We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place- don't miss this one!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windrose Romantic Cottages
Portland, OR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place- don't miss this one!”
Reviewed 22 August 2009

I found this place enchanting. The cottages are secluded and quite. The decor and amenities were thoughtful. Prompt, inviting hosts that did everything to ensure a pleasant stay. We stayed only 3 nights in the Italian cottage and would have stayed a week had it been available. Do not miss this cozy, clean and quite oasis. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sciencegalsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Verne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We were looking for a wine country getaway and checked places in Healdsburg and Napa with no luck. We are very happy we found Windrose. Karen and Byron (the owners) were very nice and made our stay relaxing. There was relaxing music and a bottle of wine when we entered our room. We enjoyed a quiet room (we recommend the Italian Cottage as it was very quiet) and the ability to go wine tasting so close! We spent more on wine than we did for our room and our room had a claw foot tub!
Thank you Karen and Byron for making us feel welcome and secluded!

-Benjamin and Sarah Schroeder

  • Liked — Personal attention to detail
  • Disliked — Short weekend timing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bschroeder14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

It was very difficult to find a place in Sonoma Valley where you could stay for just one night. This was one of the few places we found and the website does not do the cottages justice. We stayed in the Italian Cottage and it was in impeccable condition. Our cottage was extremely clean and had all the amenities one needs. It has a grill, hot tub, vintage bathtub, dishes, cooking spices and included a complimentary bottle of wine. It is quiet and peaceful and highly recommended for couples who just want a quiet night. I have no complaints. It literally looks like we were the first guests to ever stay here. It also includes a great quality TV which means we get to watch football with our wine all night long! Loved it! Side note...I was pleasantly surprised to find two crisp white bathrobes waiting in our bathroom along with face wash pads and eye-makeup remover pads?! They really didn't miss a beat in making their guests feel at home.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of accomidations and ammenities
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AKMaino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

I have not had a real vacation in about 10 years and really wanted to get away to the wine country with someone special. Last time I was in Napa was many years ago. I tried to stay in Napa this time and everything was full. I started to look in Sonoma and found this place on the internet. Never stayed in a cottage and heard that sometimes they are dirty and not very good. Let me tell you this place was GREAT!!! Stayed for three days. They gave us coupons to go wine tasting at wineries for free tastings. The owners are very helpful and answered any questions that you had. The rooms are very nice and had a hot tub in ours. We used that every night to look at the stars. There is a farm that has an ostridge that would come and meet us in the afternoon after a day of wine tasting. One day we did not feel like going out to dinner. So we had dinner delivered to us. They have a kitchen in most rooms and BBQ’s. So you could go to the local market and cook. Very nice place, out in the middle of nowhere but close enough to a major city. The owners are very nice and the place was very clean, quiet and had High speed internet. so I could do some work....... :) Was one of the BEST places I have stayed with someone very special to me!! OH and they give you a bottle of wine when you check it....

  • Liked — Clean, quite and very nice!!
  • Disliked — Parking was kind of funny but not a big deal.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WineforU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We just stayed at the water tower room for one night. The room is charming and has lots of amenities (from a convection/toaster oven to a hidden desk and chair), but it's tiny. I think next time I'd stay at one of the larger (and more expensive) cottages. The hot tub was great, even on a warm night!.

  • Liked — Great hot tub, charming room with lot sof amenities
  • Disliked — Room is very, very small
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank soyyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2008

We stayed just one night after a wedding in the area. We were very pleased with the room (Garden Suite). It was cozy, clean, perfectly decorated and I'd have to say... “even romantic”. The owner, Karen was very helpful. The only bad part about our stay was that we had to leave so soon.

  • Liked — The Bed - very comfy
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DSCmePleasanton_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

My husband and I had the opportunity to take a little road trip and happened upon Windrose Romantic Cottages on the Healdsburg Chamber of Commerce website so we booked directly with Karen and Byron, the owners of this delightful property. We stayed in the "French Cottage", which is impeccably decorated, very private (we had our own hot tub and outdoor sitting area!), and so warm and inviting - it was hard to motivate ourselves to even leave the cottage all weekend! However, in the end the convenient location to downtown Windsor (definitely worth a visit), the Healdsburg Square (so quaint!), and all the wineries proved to be enough motivation! On another note, Karen and Byron's attention to detail was also a big part of making our little road trip so enjoyable - they have everything you could ever want and need in this vacation rental, which is much more like a bed and breakfast. From the wonderful assortment of breakfast goodies to the in-room information about local restaurants (some of which deliver) to the fresh flowers in our room, they never ceased to impress us. We have stayed in many hotels in the area and paid far more money for inferior rooms with none of the comforts of home that Windrose offers - this is a case where you get WAY more than what you pay for!!

  • Liked — Relaxing Setting, Fantastic Value, Great Location, Immepecable Attention to Every Detail
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LoveToTravel94952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
580 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
573 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrose Romantic Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrose Romantic Cottages

Property: Windrose Romantic Cottages
Address: 6880 Day Rd, near Healdsburg, Windsor, CA 95492-9776
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please see our web page at Windrose Romantic Cottages, more pictures. Four cottages and a very unique cozy water tower. Rates $155 to $245 Shake off the stress and get ready for a dream weekend or a day or 2 in Sonoma County's wine country. Windrose Romantic Cottages are located on a beautiful country property in Windsor - bordering Healdsburg. Complete with adjacent pastures. Windrose Cottages enjoys views of the mountains, the rose garden in season, perennials and, of course, a grape arbor.Come relax, rejuvenate, in your own personal cottage. Bring or buy a special bottle of wine to drink on your porch or sitting in front of you log stove. BBq stay in and enjoy, or go out an experience all the wonderful restaurants in the area.Come hike, bike, canoe, or just relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windrose Romantic Cottages Hotel Windsor
Windrose Romantic Cottages Windsor, Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing