We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and very thoughtful”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yermo
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value and very thoughtful”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We got the hotel for 50$. It is better than your typical 2 star hotel. Next door is a 24 hour diner, AND you get a 15$ voucher for the diner when you check in that can be used any time of day. I like to sleep in and always miss any breakfast any hotel may offer, so this was perfect. What makes it better than your typical 2 star hotel is it is by people who are clearly thoughtful: the windows are thick so it is quit, the air conditioning unit does not turn off and on throughout the night in case you are a light sleeper, the door doesn't let in light, the clock has options of alarm noises, and beds are comfortable and clean. They quietly advertise this if you read the materials in the room and it is all true.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dakota_Daz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    37
    17
    4
    15
See reviews for
30
34
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here after a day of exploring in the Mojave Desert! Awesome place to stay for a great price. Safe parking and easy check-in. Room was very clean, this place is not a luxury hotel but when there's 40mph winds and you cant camp, it feels like an oasis! The restaurant next door was perfect for breakfast and since we stayed the night they gave us a $16 voucher. Great place for the night if your passing by and you don't want to drop $100 at a major chain. If you have kids and want a great pool, this is not your place. Pool looked depressing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lumerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stayed one night on the way to Las Vegas.

There's aren't many attractions arround Yermo except for Calico ghost town, but it's a good place to stop for an overnight.

The room had evrything we needed, coffee maker, fridge, microwave, good shower etc. No safe but not really required for a one nighter. Free WiFi was good.

A little bit of noise from I15 but the double glazing cuts this to a minimum. Our room looked straight out onto the freeway.

You get tokens for free breakfasts at the adjoining Penny's diner but we had to ask, they didn't offer them. If I hadn't been on the TripAdvisor site I would not have know about them and would have missed it.

A small but clean pool, although we didn't have time to try it.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clark_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YERMO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2010

suprising a home away from home room were what i expected beds are very comfortable nice roomy home away fronm home all i can say its worth the price and the restruatn is the best in the high desert huge qaunity best quality better than peggysues you have to stop here

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLAINENCINDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterman, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We came to Yermo to help work on a house for a family member. He told us he got us a hotel in Yermo and my heart sank, knowing what kind of town Yermo was. Surprisingly, the hotel was clean and updated. The bed was comfortable and we had a great night's rest for a decent price. Included in the hotel price were 2 free coupons towards breakfast next door at Penny's cafe. The breakfast was great food and had a small town atmosphere. We plan to stay there again several times until the house is completed. Thanks for changing my image of Yermo!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shredbetty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Stayed here as we planned to go to the rodeo down the road. It was ok as far as motels go. Clean rooms and effective aircon (a blessing). The wifi was down, which we take a sa pre-requisite so that was annoying, but not a disaster.

My only real gripe was the plastic coated matress - this made for a hot sweaty night.

If you are staying as a basic overnighter it is fine, don't expect to go for a walk or have a choice of dinner options this is for motorway users - and very convenient for that.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Well maintained, nice sized and clean rooms ours included coffee maker, microwave and small frig. Outdoor pool, plenty of parking.

Internet is wireless and the strongest signal I’ve had in a motel (full 5 bars). Little things like having an electrical outlet next to the desk AT desktop height.

And we received a coupon for breakfast at the diner next door. The coupon was enough to cover the cost of the “Classic Breakfast” (3 bacons, 2 eggs, hashbrowns and toast) or 8 other comparable meals.

And the price is right.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryODS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yermo
6.5 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#6 of 29 in Barstow
1,010 reviews
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
224 reviews
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
698 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
6.8 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#18 of 29 in Barstow
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Property: Oak Tree Inn
Address: 35450 Yermo Road, Yermo, CA 92398
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Yermo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oak Tree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Yermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing