We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a decent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Shadow Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Woodland
Certificate of Excellence
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a decent place to stay”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

The front desk was helpful and the room clean. The courtyard rooms (the quieter ones) were all booked, but I was given a room as far from the highway on the outside of the complex and didn't have any problems. The breakfast was good. It's not far from some very good restaurants in Woodland. The drive to Davis was a breeze as well. BTW my non-flat TV screen was just as watchable as a flat screen...

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    152
    67
    20
    11
See reviews for
136
108
31
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
242 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We find BW to be a dependable stop for weary travellers...and the Shadow Inn is no exception. Clean, no mold, easy access....and a good night's sleep. As always for us, the breakfast is the downside for us in so many of these hotels... the tasteless coffee and the bland sameness of the available food options you find in EVERY motel nowadays drives us out for breakfast in spite of it being 'free'.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

The night clerk was extremely helpful and courteous. The rooms were clean and well kept. I was able to get the rest I needed and make my meeting refreshed the next day. The whole staff was friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank lvwsgrtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed at the Shadow in in Woodland last weekend. I liked it very much. It is exceptionally well-maintained, inside and out. The paint was fresh, the rooms were clean, the landscaping and pool were attractive. The rooms have been updated and are very contemporary--the only exception is that the televisions are still tube-style and not flat-screen and the channel selections were pretty limited (not a big deal to me, but there it is). They do have the new "Clean" remote controls, though. Also, the rooms have a refrigerator and microwave. And here's another nice feature: not one, but TWO(!) folding luggage stands in each room (no more fighting with the spouse over who gets to but the suitcase on the stand and who has to put it on the floor).

The public areas were very clean and updated. The complementary breakfast was good (make-your-own waffles, fruit, cereal, pastries--the usual).

The price was right: under $80 per night for a hotel this nice is a good deal.

The staff were friendly and helpful, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoSeeCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stopped in at the Best Western Shadow Inn about 7:00pm without a reservation. Due to the very quick and courteous help at the front desk, we were in our room less than five minutes later. The room was big, clean and nicely appointed. The grounds looked very well kept. The pools were inviting. We had a relaxing evening and good nights sleep.

I'd recommend a night's stay at the Shadow Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphyW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

I read the reviews on trip advisor and decided to stay here as it was move-in weekend at UC Davis.

I was very disappointed with this hotel's service and location.

Staff at check-in took several minutes to greet and assist me as two staff members chatted with a guest while I waited with a fidgety baby.

I asked for a room away from the highway (which is very noisy), but this is exactly where I was given a room (right alongside the freeway exit with truck noise all night).

Breakfast was HORRIBLE and every table in the lobby was dirty. They did not even provide water for guests.

I do not recommend and will not stay here again. There are much better off highway hotels in Winters.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCMC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is a reasonably priced property. We checked out the prices at Holiday Inn Express and a couple of others who were much more expensive. This place filled the bill for good prices, good location and good accommodations.
No complaints about the hotel and amenities.
We ate at the adjoining restaurant. It was very ok. Kind of a locally owned Denney's. Dinner not so good, breakfast, awsome.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodland hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodland-Sacramento Area
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Woodland - Sacramento Airport
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Woodland
Days Inn Woodland
#7 of 12 in Woodland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Woodland - Sacramento Airport
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sacramento Airport Woodland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shadow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shadow Inn

Property: Best Western Shadow Inn
Address: 584 N East St, Woodland, CA 95776-6101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Woodland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Woodland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Shadow Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Shadow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shadow Hotel Woodland
Best Western Woodland
Woodland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing