had a delicious lunch at Rustic (at Coppola's) as well as an enjoyable happy hour and relaxed dinner at Patterson's Pub in Windsor. We had hoped to make a visit to Fort Ross but, due to the budget cuts, it was closed during the week. :-( We took a drive out to US 1...loved our visit to Armstrong Woods (take at least the one mile hike!), the drive along the beach, and a stop in Bodega Bay.

Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our visit, 'our' cottage, and our retreat from daily life. When we return to the area we'll stay at Windrose!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SharoninOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

A hidden gem and will be our new home away from home. Karen & Byron have thought of everything, from the music, fresh flowers, shampoo & body wash. Also breakfast items such as muffins, belgian waffles w/butter & syrup, fruit, raisin bread, cereal/milk and the wonderful orange-blueberry bread. Loved the binder with things to do, restaurants, etc. Many new places since I left the area so local suggestions were very helpful. All we can say is this place rocks!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WineGal1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed in the French Cottage for 5 nights last week and we loved it. There were so many nice little thoughtful details about the place that I won't even try to list them. And it was immaculately clean. "Immaculate" is a strong word I know, but seriously I don't think there was a speck of dirt anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjohnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrose Romantic Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrose Romantic Cottages

Property: Windrose Romantic Cottages
Address: 6880 Day Rd, near Healdsburg, Windsor, CA 95492-9776
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please see our web page at Windrose Romantic Cottages, more pictures. Four cottages and a very unique cozy water tower. Rates $155 to $245 Shake off the stress and get ready for a dream weekend or a day or 2 in Sonoma County's wine country. Windrose Romantic Cottages are located on a beautiful country property in Windsor - bordering Healdsburg. Complete with adjacent pastures. Windrose Cottages enjoys views of the mountains, the rose garden in season, perennials and, of course, a grape arbor.Come relax, rejuvenate, in your own personal cottage. Bring or buy a special bottle of wine to drink on your porch or sitting in front of you log stove. BBq stay in and enjoy, or go out an experience all the wonderful restaurants in the area.Come hike, bike, canoe, or just relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windrose Romantic Cottages Hotel Windsor
Windrose Romantic Cottages Windsor, Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing