We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms, casino atmosphere, good food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quechan Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winterhaven
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
267 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms, casino atmosphere, good food!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with friend, and contrary to some of the reviewers, we had a great time. The room was very clean and up to date, the bathrooms large. The only drawback to anything there was the lighting in the bathrooms which could definitely be brighter. The staff was very helpful and VERY friendly. As to the issue of tight slots and some folks losing at the tables....folks, it's a casino. You're not all going to win (however I did), and if you feel the slots are tight, don't continue to play them. The food in both the food court and the Ocotillo Cafe was very tasty and reasonably priced. Will definitely be back!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TrapperH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    88
    55
    14
    29
See reviews for
64
95
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Came here with some friends that were having dental work done in Mexico. Friends were planning to do a little gambling in the casino. Hubby and I don't gamble, so we planned to hang out in the pool. When we were checking in, there was a sign saying that the pool was closed for cleaning and maintenance. We asked if it would be open later that day and they said probably not until the next day. I explained that we came with our friends to hang out at the pool and were very disappointed. We then asked if they were offering some sort of discount and they said "No, we don't give discounts for that but we would be happy to cancel your reservation if you want and we won't charge you a cancellation fee!" Really? Wow, nice answer. Sure didn't make us feel welcomed at all. We looked outside at the pool area and saw what looked like someone may have started vacuuming the pool (as they left the hose attached and just laying in the water) It remained that way for the entire day and evening!!! Nobody was out there working!!!
Later that evening, after being bored out of our minds, we decided to walk down and ask if we could please get a late check out in the morning so we could at least enjoy the pool in the morning. Again...but from a different employee this time: "No, we are not going to give you a late checkout! We need to clean your room because we are full. Besides the pool might not even be open tomorrow!" (No kidding? Because no one was out there working the whole day it was closed!!!) I am in the hotel business and understand how all of this works. Allowing a few late check outs should not have been a problem at all.
They do not care about accommodating their guests and need to learn about customer service.
I guess because they are full all of the time, they don't have to take care of their guests because someone else will come along. Wish we would have driven 5 minutes to Yuma, AZ where there are many nice hotels that probably care about their guests!
And if you don't like cigarette smoke, don't walk around anywhere.. the smoke pours out everywhere from the casino. The smoking lobby is also right alongside the registration desk. Disgusting. Will not be back. EVER.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobandJenny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winterhaven hotels

Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
252 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We went to the Q this week with some friends and had a terrific time. The staff was very friendly. The restaurant is in my opinion mismanaged, but once you are in, the staff is very friendly. We had the $9.95 Prime Rib Dinner on the first night in their Ocotillo Cafe. Mine was cooked exactly the way I asked and the side salad[only a buck] with dinner was really good. In the morning we had breakfast and it was good also. We actually went down there to visit Mexico but the nights were spent trying to win a buck in the casino. I lost a little, but the wife hit a Jackpot, so the trip went very well. You have to make reservations, because they do sell out. Figure at least 2 weeks prior or you may have a problem. We had a room right off of the pool and it was quiet. Our trip into Mexico also was Fun!! This was not the first time that we stayed here, and I'm sure that it will not be the last. Also, they tag on $100. to your card when you check in just in case you cause any damage. It is taken off when you check out. Not a problem unless you are going to damage something!!

Room Tip: Call For reservations!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDeeg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel was a moderate priced basic room. We used this location as a base to visit sights in the area. parking was reasonably easy, check in was right at the casino entrance. There is a coffee shop, sandwich shop , café style dining and a full service restaurant. The café has great hot sandwiches. Maps and information for visiting nearby attractions are not available. The room itself was quite basic, a mini fridge must be arranged ahead of check in at additional cost. The room was clean and quiet but very basic. The casino itself is very small but clean. As the choices of paces to stay close to the Salton Sea & Sony Bono preserve ( 60 minute drive ) are limited this was the closest choice. Note: the place is full of snowbirds and there can be a wait to check in/out or to eat. A good stopping point, would stay again if in the area again. Could use tourist improvement however the clientele is primarily the snowbirds from the nearby RV parks, not travelers.

Room Tip: request a higher floor facing east for morning sun and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LADumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We went down to Mexico for my birthday (part of a longer trip) and stayed at the Quechan Casino for one night in a King Suite.

Check in was not great. The guy was trying but the phone never stopped ringing and I guess it was his job to always answer it. The hotel is always completely booked full, because snowbirds go over to Mexico for dental and optical care at a fraction of the cost in the US. Almost everyone we talked to was there for that reason. So the bad thing is...the hotel doesn't have to worry about selling rooms.

The whole place needed a good scrubbing, the suite we stayed in was beautiful! Two full bathrooms, very comfy king bed, deep tub for soaking, the hide-a bed was decent for our third person, and free water and coffee. My only complaint was the carpet was very stained and there was still tape/streamers on the ceiling from a party.

The cleaning person was so friendly and sweet in the morning and wished us a wonderful day. All the staff was very nice.

We had the $9.95 prime rib - don't do it. Tough as nails. Again, they don't have to try.
Breakfast was even worst. My "healthy option" was COVERED in oil and I couldn't eat it. I did eat the toast and they charged me $1.50. Another guest had pancakes and they were weird and very very heavy. Our other traveler had the special and enjoyed the eggs and hash browns, and the ham was good.

The Hot tub was closed, the pool area was a mess. Missing cushions, and again, needed a cleaning.

But in all honesty...this is probably the best place to stay in the area. I have heard horror stories about other places. Filthy and nasty. Be careful...again, they don't have to try! People have no other option when there for medical care.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have stayed here many times in the past. This time we took my father of 92 years young. I wanted a room close to the elevator, but none were available. We had a suite that was about halfway down the hall and he gasped at the thought of walking to the room and back. The casino security desk had wheel chairs to use during your stay for no charge, this worked out great. We got adjoining rooms and had a room close by for other family members. I think this was the nicest stay we have ever had at the Q! We had only one thing that was a disappointment. The Ironwood Steakhouse was not as good as before. My husband and I got ill and the early special was not very good.
The hot tub was closed for a repair part. staff did not know when it would be fixed.
Overall it was a wonderful stay and my father had a fun time, for his age, and he enjoyed the room the best!

Room Tip: The suites are large, with two rooms and a bath and a half!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiced976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Three couples reserved rooms for a one night stay on Feb. 17th.

We stopped in at noon to see if our rooms were ready but due to a holiday weekend we were asked to come back after 3:00.

Upon our return, we checked in with no more than a 5 min wait. Excellent room overall. (Large cobweb on ceiling). View of the pool area. Far end of the hall so quiet but lengthy walk to and from elevator.

Slots were very tight therefore we only gambled for a short while.

Checkout was quick & easy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BikeWiAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterhaven
1.9 mi away
Hacienda Los Algodones
Hacienda Los Algodones
#1 of 2 in Los Algodones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
7.4 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma
7.2 mi away
Best Western InnSuites Yuma Mall Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point
7.5 mi away
La Fuente Inn & Suites
7.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Yuma
Radisson Hotel Yuma
#2 of 33 in Yuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quechan Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quechan Casino Resort

Property: Quechan Casino Resort
Address: 525 Algodones Road, P.O. Box 818, Winterhaven, CA 92283
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Winterhaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winterhaven
Hotel Class:3 star — Quechan Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Also Known As:
Quechan Hotel Winterhaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing