We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Typical Casino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quechan Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winterhaven
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Basic hotel box - no frig, no microwave. The beds were comfortable and the cleaning staff very helpful. Valet parking staff was excellent. The front desk staff was mixed - I had an unexpected business need which one person was willing to see if they facilitate but the rest of the staff blocked.

If you're staying here for dental work, know there isn't a lot of soft food. If you're vegetarian or vegan, bring your own food as the menu's for the restaurants that are open all week really can't help you. The specialty restaurants that are open only certain days each week are expensive. Decent work out room, but didn't get to use the pool because of the weather.

Overall, not bad if you're looking to gamble or want to stay as close as possible to the Algodones border as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room on the 5th floor, furthermost from the rising smoke of the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DejaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a room at Quechan Casino and Hotel for Memorial Weekend. I was surprise w/ this casino in a good way. The location is perfect right off the 8 freeway, the parkign lot is huge, the entrance has bell hop that opens and closes doors for you. The front desk helpers are great. We had a problem on Sunday night booking and they accomodated us asap. The cafe is great, cooked food in fron of you not like a cafeteria where they heat up stuff; althought I'd rather have a buffet on a casino though. The rooms are spacey, they have nice showes, beds are ok. The room is fantastic, lazy river, nice pool, BUT they need more umbrellas (only has 10 and it's 95 degress out) and need more tubes, (only has 4, really?!?) BUT the best is I was surprise with their casino slots, if was loose and it pays..Won that night!!

Room Tip: Reserve your pool seats asap since there is only 10 umbrellas and their pool area is huge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIZ619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed in the non-smoking section on the 3rd floor over-looking the pool. Clean, spacious rooms and free of smoke odour. Comfy beds, although the comforters are too heavy and hot for the climate. The pool area is lovely. The casino is very smokey - not a pleasant place to be for a non-smoker! Had 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners at the Ocotillo Cafe and the service was fast and friendly. The food was just ok. My mom and I shared the fruit plate for breakfast - nice variety of fresh fruit and more than enough for two.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reflections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed one night and thought the room was nice. They use a lot of freshener to get rid of the smoke smell that comes up from the casino but the hallway smells of the stuff. The furniture looked like they got it from a garage sale somewhere but the beds were very comfortable. There was a lot of noise in the hallway bot late at night (drunks headed to their rooms) and from kids in the early AM. Amenities in the room were a pod coffee maker, plenty of towels and other things you would expect. Not sure I will stay here again to due the smoke smells.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here with friend, and contrary to some of the reviewers, we had a great time. The room was very clean and up to date, the bathrooms large. The only drawback to anything there was the lighting in the bathrooms which could definitely be brighter. The staff was very helpful and VERY friendly. As to the issue of tight slots and some folks losing at the tables....folks, it's a casino. You're not all going to win (however I did), and if you feel the slots are tight, don't continue to play them. The food in both the food court and the Ocotillo Cafe was very tasty and reasonably priced. Will definitely be back!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank TrapperH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Came here with some friends that were having dental work done in Mexico. Friends were planning to do a little gambling in the casino. Hubby and I don't gamble, so we planned to hang out in the pool. When we were checking in, there was a sign saying that the pool was closed for cleaning and maintenance. We asked if it would be open later that day and they said probably not until the next day. I explained that we came with our friends to hang out at the pool and were very disappointed. We then asked if they were offering some sort of discount and they said "No, we don't give discounts for that but we would be happy to cancel your reservation if you want and we won't charge you a cancellation fee!" Really? Wow, nice answer. Sure didn't make us feel welcomed at all. We looked outside at the pool area and saw what looked like someone may have started vacuuming the pool (as they left the hose attached and just laying in the water) It remained that way for the entire day and evening!!! Nobody was out there working!!!
Later that evening, after being bored out of our minds, we decided to walk down and ask if we could please get a late check out in the morning so we could at least enjoy the pool in the morning. Again...but from a different employee this time: "No, we are not going to give you a late checkout! We need to clean your room because we are full. Besides the pool might not even be open tomorrow!" (No kidding? Because no one was out there working the whole day it was closed!!!) I am in the hotel business and understand how all of this works. Allowing a few late check outs should not have been a problem at all.
They do not care about accommodating their guests and need to learn about customer service.
I guess because they are full all of the time, they don't have to take care of their guests because someone else will come along. Wish we would have driven 5 minutes to Yuma, AZ where there are many nice hotels that probably care about their guests!
And if you don't like cigarette smoke, don't walk around anywhere.. the smoke pours out everywhere from the casino. The smoking lobby is also right alongside the registration desk. Disgusting. Will not be back. EVER.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobandJenny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We went to the Q this week with some friends and had a terrific time. The staff was very friendly. The restaurant is in my opinion mismanaged, but once you are in, the staff is very friendly. We had the $9.95 Prime Rib Dinner on the first night in their Ocotillo Cafe. Mine was cooked exactly the way I asked and the side salad[only a buck] with dinner was really good. In the morning we had breakfast and it was good also. We actually went down there to visit Mexico but the nights were spent trying to win a buck in the casino. I lost a little, but the wife hit a Jackpot, so the trip went very well. You have to make reservations, because they do sell out. Figure at least 2 weeks prior or you may have a problem. We had a room right off of the pool and it was quiet. Our trip into Mexico also was Fun!! This was not the first time that we stayed here, and I'm sure that it will not be the last. Also, they tag on $100. to your card when you check in just in case you cause any damage. It is taken off when you check out. Not a problem unless you are going to damage something!!

Room Tip: Call For reservations!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDeeg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterhaven
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point
7.2 mi away
Best Western InnSuites Yuma Mall Hotel & Suites
7.5 mi away
La Fuente Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Yuma
Radisson Hotel Yuma
#1 of 33 in Yuma
869 reviews
7.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Yuma
7.4 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quechan Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quechan Casino Resort

Address: 525 Algodones Road, P.O. Box 818, Winterhaven, CA 92283
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Winterhaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winterhaven
Price Range: £42 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quechan Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Quechan Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quechan Hotel Winterhaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing