We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unwelcoming experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Shadow Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Woodland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I don't understand why this hotel is willing to sell rooms on Priceline if they're just going to treat their guest with such an unpleasant attitude for using a prepaid site. I always stay at Best Westerns in my travels, this was the first time I've booked a room at one using Priceline. It was a last minute decision to stay in Woodland on our way home from Lake Trinity. When the young woman checking us in saw that I had booked on Priceline, her whole attitude became very unfriendly. I asked for extra towels, as I was traveling with 3 teenage girls who all wanted to shower and wash their hair. She would only give me 2 towels claiming she had no more. I find this very hard to believe. When we went down for their sorry excuse for a breakfast this woman was still in duty and still very nasty.
This place should not partner with Priceline if they're going to treat their guest as second class citizens. I will think twice before giving my business to Best Western again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 679SusanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

After driving for over eight hours from San Diego on a hot June Sunday, we were greeted warmly and efficiently by the front desk manager. She had all our reservation material at hand. Directions to our room were clear and accurate. We could park just feet away. Room 139 was on the first floor, located on the inner courtyard by the pool and was clean and well-appointed. The breakfast area was clean with ample healthy choices. Immediately located on the I-5 off-ramp makes this hotel both convenient and well-worthy of another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Third time in four years we have stayed here after a 12-hour trip. Nothing new to report, same quality service, same quality rooms, and same quality amenities. Altho a bit north of Sacramento, well worth the extra 30 min drive. Really a 4* rating at a 3* price

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank riajamw1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Best Western Shadow Inn, Woodland, California is one of the best of the Best Western group! Great comfortable and expansive accommodations for the price with very modern amenities, extremely comfortable beds, whisper quiet and efficient air conditioning, quality High-Definition television and near sound proof rooms. A good restaurant 100 yards distant featuring comfort food is an appreciated bonus, too. Try their deep-fried chicken!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Shadow Inn is near where my son lives -- it's a GREAT hotel to stay in - clean rooms, great beds, super clean; friendly front desk staff. Overall, a really nice place to stay. I WOULD definitely recommend this hotel teo friends and familyl

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Harold G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We needed a hotel for one night while traveling from Los Angeles, CA to Eugene, OR. We originally chose Sacramento as a halfway point to rest overnight then decided to go a little bit further away from the city and chose Best Western Shadow Inn in Woodland as our option. We were surprised at the great price and even more surprised with the very nice accommodations. A real treat for the kids was the courtyard pool outside, centrally located from the rooms. The hot tub temperature was indeed hot! We also fell in love with the little town and its eateries on Main Street, wishing we had more time to explore. The staff was courteous and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank nuclearman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a wonderful experience at this facility. We arrived fairly late at night. The check-in process was quick and efficient, staff was friendly and gracious. The room was attractive and very comfortable. Breakfast was much more than we expected and the hours of breakfast were longer than in any other facility in which I have stayed. Very accommodating and considerate. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Alayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodland hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodland-Sacramento Area
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Woodland
Days Inn Woodland
#6 of 12 in Woodland
267 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Woodland - Sacramento Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodland
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Woodland - Sacramento Airport
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sacramento Airport Woodland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shadow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shadow Inn

Address: 584 N East St, Woodland, CA 95776-6101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Woodland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Woodland
Price Range: £79 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Shadow Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Shadow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shadow Hotel Woodland
Best Western Woodland
Woodland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing