We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yermo
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is an average hotel in a convenient location with a nice little diner next door for breakfast.

We stayed here on our way between Los Angeles and Vegas. We chose this hotel because it's mid-way between the 2 cities plus we wanted to visit Calico ghost town and Peggy Sue's 50's Diner.

The hotel itself is situated next to the freeway so it's quite loud at night - I wore earplugs so I wasn't bothered by the noise.

On the side of the hotel, away from the freeway, it's a truckers stop - so when we arrived we were greeted by an army of trucks right in front of the hotel. They all seem to have left though by about 10pm.

The room was large and comfortable although nothing special or individual about it.

We were given a voucher for free breakfast at Penny's diner next door which was great.

Another plus was the short drive to Calico.

Overall, If we drive between LA and Vegas again and need somewhere to stay between the two I would consider staying here again if nothing better came along.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayNia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Perfect overnighter. We arrived at the hotel after midnight after flying into Las Vegas. Polite, efficient desk clerk. Adjacent diner is open 24/7 and is fantastic - do pay it a visit. Breakfast is included in the room rate, and is served in the diner. Not the Four Seasons, but great for a stop over.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevieT5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Best part of OakTree Inn, Peggy's dinner next door. They do a full size free breakfast for guest have to go pizza deals and travel specials. A/C in room is great, fridge, microwave, nice small pool and other amenities. Room was not clean when we check in, or cleaned 2nd night stay. Had to take out trash and ask for more coffee. Really enjoyed the pool and taking a nap in a cool dark room after the long drive. Very nice staff, alway available on phone and in person with use of bell. Having good food so close bumped this rating up.

Room Tip: Call for best rates, avoid 3rd party booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Whoever created the Oak Tree Inn chain had some really innovative ideas, like the guard on top of the air-conditioning units that keeps the fan from blowing the drapes away from the window. The drapes also have magnetic fasteners to hold them together to keep light out. The double-pane windows do a nice job of keeping sound out, but it's still a good idea to ask for a room on the side of the building away from the freeway, which is very close. There are also ambient noise radios to cover outside sounds. We liked the chirping crickets the best. The rooms have mini-fridges and microwaves, a nice touch at this price range, though the fridge was not all that cold. An exhaust fan in the bathroom provides some white noise. There were also nice bath amenities. A good breakfast, or at least a $7.50 credit toward whatever you like, is provided right next door at Penny's Diner.

So what's not to like? Well, the entire place struck us as not all that clean and pretty worn. With all the wind in the area, however, it might be impossible to keep the dust down inside the place. One side of our bed gave a good impersonation of collapsing, but it turned out the frame was just an inch too wide for the box spring, which slipped down off the bedrail every time we sat on the bed. The sheets were clean, but had some permanent blood stains on them. There was a booze party going on out at the pool until about 10 p.m., then it was quiet. Some of the clientele looked a bit scary, and others were really nice. The diner was packed with a large S.W.A.T. team in training the next morning, so if those were some of the folks we saw in the hotel, they were probably both scary and nice. We saw a lot of law enforcement people at another Oak Tree Inn and Penny's Diner on our trip, so these might be pretty safe places to stay. There is no real lobby in the hotel, just a front desk, where the night clerk was courteous, but not really friendly. It's hard to even figure out which door is the main entrance to the place. We wondered what we had gotten ourselves into when we walked through the door, but overall we got a good night's sleep at a fair price. We just couldn't help thinking the Oak Tree Inn people had a bit more in mind when they designed their chain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_OTI, Manager at Oak Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the in depth review. We appreciate your business and all our guest's business. We do frequently accomodate police, military, tactical teams, and firefighters both in our hotels and Penny's Diner. We also accomodate folks from many other demanding jobs, such as railroad, over the road transportation, construction and many other service oriented jobs. We appreciate thier work too! We really appreciate what they do. We don't know what they do off-duty, but can certainly appreciate if they find the need to decompress from thier stressfull carreers. We have given a lot of thought to the construction of the hotel. We appreciate you noticed. We will address the issues you pointed out and try to do better. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed here for one night on our way to San Francisco. Decided to book a room here due to the great reviews online. The hotel was fair, but not much more than that. Not really anything to do nearby and the staff was a bit distant. My friend's room smelled of smoke as well. On the other hand, we did not pay a whole lot of money for the rooms and there was free Wifi available. Good if you're on a budget!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Oak Tree Inn has better than expected value, rooms are much bigger than a Motel 6. Prices are more than reasonable. The staff if very friendly, and it is quiet. Really everything you can ask for. The Penny's Diner downstairs is also a good place with good food at a reasonable price. It is open 24 hrs., 7 days a week.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Just confirmed what others have said about the staff and how clean this place is. I cheched in late at 1:30 am. The room was pre-cooled. My room was 308 facing the freeway, but since it had double glass I have no trouble with noise or I too tire. The only thing that would wish is an iron and a hair dryer;otherwise, this place is just great.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bayunco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yermo
11.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
716 reviews
6.5 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#5 of 29 in Barstow
1,031 reviews
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
233 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
6.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Address: 35450 Yermo Road, Yermo, CA 92398
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Yermo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yermo
Price Range: £53 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oak Tree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Yermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing